We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Terra Nova House B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Terra Nova House B&B to your Saves list
Terra Nova House B&B
322 West Poplar Street, Grove City, PA 16127   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
No Breakfast Discount 20%
Ranked #1 of 3 Grove City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Fellow Traveler,

If you are ever in the area of Grove City, Penn. you owe it to yourself to stay at Terra Nova House Bed & Breakfast on West Poplar Street. My wife and I are Ryan’s guest every time we are in the neighborhood. It is by far the best and friendliest place to relax and rest. It is our “home away from home”. Everything is attended to in great detail. Terra Nova is not only immaculate, comfortably elegant and welcoming but Ryan also serves an outstanding home made breakfast in the morning. There is always a delicious fresh brownie waiting for you when you arrive and there are many other treats that you just don’t find in first class hotels or any other B&B. Terra Nova is in a class by itself. It is first class all the way and priced at a very affordable rate. If anyone wants to know what a real five star stay is like, you must visit Terra Nova, Grove City. It’s an absolute winner.

November 14, 2013

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
97
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gstaad, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We'd booked the Caribbean room (for my parents) and the English Rose room (shared with my sister and our 2 toddlers under <2) for our overnight family vacation/shopping trip to Grove City and it was simply perfect! We were welcomed with smorgsboard of treats (fruit & cheese platter and the most delicious brownies ever) and a snack cupboard that kept our little ones very happy.

We'd stayed in a commercial hotel the night before at Splash Lagoon and staying at the B&B was like staying at a good friend's house. Breakfast was decadent with Ryan & his assistant overseeing every request and ensuring we had everything we requested for.

We were given plenty of choices for our breakfast (ranging from perfectly cooked eggs/bacon/sausage to egg frittata and French toast casserole), home-made jams, and a self-serve coffee/tea/mini bar 24/7. It sure beats having processed foods at the commercial hotel chains anytime!

We were tired after a long day of shopping and Ryan suggested we order in from a neighbourhood pizza place which was perfect. No request was too much and he even laid out cutlery, napkins and plates for our meal!

The bedrooms and bathrooms were in very well-maintained and every necessary amenity was provided.

We truly appreciated the genuine hospitality that Ryan and his assistant (Stacia) provided during our family vacation. We felt very welcomed and our kids felt like they were right at home!

Terra Nova House has definitely set the bar high for our family vacations...we look forward to returning soon and will recommend it to all our friends & family travelling to Grove City for a shopping trip (a 5-8 minute drive).

Room Tip: The English Room is a perfect size for families, 2 cots / mattresses can be set up in the room for k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerraNovaHouse, Owner at Terra Nova House B&B, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you so much for the excellent review! Although we typically do not take in children under the age of 8, we sometimes do make exceptions. We were happy that this particular visit of yours fell on a day which allowed you to have the place to yourselves; therefore, allowing your adorable children to stay with us and use of the cots and rooms to make everyone feel comfortable.

Sincerely,

Ryan Mercer
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Myself, my husband and my parents stayed for two nights at the Terra Nova House B&B in October of 2013. My husband and I enjoy bed and breakfasts and the perks that many of them offer. Ryan is the perfect host for his guests. He really has thought out all the details to make one's stay unforgettable. We stayed in the North Atlantic Room and my parents stayed in the English Rose room. Ryan has a nice sitting area when you enter the B&B, a keurig machine, and a wall of snacks ! During our stay it was a little cold in Grove City and Ryan had delicious warm apple cider for us. You even get a delicious treat waiting for you on the floor with all the guest rooms and a cheese plate to enjoy after dinner. There is also complimentary wifi for your use during your stay.

We enjoyed two delicious breakfasts and we happened to try all of the choices. The sweet, salty and healthy choices were all great! I especially loved the pumpkin waffles. At the front entrance of the B&B, Ryan has a revolving stand with many different tourist activities in the surrounding area, as well as a coupon for discounts at the Grove City premium outlets. Ryan made one of our dinner reservations for us, which was really helpful after a day of shopping.

Overall, we had a great experience and would highly recommend Terra Nova House to all our friends and family. Thanks again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverwoods, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were in the North Atlantic Room which was large, clean and comfortable. From website you can see that the rooms are beautiful and they do not disappoint.

The breakfast provided is ordered the night before and is delicious. Choices are amazing. The owner is always checking that everything is in excellent condition and he has a manager to keep the day to day tasks running smoothly.

The owner carried our luggage to the room. He has coffee on second floor as well as first floor. He had a plate of cheese cracker and chocolate waiting for us in the small refrigerator on the second floor as well as water and sodas. I will return to this fabulous B & B. I highly recommend it .

