We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quiet, best I've slept in a hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area) to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4230 Union Deposit Road, Harrisburg, PA 17111   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Pittsburgh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very quiet, best I've slept in a hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Overall, this was a fine place to stay. They were under construction but I approve of any hotel that makes upgrades. The rooms were already completed and done quit well. Cozy and not spacious, everything was clean and felt updated. Located in an area with abundant shopping and food choices

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leona L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area), responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Mjpgh,

Thank you for the compliment of receiving the best night sleep at a hotel and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    84
    36
    13
    5
See reviews for
126
36
16
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Front Desk greeted me as returning honor member. Needed an additional room which was provided at an excellent rate. Front area is undergoing renovations but they had excellent breakfast choices. Room was a small suite but very quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leona L, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area), responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear thepearl8,

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Harrisburg. Your feedback is very important to us and thank you for being a Hilton Honors member. I am very happy to hear that you were able to get the additional room you needed at a excellent rate and that you had the opportunity to enjoy our breakfast. Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed over night during Hershey Park in the dark. Check-in was ultra fast and there were multiple front desk employees taking care of everything; even at 10:30PM. The coffee was readily available and fresh. There are renovations going on which didn't interfere with our stay whatsoever. The pool is outdoor and was closed (obviously). Our room was clean, the king bed was large and comfortable, the water had good pressure and was hot, and the free breakfast was great. I was given a room on the top floor away from elevators based on my Hilton Honors preferred room settings without a problem. No complaints. Good Hampton. At $90 for a King Bed study room, this is en excellent value all around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is close to Hershey Park, Chocolate World and Hershey Center. The amenities are little and the pool was closed when we were there. They are under renovations to upgrade the hotel. Just finished remodeling our room and looked very nice. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was nice even had hot oatmeal, not the instant kind you usually get. Fresh fruit along with pieces of fruit. Only negative is that the tables for people to have breakfast was right behind the computers to use for the internet and are located right inside the doors, so no privacy at all. Overall it was what I have come to find at Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UDHampton, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area), responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Tere K,

Thank you so much for nice comments and seating is only temporary due to renovation of breakfast area that will be so much nicer soon. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Been here numerous times. Hampton Inn is always clean and has very good breakfast included. Front desk was not friendly this time and did not even welcome me as a Hilton Honors Member or returning...However location is ideal so I probably will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UDHampton, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area), responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Cvandenbraak,

Thank you so much for your continuous business. I sincerely apologize on this return visit to our property you were not acknowledged as a Hilton Honors member as we want every guest to feel that our hotel is their home away from home and that their satisfaction is our guarantee that we proudly stand on. I look forward to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stay at Hampton Inns all the time. This was probably one of the lower end ones. It was a good location between the venue for the concert my friends and I were attending and downtown Harrisburg. The beds seemed small for a double but were comfortable. There was one window with a pull shade rather than those halfway faux curtain details and it blocked all the inside light which is exactly what we wanted. If you read any of my other reviews, I use the room for bathing and sleeping. Nothing more really. Oh! There was a disgusting dirty sock left on the floor behind the bedskirt. I can understand dirt behind the bed or dust on the crown molding. But this was a whole sock. Who misses a whole sock? Plus the extra blanket in the bag in the wardrobe had crusty looking stains all over it. I wonder if they wash them...The size of the bathroom is good and the water pressure is just fine.

Free breakfast is always good at the Hampton Inn. You really can't complain when you get a FREE hot breakfast. The breakfast area seats maybe 15-20 so if it's a full house, just take your breakfast to go.

Plenty of parking. Also, the hotel is now going under renovations.

It's actually a really great price for what I needed/wanted. To be between Hershey and Harrisburg. Unfortunately, they lost a star due to the dirty sock and stained extra blanket in the wardrobe.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UDHampton, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area), responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Abernathy5,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your concerns. We are having some updates to our property to better accomodate our guests including our lobby breakfast area. I sincerely apologize for the for the sock found and blanket, as this absolutely is not the service or reputation we want or offer at our property and this concern has been addressed. I was happy to hear that we were a convenient location to the venue you were attending. I really hope the concert was great and you had a great time with visiting our downtown area. I hope you give us another opportunity to serve you and get the chance to comeback to enjoy are new updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau County, NY
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I went to attend my son's soccer tournament... having said that... the hotel was fine. It's about a 25 minute drive from Hershey Park. The room was clean. It has wifi. The "hot" breakfast left a lot to be desired... we all opted for Dunkin' Donuts instead. The dining area was extremely small and with a sold out night it was SRO and a bit of chaos in the lobby area as most of us tried to balance our coffee cup and bags. It was easy enough to get to (just off of the hwy). So as I said... it was "just fine."

Room Tip: Request a high floor and facing the rear if you want it somewhat quieter than the rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UDHampton, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area), responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Victoria B,

Thank you for the compliment of our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay besides the busy breakfast experience. I excited to be able to advise you that we are currently in the process of enlarging are breakfast area along with other updates at our property to better accomodate our guests. Your business and feedback are appreciated and important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)

Address: 4230 Union Deposit Road, Harrisburg, PA 17111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#6 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area) Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.