We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous beer selection and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Headkeeper

The Headkeeper
618 S Main St, Greensburg, PA 15601-4078
724-838-7439
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 160 Restaurants in Greensburg
Cuisines: Brew Pub, Bar, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous beer selection and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

It can get a little pricey if you are ordering a lot of different plates. We each ordered the fillet and our kids got the Ahi Tuna and blackened Mahi. I also ordered the grilled cauliflower and was glad to see it back on the menu - it is enough to share! We all agreed the mahi was the best so we got another one to split. The fillets were not "to die for" as I remembered them; mine was overcooked but it was still a nice piece of meat.

This was a Birthday celebration and it was very relaxed and fun. We were lucky to get a great evening to sit outside - it made it seem like we were on vacation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    25
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Not a bad place to go out for a few drinks and some uppity food. This place can be expensive as the beers are from around the world. Since it is a little pricey.. It keeps the rif raf from out of the bar. You can enjoy an evening out without worry of annoying sloppy drunks. This place is too classy for that. Great service and great patrons.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal;PA
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great Tapas restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Fun food to share. Great selection of tapas, good drinks and a fun place to eat. Good to go when you want to have fun sharing a variety of food with friends.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We are regulars here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great menu and atmosphere! They have an extensive, creative tapas menu along with a wall of coolers housing a variety of bottled beer. There is also a very large outdoor seating area and the menu is reasonably priced.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Gem in Greensburg, PA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have been going to the Headkeeper since it opened. Even when the outside seating area was still a parking lot. My buddy and I went there because of the enormous beer selection. My wife and I went there because at the time (and still today) there is no place quite like it nearby. Greensburg has developed some great restaurants from high end all the way to neighborhood bars and the Headkeeper fills a unique and trendy niche. The tapas (small plates) are competively priced, different from "bar" food, and quite good. The place seems to have become the "hip" spot in town even though someone as old as I wont feel out of place. One final word, Michael, the manager, is the best. I cant say enough about him, He is always smiling, unfailingly polite, genuine, and incredibly helpful. If in town make sure you stop in. You will not regret it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Headkeeper also viewed

 

Been to The Headkeeper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Headkeeper, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.