We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced but delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cakes and Scones Bakery

Cakes and Scones Bakery
1543 Rt. 507, Greentown, PA 18426
+1 570-676-4155
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 13 Restaurants in Greentown
Price range: $2 - $27
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Bakeries, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Cakes and Scones Bakery specializes in natural, made from scratch on location bakedgoods. We are a full service bakery making everything from cookies to wedding cakes.We also offer seating. Specialty breads are made at holidays and periodically betweenthem. You may also follow us on Facebook"Cakes & Scones Bakery" for specials and events. We are located in N.E. Pa. in the Poconos. Our prices ARE higher than what this area is used to, but so is our quality. The Lake Wallenpaupack area sure deserves it.
Poconos
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Overpriced but delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Pies, cookies, scones are all great. One disappointment ... the breads. Would loved if they offered a nice, crusty french or rye bread. But breads were heavy and dry.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
designphilly, Manager at Cakes and Scones Bakery, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your complements about our baked goods. We work hard to provide everyone a quality product. However, I think you are mistaken about our bread. We haven't sold bread since Aug. 2011. Was it then when you purchased bread from us? If it was in 2012, maybe you purchased it elsewhere. Please get back to us. We are curious. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazingly delicious treats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Bright and cheery, the Cakes and Scones Bakery is delicious every time we've stopped in.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good quality lousy attitude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Once again gave them another try. Cake was great however, overpriced for the area and I don't like being talked down to.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place best bakery in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

The best baked goods in town right down the raod from www.84countrystore.com a great place to visit. Amazing coffee and the best danish

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham Township, New Jersey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Home baked goodness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I found this gem of a bakery in 2008 at their previous location in Stroudsburg and was delighted to find it again in Greentown in a cute little shop. The bakery is owned and operated by a delightful couple. They offer a wide range of dessert and breakfast items all baked on premises by the owner. Flavors are fresh and wonderful. Their rugalah is the best I have ever had. Also, love the cinnamon buns and various cookies. The coffee is very good, usually a house blend and a flavored coffee.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cakes and Scones Bakery also viewed

Greentown, Pocono Mountains Region
Greentown, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Greentown, Pocono Mountains Region
Greentown, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Cakes and Scones Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cakes and Scones Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.