We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smoking allowed makes Robokyo's patio royucko.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Robokyo

Robokyo
910 E. Pittsburgh Street, Greensburg, PA 15601
724-834-7423
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 154 Restaurants in Greensburg
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Smoking allowed makes Robokyo's patio royucko.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I went with my daughter to enjoy sushi and wine on the outdoor bar and patio. Robokyo has a very inviting, closed-off and private stone patio you can enjoy during the summer. It is a large area with a number of tables. It was a beautiful night and I was surprised it was not busier.

Perhaps...just perhaps the reason lay behind the ash trays that were on most of the tables. As we were seated, I noticed people smoking all around us. Even though we were outdoors, I can't remember the last time I was in a smoking environment while eating. The kicker was when the man at the table next to us lit up a big cigar. That was it...as nice as the patio is, we couldn't enjoy being there with cigar smoke wafting past us.

I'm so sorry Robokyo, but we will not be back...who wants to enjoy fresh sushi and a drink outdoors while surrounded by smoke? (Except for the smokers, who've found the one place left where they can do that.) If you ever do ban smoking, and maybe add some live entertainment on beautiful summer nights, I think you'll have a winner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southwestern, PA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food-lots of it and entertained be the chef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The triple combo and fried rice was so tasty. I could eat the mushrooms, shrimp and fried rice and be totally happy. So much food-will enjoy left overs tomorrow.
My only complaint is the sound. It is way to noisy-bad acoustics along with the waitress slamming used dishes takes away from an expensive ding experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sushi not all that great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

First time trying Robokyo. We went for Sushi. We usually go to another Asian Resturant down by Giant Eagle. So this is what I have to compare to in Greensburg....not impressed. Shrimp Tempura Sushi Roll was cold and the rest was just plain and boring. The cucumber roll was terrible!!! Had one piece and ended up not eating any of it! Can't comment on their hibachi experience....because we did not try that. We will not be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We had a surprise birthday dinner party at Robokyo and the staff was very accommodating and didn't miss a beat even though there was 24 of us! Food was good and the portion size was average. The tuna tataki was superb and I really enjoyed my filet and lobster tail. We usually go there for special occasions and will keep going back. The bar is a good hang out as well!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
latrobe
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“It's a Japanese grill hot table with a showy mexican looking food flipper”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

If you've been to a place where the knife banging and clanging are the attraction then you've been here before. The food is OK and the price is average for this kind of restaurant Nothing out of it's category.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robokyo also viewed

 

Been to Robokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robokyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.