We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Stay but would go again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hanover

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hanover to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hanover
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   305 Wilson Ave, Hanover, PA 17331   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quick Stay but would go again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I moved the other night and the movers told me that they would be still unloading after midnight and since I had to be up at 4am, I quickly decided on a hotel. I went to one in the area and drove right on by since it looked pretty sketchy. I drove up to this hotel and it was nicely kept on the outside and nicely lit, making me feel safe. It was late and I was exhausted, the check in was quick and simple and I was glad to be in a room. I planned on going straight to sleep but when I saw the HUGE bathroom, I knew a long hot shower was in order. I was not disappointed :) The bed was very soft, something I am not a big fan of but I was so tired I quickly dropped off to sleep. The room was spotless, even a mint and a note from housekeeping to enjoy my stay. I was only there a total of 6 hours and the only negative I can think of was the cost. I was surprised at the cost of a 1 night stay, especially for the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    19
    13
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
22
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
York PA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Stayed here for one night. Check-in was easy and smooth, room was ready on time.Was on 3rd floor and it smelled like smoke, or smelled like they were trying to cover it up. Room was clean, two beds like I wanted. Hotel has great location. Right beside texas roadhouse, and walking distance to Arooga's. Any other attractions in Hanover can easily be reach from this property. Hotel breakfast was good, dining area was clean and comfortable. No complaints from really. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaniM305, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hanover, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate the kind words. Our 3rd floor does have smoking rooms on the south end as well as non-smoking on the north end. Should you stay with us again, ask to be assigned to the first or second floor to avoid being near one of these smoking rooms. We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLLEGE STATION TEXAS
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just got back from a 44 night stay at the HI Express in Hanover. Perfect Location for getting Gettysburg (20 Min), York (20 Min) and Lancaster County (45 Min) without having to pay higher prices in these tourist destinations.
There are numerous restuarants within walking distance. Bay City Seafood is top of the list and Texas Roadhouse is quite good. Make sure you get discount tickets from front desk
The staff is the main reason I will return. Izzie, Stephanie and Vani were always smiling and welcoming. From the moment I made the reservation on the phone with Izzie, to check in with Stepanie and check out with Vani Ifelt like I was at home. House Keeping girls, Kim and Elizabeth left daily notes in the room wishing me "Good Day" and I have never seen this before. Was a pleasant surprise.
I have already made my reservations for next years trip.
MIKE

Room Tip: Make sure you get a discount card from the front desk to one of the area restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaniM305, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hanover, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to make all our guests feel at home here at our hotel. Your kind comments show that we were successful with you. We hope we can be of service to you again . Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outer Banks, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Very clean. Good sized room. Comfortable bed and plenty of pillows. Good coffee and good breakfast. Staff was friendly and helpful. Convenient location close to Gettysburg. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaniM305, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hanover, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for staying at our our hotel during your recent visit to the Hanover area. We are glad that our accommodations met your needs. We treat our guests as friends; we want your stay to be comfortable. I hope we can serve you again on your return to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunlock Creek, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very clean, Great staff, excellent complimentery breakfast!! Would definitely stay here again.Surrounded by great restaurants--Ruby Tuesdays and Texas Steakhouse practically in the parking lot!
Front desk staff -very knowledgeable were to get Diesel Fuel near hotel and about some of the sites we asked about.
Rooms had a small microwave, coffee maker, and small refrig. --so nice and convienant for morning coffee and snacks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaniM305, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hanover, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We appreciate your glowing review of our hotel. I'm glad we met your expectations on your recent visit. Our staff enjoys helping our guests with what ever they may need. We hope we have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here very much. Room was spacious and clean. No problem at all for wheelchair accessibility.

Special shout-out for very polite and helpful staff. We needed a place to have a family gathering (20+ people). The staff were kind enough to let us use the dining area, which is normally only used during breakfast. We had pizza delivered and had plenty of space in a nice setting.

Only negative was some odor in the hallway. Might have been cleaning supplies. Some people with sensitivities about perfumes and such might be bothered. Or maybe it was just a passing thing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaniM305, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hanover, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
We were very happy to be able to accommodate you and your family on your recent visit to Hanover. We pride ourselves in providing a warm comfortable feeling at our hotel. I'm glad we were successful with your family. Please come stay with us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here recently during a visit to Gettysburg. The place is about 20 miles from Gettysburg visitor's center, but we were so happy we decided to stay here. I got a call from the front desk staff earlier during the day about my stay. Our room was ready when we checked in. The hotel is very secure as you need you room key to get in after 9 pm. Early morning, a hot breakfast is served, which is above average. The hotel does not have a pool. There are several restaurants around and a target close by. One thing I was amazed was that all staff were extremely polite and helpful. We would stay here again. Hershey is a bit more far, but doable, given the hotels close to Hershey park will be way more expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaniM305, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hanover, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. Our staff enjoys making our guests feel both comfortable and welcome. If you're in our area again, we will be happy to tend to your needs. On behalf of all my staff, I thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hanover? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hanover

Address: 305 Wilson Ave, Hanover, PA 17331
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hanover 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the award winning Holiday Inn Express, the newest hotel in Hanover. We are conveniently located between York & Historic Gettysburg. Our upscale limited service hotel offers free high speed Internet, guest laundry, fitness center, express start breakfast, local phone calls, USA Today newspaper & 24 hour guest service. With the Hospitality Promise program you are sure to be satisfied. The Holiday Inn Express Hanover is the place to stay, we have value pricing and friendly service for the business, leisure, or group travelers. We are less than 1 mile from the UTZ potato chip factory, and less than 2 miles from the Synder's Of Hanover factory. Other attractions include the Harley Davidson plant (16 miles), York Fairgrounds (15 miles), Baltimore Inner Harbor (45 miles), and Gettysburg National Park (14 miles). Remember to stay smart when visiting Hanover stay at Holiday Inn Express! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hanover reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hanover Hotel Hanover
Holiday Inn Hanover
Hanover Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hanover, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.