We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shakedown BBQ

Shakedown BBQ
668 firehouse ln, Grantville, PA 17028
717-469-4167
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Grantville
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Gatineau, Quebec
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“First time in area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

This place was found on advisor. The food was very good, large portions. The food is a little creasy so be careful not to eat too much or you may know about it, you will feel it.
Excellent service. The place is very small, 4 tables for 4. You need to order at the counter and sit inside if room or outside on patio.
Enjoy

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West New York, NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

What can I say? We love BBQ so after reading the reviews we knew we couldn't go wrong with this place. All the kind words past reviewers left were true... and thank goodness I read the reviews because our GPS did not take us to the correct location (So we quite literally followed the smoke). It's in the middle of nowhere, seemed to be the only crowded spot around. There was no parking left in their huge lot (yes it was that busy). Took us over an hour to get our food (and that was after standing in line to order it). But you know what? It was worth it. We sat outside because we were with our son and wanted to avoid the loud music (and all the seemingly drunk people around us).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Our first visit won't be our last - food was unbelievably delicious! I ordered the pulled pork sandwich which was on a huge roll & piled up with meat. It was perfectly smoked, tender & juicy. My husband had the brisket which was perfectly cooked. We ordered a small order of French fries (seasoned), which was more than enough for 2 people. We wanted to try the smoky fresh cut corn chowder so we ordered it to go. It was probably the best corn chowder we ever had - full of corn, potatoes, carrots, celery, bacon & sausage. Our only complaint was that we did not appreciate the music which was too loud.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
293 reviews 293 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Well worth getting off the Interstate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

As my wife and I were traveling east, we were looking for a spot for lunch. As we both refuse to dine at fast-food places along the highway, she spotted this on TA and we decided to seek it out. Only about 5 minutes off the interstate, Shakedown is in a small building with abundant parking, with a few indoor and outdoor tables. The weather was nice, so we sat outside.

Since we were just passing through, we ordered the 3-meat/2-sides sampler plate. We opted for brisket, chicken and pulled pork along with the cole slaw and creamed corn. The staff recommended the corn, and they were right. All the meats were delicious, smoky and moist.

If you love BBQ, definitely seek this spot out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Casual and great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Awesome casual place for lunch or dinner. We had great ribs, brisket and pulled pork and very good baked beans. I loved the spicy sauce but one person at our table thought it was too hot. The hot sausage was very hot. We dined outside on picnic table where the people were very friendly. Be sure to BYO if you must.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shakedown BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Shakedown BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shakedown BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.