We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Monroe Heights Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Monroe Heights Hotel to your Saves list
Monroe Heights Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2049 Leesburg Grove City Road, Grove City, PA 16127 (Formerly Microtel Grove City)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Grove City
St. Marys, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not that great...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2008

After reading the TripAdvisor reviews for the Microtel, I thought I would be staying at a pretty decent place. Too bad they didn't live up to the reviews.
When we arrived to check in, the staff was less than friendly. The lady checking me in barely said a word to me other than asking me whether I would be paying with cash or credit. I had my infant son with me and had requested a crib for the room when I made my reservation. I asked the lady at check in if it would be in the room and she told me no, that I had to get it myself and pointed to a room down a hallway. Mind you, I had my infant son in my arms along with some luggage. I walked down the hallway and looked into a room that looked like the area where the staff did the laundry and such. There was another lady in the room, so I asked her about getting a crib. She brought one out and thankfully she asked me if I needed help carrying it. Once we got the crib (pack and play) to the room, it would not set up. I called the front desk and the rude lady from earlier answered. I let her know that this crib would not work and that we would need another. There was a long, silent pause. Finally she said someone would bring one up. When another was brought up to the room, the lady was rude again.
The room was okay. I wasn't expecting anything fancy, but I was expecting something clean. We had adjoining rooms which both had bathrooms and both were dirty. One had hair and cheerios on the floor and the other had a cigarette butt in the toliet. Don't you think that if the bathrooms were cleaned that someone would have seen these things? Needless to say, I was very disappointed in my stay at Microtel and wish I would have picked one of the other hotels near the outlet.

  • Liked — Close to Grove City Outlets
  • Disliked — The staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    52
    36
    27
    12
See reviews for
67
45
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

We stayed for one night at this hotel while shopping at the outlet mall in Grove City. It is a very nice hotel with a good, but simple, breakfast bar in the morning. Nothing outstanding but nice place to rest ones head. The other reviews commented on the noise level, which I have to agree with but didn't affect my stay.

While there we drove 5 minutes down the road to eat at Rachael's Road House Restaurant (turn left out the drive way of the hotel, then right at T-intersection). The meal and the ambiance was excellent, will go back again without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb, IL
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

Very comfortable and clean. As good of a place to stay as I'd ever want. First rate!!!

  • Liked — Very nice rooms, friendly staff
  • Disliked — It was raining like a hurricane when we got there
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2008

Stayed here for two nights..The staff is friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was above average. Room was clean and comfortable. Bedding was fresh and pillows are comfy! It's a bit noisy but other than that I would definitely recommend it to a friend.

  • Liked — cleaniness
  • Disliked — a bit noisy
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2007

I have mixed reviews about this hotel. Although it is a brand new hotel, very clean, friendly staff and an above average continental breakfast, I have some major complaints.
The hotel is VERY noisy, the walls are paper thin so getting a good nights sleep is not in the cards. The rooms are quite small, especially the rooms with a single queen/king bed, I recommend spending the extra money for a suite at least you are able to walk into the room without bumping into the bed. The heat/air conditioner is very loud startling me everytime it turned on during the night. The bed is very very soft, (which I dont prefer) so I was quite uncomfortable. And last but not least make sure you are the first person to take a shower in your room because there is a lack of hot water, 3 people stayed in our room and only 1 was able to enjoy a warm shower the others literally had to jump in and out because it was cold.
I know it's cheap and you shouldnt expect much but the basics are a must for me and this hotel didnt cut it. If there were no other properties available in the area I would stay again but Its not my first choice.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Noisy establishment, lack of hot water, very small rooms
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2007

This hotel is new, clean and well-maintained. Breakfast is above average, especially considering the low room rates. I'd stay there again.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, ON
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2007

Great new hotel. Very clean and tidy. Perfect for a weekend shopping/golf getaway. Breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly. Would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Liked — New and clean. Breakfast.
  • Disliked — nothing.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monroe Heights Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monroe Heights Hotel

Address: 2049 Leesburg Grove City Road, Grove City, PA 16127 (Formerly Microtel Grove City)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Grove City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Grove City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monroe Heights Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Monroe Heights Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Grove City Hotel Grove City
Microtel Inn And Suites Grove City
Microtel Grove City
Microtel Hotel Grove City
Grove City Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monroe Heights Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.