We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Excitement” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center to your Saves list
Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   224 Broadway, Hanover, PA 17331   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
See all of our Rooms!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hanover B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stephens City, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Wedding Excitement”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here with a wedding party, excellent service and value! Centrally located for a very convenient stay. Owners were prepared and highly hospitable. The home is elegantly decorated and very well kept.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Christopher M,
We were very happy to know that members of the wedding party had everything they required to help ensure that such a special occasion would be memorable for all the right reasons. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave such a nice review. We hope that you'll keep us in mind should you ever be traveling in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
34
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Let me say first that the Shining Dawn is a magnificent work of
architecture and character. The stained glass windows and fine craftsmanship of this B & B
were just wonderful Our stay was a relaxing getaway that
we had hoped for. There were fresh snacks and refreshments upon our arrival. The Sun Room
is well stocked with a wide variety of teas, instant coffees, hot cocoa as well as
Cold bottled water and a good selection of Coke and Pepsi Soft Drinks. The gourmet
breakfast the following morning was superb and generous. We were so full that we skipped
lunch and enjoyed an early dinner instead. The Innkeepers gave great recommendations to
local restaurants. Their hospitality, conversation and the tranquility of their B&B all
came together for a marvelous time. In all of our travels and B&B experiences the
Shining Dawn is one of the most welcoming & worthwhile that we've experienced. We highly
recommend it to B&B Travelers.

Room Tip: The B&B is located on a fairly busy route. We stayed in the Jewel in the Heart which is located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear JJFlash99,
Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experiences with us. It's nice to see Shining Dawn through the eyes of our guests. The architectural details, high level of craftsmanship which went into the house's construction and the numerous stained glass windows are some of the same things that told us this would be a nearly perfect facility for Shining Dawn. Instead of adding additional guest rooms, we retained the architectural integrity of the main floor which gives our guests and retreat participants very nice public areas (like the Sun Room) to meet or just relax. If you're ever traveling in the Hanover area again, please keep us in mind. We would love to host you again. You'll always be welcomed at Shining Dawn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Shining Dawn is definitely our retreat and our recommendation to all of our friends and family. We have been staying with Bruce and Helen for several years now and look forward to our stay every time. The B&B is welcoming and it makes you feel as if you are visiting family. We look forward to waking up to the breakfast, with chilled glasses of juice, coffee, and a wide variety of gourmet meals. Their home is an incredible site and story with its restoration and history. Only 15 minutes from Gettysburg, which can be experienced by the Segway Tours! But there is plenty of things to see even closer in downtown Hanover. On Saturdays is the small farmers market just across the street. Plenty of wineries close by too. Or take an historic train ride. We also love going to Codorus State Park only a few minutes away and kayak.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Schvamias,

It's always a real pleasure to see your smiling faces come through our door and to have the opportunity to just catch up since your last visit We think of you and smile every time we watch "Judge Judy". Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your latest visit. We look forward to seeing you again and wish you and your family the best, now and always.

Bruce & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at Shining Dawn several times over the past few years, and it's always our first choice when we visit. I grew up in Hanover and remember when the family of the town's premiere veterinarian lived in this gorgeous turn-of-the-century mansion. The architecture and craftsmanship of the house are truly exceptional, and Helen and Bruce have done a magnificent job unobtrusively modernizing it while retaining its all its intricate beauty and charm. The house is filled with meticulously restored antique clocks which are among the finest examples of the clockmaker's art. The breakfasts are first-class, all the way from the gourmet coffee, to the fresh-squeezed orange juice, to the superb and ever-changing entrees. Helen and Bruce are unfailingly gracious and accommodating hosts, and have helped us with several special requests. The rooms (especially the Rising Dawn room, our favorite!) are nicely appointed and the bathrooms are modern and scrupulously clean. You'd be hard-pressed to find a better, more relaxing place to stay in Hanover.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Jim R,
You and the Mrs. are a fun and fabulous couple. We consider ourselves lucky to know you and we truly enjoy your visits. Of course we are extremely happy to know that you enjoy your time with us enough to return to Shining Dawn when you're in the area. Thank you for taking the time to share your review with other B&B Travelers. We'll always look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Bruce & Helen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at Shining Dawn while on my way to Vienna, VA from Allentown, PA. This was a perfect stopping spot, and I was so impressed with the tranquility of the bed and breakfast. The accommodations were clean and homey, and the small patio off the bedroom provided a tranquil place to enjoy. The luminous stars on the ceiling were a delightful surprise, lending another aspect to the stay. The breakfast was delicious and the hosts were about the best that could be asked. The house itself is a gorgeous old homestead with beautiful accoutrements, including stained glass windows and antique fixtures. There is a lovely outside garden in back that is lovely to relax in. Highly recommended for anyone!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked fine to me, but I chose the MidSummer Night's Dream Room and was very sati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear "S",

Being able to host guests like you is a big part of what makes Inn-keeping enjoyable to us. You describe our facility and peaceful and friendly. We're very pleased that you found some of that here during your stay. We couldn't help but notice that you brought a lot of that with you. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to leave such a nice review of your stay. Please keep us in mind in your future travels. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at Shining Dawn for seven days while we enjoyed the Gettysburg 150 events. The home is spotless, the room was very pretty and comfortable...and the food was "extraordinary." We were there an entire week and every breakfast was different. The pear with caramel sauce was amazing and the German Apple pancake was to die for!

Helen and Bruce are wonderful hosts and have created a serene and peaceful place to get away. Only 25 minutes from Gettysburg this is the PLACE TO STAY!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
R. & J., We can't begin to tell you what an absolute pleasure it was to meet you two and to host you as our guests. Things were pretty hectic during the Gettysburg 150th Commemoration and you maintained a very busy itinerary so we didn't have very many opportunities to chat, but when we did, we really enjoyed your delightful conversation. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave such a nice review of your experiences with us. We're extremely happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for helping some of our other guests navigate the heavy traffic and crowds in and around Gettysburg. We hope to see you again and we're wishing you the very best always. Helen & Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Shining Dawn is a lovely bed and breakfast. We stayed at the Inn while visiting Gettysburg. It allowed us to get away from the tumult of Gettysburg, yet not be too far.

The home is beautifully appointed and well maintained, with an aura of calm that surrounds it.

The host was most delightful, and breakfast was terrific.

I would recommend this Inn to anyone who happens to be passing through the town, or nearby towns.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BASA78, Owner at Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our B & B. As you mention Hanover is mostly a very quiet and peaceful little town. It's a good place to host retreats, which we do, as well as to get away from it all and relax as you have noted in your review. Thanks again, and please keep us in mind should you ever be traveling through the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center

Address: 224 Broadway, Hanover, PA 17331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hanover
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unforgettable stay in our magnificent 1902 Queen Anne brownstone. Stained glass windows, in-laid oak floors, beamed ceilings, carved mantles, and a bright, airy ambiance. Take Civil War Battle of Hanover Walking Tour from our front door. Minutes to Gettysburg or York. Five elegant guest rooms with private baths. Delicious full breakfast. Whether you are looking for the perfect romantic getaway, business accommodations, or a rejuvenating retreat, you will find it at Shining Dawn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and T4B so you can book your Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shining Dawn Bed and Breakfast Retreat Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.