We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room very clean good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7744 Linglestown Road, Hershey Area, Harrisburg, PA 17112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Lyndhurst, NJ
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice room very clean good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My husband and myself stayed for labor day weekend. HIE was very clean the rooms where up to date. My only complant was we couldnt get in right away and the ac made weird noise. Besides that clean , Perkins across the street if you don't want the very nice continental spread only 15 minutes from Hershey.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akash P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel. We are happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you had a great labor day weekend in the Harrisburg/Hershey area and hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,
Akash K. Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    48
    13
    6
    1
See reviews for
57
35
4
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for a night and were very satisfied with this place, very clean and breakfast was good. Staff are very accomadative to our needs. Room comes with a microwave and a refrigerator and absolutely worth the money spent....

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akash P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our rooms having a microwave and refrigerator in them! We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,
Akash K. Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My family of 4 stayed for 2 nights as we visited Hershey Park. The park is around 10 minutes down the road. Room was clean, staff was responsive to our needs. Breakfast was your standard HIE fare - which is a good thing. Will return when we go back to Hershey.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akash P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was responsive to your needs. We certainly take great pride in our staff's ability to provide excellent guest service! We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,
Akash K. Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

To keep things simple, it was very clean, updated, great staff, everything worked, beds and pillows were comfortable, and oh did I say clean. I will be telling others who are traveling out to Hershey to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akash P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We also greatly appreciate that you are willing to tell others about our hotel.

We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,
Akash K. Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I booked this hotel after researching hotel prices in the area and reading previous reviews on Tripadvisor that it had been recently rennovated and was a nice, clean place to stay which was close to Hershey Park. We were very pleased with our stay at this Holiday Inn Express. Our room was very clean upon arrival and the air conditioner in the room worked well. It was also relatively quiet which was a pleasant surprise. I will say that the bed was way too firm for me. However the room did offer a choice of soft and firm pillows which did help. We did not have any trouble with hallway noise - I usually always ask for a room on a high floor and away from the elevator.

The free breakfast had both hot and cold items which included some form of eggs, biscuits and gravy, either bacon or sausage, cereal, yogurt, bread items, and hot cinnamon buns. The hotel also had a "make your own" pancake machine, but it was out of service (they were out of refills) 3 out of the 4 mornings we had breakfast. (To be fair, we went down to breakfast on the late side, so it may have been full earlier in the morning). Most of the other items were refilled frequently - and were truly refilled until the end of the breakfast time (6:30 to 9:30am). For the most part, we found the staff friendly, but the staff members we asked were not extremely knowledgeable about the area. They did have print-outs available at the front desk of area restaurants and attractions that did prove to be helpful. It is an easy commute to Hershey Park and there is a Dunkin Donuts Express and Perkins Pancake House (24 hour) almost directly across the street if you want decent food and are not in the mood to explore the area. This hotel was a great value for what we paid, considering other hotels slightly closer to Hershey were at least $50 to $100 more per night than what we paid. We would choose this location again if we ever come back to the Hershey/Lancaster area.

Room Tip: Ask for the third floor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akash P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel. My team and I sincerely appreciate the wonderful review that you gave us, thank you. We are committed to providing all of our guests with the cleanest possible rooms and the best possible service. That being said, I am happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay.

If you do decide to visit the Hershey/Lancaster/Harrisburg area again, we hope to see you soon!

Thanks,
Akash K. Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a nicely updated and clean hotel, but the staff left a sour taste. The night staff was under-trained and unprofessional in dealing with a sold-out/noisy weekend with multiple groups throughout the hotel. The thin walls added to the unpleasant experience for ALL guests in the hotel. There was a group that had been in the hotel all week, and apparently had the run of the place during the week. When we arrived at 11:00pm the lobby was overtaken by this group of dance parents. The lobby was VERY loud upon my arrival.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akash P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
I and our team at the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg NE sincerely apologize to you for your less than satisfactory stay. We will do everything that we can including training our staff so this does not happen again in the future. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. From your survey here we were not able to determine your stay details to contact you personally. I would like to personally extend our apologies. Please contact me or our management team at 717-540-8400.

Sincerely,
Akash K. Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Nice hotel, freshly updated. We had not known our room was going to have a refrigerator and microwave - we could have brought more food! But there are several dining options nearby - McDonald's, Perkins, Pizza Hut Express, Harrisburg Pizza. Quiet location and very easy access to Hersheypark. Lingletown Road turns into Hershey Road which dumps you right into the entrance to Hersheypark and Chocolate World. Couldn't be easier! They were also very accommodating when we had to cancel the original first day of our reservation. The only negative was that the a/c cooled well but did not control humidity efficiently. Everything felt damp. But we will be happy to stay here again if we make a return trip to the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akash P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We thank you for choosing our hotel and are happy to see that you were satisfied with your stay. I do apologize for the HVAC unit not controlling the humidity to your liking. We will most certainly look into this issue. Please feel free to contact me with any other suggestions/questions at 717-540-8400.

We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Akash K. Patel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
7.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East
3.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
#20 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Harrisburg Northeast (Hershey)
8.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg East
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg

Address: 7744 Linglestown Road, Hershey Area, Harrisburg, PA 17112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
#9 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#20 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express(R) hotel is ideally located in the heart of Pennsylvania. Explore the capital city, or visit the many attractions found in the area, including Hershypark amusement park, Giant Center, Hollywood Casino & Race Course, Indian Echo Caverns, ZooAmerica wildlife park and Hershey's Chocolate World, an interactive chocolate experience and a shopper's paradise. The Harrisburg International Airport is 15 miles from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Harrisburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.