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at many B&B's over the years. This one ranks as one of the very best. The place is charming and immaculate. The food selections and presentations were outstanding. The host made us aware of the many extra's that were included in our stay. Coffee and tea and snacks were always available. Truly a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was definitely an outstanding B&B! Upon arrival, we were greeted by Ryan and made to feel at home. We found it very comfortable. The breakfast was a real treat with 3 choices of oatmeal, sweet or savory with several sides to choose from as well. There was no lack of snacks, teas, coffee, cocoa, water and cold drinks. Each room has a fruit & cheese plate along with a baked good each night. There are many choices of books, movies and even Netflix available. There are many special touches, including the design drawn on the blanket relating to a birthday event with our son in college! :) We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the North Atlantic. I loved the decor and the size of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was the most fabulous B&B we have ever stayed at!!

We, a group of eight women, who have known each other since at least high school (some of us since 1st and 2nd grades), have been getting together annually for a weekend of catching up for 27 years now. We have stayed at our own houses, in hotels (4 to a room), at houses that we've rented, and, lately, at B&B's. We particularly love 4-bedroom B&B's because we can take over the living areas without having to worry about infringing on the space of any other tenants - we're the only ones there!

We spent an extremely comfortable weekend at the Terra Nova House, as we were made to feel welcome by the innkeeper, Ryan, and his staff. (Stacia is an amazing chef!!!) You definitely won't go hungry if you stay here, and, in fact, you will most likely put on a few pounds. We were given three choices for breakfast - the healthy choice of oatmeal (I don't think any of us chose this for either day!), a sweet selection (pumpkin waffles on Saturday and apple pancakes on Sunday), and a savory selection (2 egg dishes - sorry, I don't remember what they were exactly, because I never got past the sweet selections!). In addition, there were a number of sides to choose from (or you could choose them all!) - rosemary potatoes (to die for!), fruit, juices, bacon, ham, or sausage, bagels. In addition, each room was provided with a large plate of fruit, cheese, crackers, and chocolate, as well as a freshly baked item from a local bakery. Not only that, but there was a wall of shelves in the living room stocked full of chips, cookies, chocolate bars, and any number of other snacks, there for the taking. Water and pop were provided in the fridges and there were 2 Keurig coffee-makers, one upstairs by the bedrooms and one downstairs in the living room, with an abundant selection of coffees and teas. A pot of hot water was also provided for those who preferred to make their tea in this way, and each evening we were given a pot of hot apple cider - perfect for the cool, fall weather in Pennsylvania.

Ryan gave us many suggestions of things to do in the area. I guess that the nearby outlet mall is a major attraction, but we had a wonderful time exploring the nearby town of Volant, PA, which is full of wonderful boutique shops, and the $2 that we spent on ice cream was a great deal for the amount and quality that was served to us. The outlet mall was a part of our itinerary, but it was a small part.

Some of the things that we did not experience while at the B&B, due to the amount of talking that was going on, were the movies available to watch, the access to Netflix in each room, and the games available in the living room. However, we were able to enjoy the gorgeous fall weather while sitting on the upstairs balcony and the large, wrap-around, front porch.

I would definitely return to the Terra Nova House, and would like to thank Ryan for being such am accommodating host!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan M, Owner at Terra Nova House B&B, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for one of the most comprehensive reviews of the Terra Nova House Bed and Breakfast. We are so pleased to be able to offer our guests such hospitality and so many complimentary amenities that you will not find at other accommodations (even some 5 star hotels).

We love to have groups of ladies take over the whole B&B as it typically creates such a positive energy as they enjoy all the spaces (parlor, dining room, 2nd floor balcony and wrap-around front porch). I always find the conversations enlightening and entertaining.

We are also so blessed to have brought Stacia on-board to help around the B&B. We are truly pleased that you enjoyed her talent of cooking. I know Stacia is still talking about your group and what a wonderful time she had with you all!

All of us look forward to having your entire group stay again!

Sincerely,

Ryan Mercer
Owner/Innkeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Terra Nova House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Nova House B&B

Address: 322 West Poplar Street, Grove City, PA 16127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Grove City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Grove City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terra Nova House is Grove City's award winning hotel alternative. Located in Mercer County, Pennsylvania, the B&B is conveniently located near Grove City Olde Town, Grove City College (GCC), Grove City Premium Outlets, General Electric (GE), Wendell August Forge, Slippery Rock University (SRU) and many other attractions and businesses. Come experience Victorian elegance with all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Terra Nova House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terra Nova House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.