We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant & Castle

Elephant & Castle
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Grove City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elephant & Castle
Save
You added Elephant & Castle to your Saves list
1923 Leesburg, Grove City Rd, Grove City, PA 16127   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Grove City B&B and Inns
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good Value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at the price and cleanliness of my room! The view was beautiful from the double windows in my corner room. I think this is the best value for the money in Grove City. The food at the restaurant is tasty and also reasonably priced. My brother lives in Grove City and he recommended Elephant & Castle to me as I prefer to have my own space when I visit. I stayed in August 2013 and have just booked my same room for October 2013.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
6
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GTA, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The room we had was a double bed room and the room was very, very small. In addition to that there was a huge fan in the corner which was of no use -- just stored there. Also there was an extra bedspread and stuff which also took up space. However, the room was clean, bed was good and it was quiet. There is no coffee in room and also no breakfast. You can get a cup of coffee and some fruit at the front desk. When I asked at the front desk about the fan and the other stuff they told me it was always there and the man was not very nice about my asking! Price was much less than other places and the size would contribute to that. Location was good for shopping at the mall and we really enjoyed our supper at the restaurant. They have only 12 rooms and I certainly would not stay again in such a small room which was made worse by the clutter!.

Room Tip: Don't stay in one of the small rooms! Larger rooms look OK. Welcome center staff should be mad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Pleasantly suprised. Food and atmosphere was great. Happy hour has 1/2 price draft appetizers, portions are large.

Would love to hear more about the rooms, would consider staying there if nice. Daughter is a vegan and there was choices for her. Close to outlet mall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

A well kept secret at the entry to Grove City Outlet Mall. Twelve rooms with a convenient parking lot that leads to the entry of the outlet mall. A very nice room with 2 double beds, new carpet, a refrigerator, tall windows and a huge bathroom all reasonably priced. We also received 10% off our meal at the Elephant and Castle Restaurant and enjoyed a tasty meal. We can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This place is like some meth clinic half-way house. It smells. It's noisy. It's dirty. And it's a dump. I was itchy after being there five minutes. Stay somewhere else, anywhere else. Sleep in your car.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

My husband and I were travelling from Pittsburgh to Buffalo and stayed at the Hampton Inn. Upon our late checkout and having missed the Hampton's breakfast, the hotel's staff offered us a 15% off coupon to the Elephant and Castle--perfect! My husband is a Brit, so he was delighted that the E&C was a pub-style restaurant/bar that offered a large variety of food and beer choices. The salad and quiche that we ordered was good and we enjoyed the bright/windowed environment. There is an outdoor patio that was being used. This was such a nice surprise to find this in the middle of PA and we would recommend a stop for some refreshments and a chance to glimpse this unique establishment. PS - our waitress (blonde, petite--don't remember her name) was very nice and kind!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

This little inn is a great place to spend the night...at $60 you can't go wrong! We were lucky to grab the last room and wished we booked earlier to stay there the whole weekend.

We stayed in room 203...it was small, but had everything you needed. It was clean, fresh sheets & towels. I would recommend bringing your own pillows. We had a great time at the pub as well! Food was yummy, beer was cheap and the waiter was great, thanks Parker! We will defiantly stay here again next time we go to Grove for some shopping! Cheers!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Elephant & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elephant & Castle

Address: 1923 Leesburg, Grove City Rd, Grove City, PA 16127
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Grove City
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Grove City
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant & Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.