We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreliable Wi-Fi is a real pain” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area) to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4230 Union Deposit Road, Harrisburg, PA 17111   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Monticello, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Unreliable Wi-Fi is a real pain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is quite nice apart from the fact that the internet connection is - as now with other Hamptons - highly unreliable. It didn't used to be this way! Seems to me that the breakfast quality has gone down-hill too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leona L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area), responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear deibiddio,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at our hotel; your comments are appreciated. I apologize that the internet access was of concern. We have contacted our internet provider to troubleshoot any problems, in order to offer better service in the future. If you plan to travel to the area again in the future, please consider staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    84
    36
    13
    5
See reviews for
125
36
16
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I always try to stay at a Hampton property, but they are only as good as the employees that are part of the staff. We stopped impromptu at this property since it was close to the highway. The woman who checked us in was friendly and helpful. She provided many options for dinner that were in the area. We were pleased with the updated hotel room with a built in closet and desk area. The beds were super comfortable. The breakfast offered many choices and was in a large area so there was no congestion. The breakfast hostess alerted us that she would be putting food away in case we wanted to choose more selections.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room away from the elevator. There was a faint hum whenever the elevator was ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leona L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area), responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear nanci_h_b,

Thank you so much for chosing our hotel as we appreceiate your loyalty to Hampton. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Whether your passing through or planning to stay in the area, please come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I'm a fan of Hampton Inns becasue they are consistant in their product and have a good price point. I've stayed at this Hampton a few times over the years and was pleasantly suprised with the lobby and breakfast/lounge area when I last checked in - it was completely remodeled in a very modern clean look. The rooms are also updated with a nice wall unit/wardrobe/workstation unit with all the usual amenities of a mid-priced hotel. Staff has always been very friendly and the location is convenient to most of the Harrisburg attractions and shopping.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, not much traffic even on the front side by the main road. I've never been d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leona L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area), responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear 04left,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and compliements on our new lobby,room updates and friendly staff . We really appreciate your business and loyalty. We look forward to having you stay with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford,Pa
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This Hampton is Directly off of I-83, exit 48, Union Deposit Road. Friendly, Professional staff.
Regular good quality, as most Hampton Inns. Clean outside and in, rooms are fair size, very clean and functional. Breakfast area is large with a well maintained food selection, and amply seating. Plenty of parking, but do not bring a low or large tow vehicle. The entrance has a steep angle just off the road... I have stayed at this Hampton before and will return again..

Room Tip: I believe any room location would be fine. I was roomed at the front of the building, but there was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leona L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area), responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear jpmaine76,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback as it is invaluable to us. We look forward to having you stay with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ross, Nova Scotia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

At the end of a long day driving, we checked in here and were very pleased with the friendly front counter staff, the spacious room and a very good breakfast in the morning. The room was very clean and free wi-fi was easily connected.. everything I could wish for on a brief visit. Great place to stay when in this area and will probably do it again when returning to Canada in April.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leona L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area), responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear PhyllisBert,

So happy to hear you enjoyed your visit to our hotel from and that you had a great experience. Thank you so much for the compliements on our staff, cleanliness of room, ease complimentary wi-fi and our breakfast. We look forward to having you stay again during your return to Canada in April!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Nice front staff, clean lobby. Coffee, water and apples waiting. Check in was fast. The rooms were nice and clean, clean, clean. Microwave, little fridge, and flat screen TV. Easy to find location. About 15 minutes from Hershey.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leona L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area), responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear tlw1976,

Thank you for the two thumbs up! I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the amenities offered in our rooms. Your feedback is very valuable to us and we would love to have you come back to visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I only stayed here one night, but it was lovely. I really loved the decor of the rooms, with the dark wood furniture. The room was clean and tidy when I arrived. The breakfast was similar to other Hampton Inns I've stayed at. Nothing special, but still enough options to choose from. The hotel is near a slightly busy road but it wasn't loud at all.

Room Tip: Higher floors facing the front have a nice view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leona L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area), responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Bflute06,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am happy to hear you had a lovely stay with us along with being able to get a good view of our city. Thank you so much for the compliments as we look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)

Address: 4230 Union Deposit Road, Harrisburg, PA 17111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#6 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area) Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.