We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has not improved” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Station Road, I-81 at exit 80, Grantville, PA 17028   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Grantville
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Has not improved”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed here two years ago (2008) for an overnight at Hershey Park and again this year. I should have come back and read my own 2008 review first! The place has not improved much. On one hand, I didn't find it to be as dirty, on the other hand, there were two big issues: 1) our room this time was on the I-81 side of the building. Even with the a/c fan running all night for some white noise, it was a sleepless night due to the highway noise; 2) the breakfast was lousy. The "pancakes" turned out to be scrambled egg patties and I don't how they prepared the bacon, but - I'm sorry - it looked like bacon treat strips that you feed to dogs. The "orange juice" seemed to be Tang. The coffee was good. We had stayed in Comfort Suites in Chesapeake, VA earlier in the summer and it was great, so we had high hopes for this location. Unfortunately, they are very different. I would not recommend this location, but if you must stay here, make sure to book a room on the side opposite the interstate.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmpa295, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay in Comfort Suites. We understand that you had difficulties during your stay with us but we hope that this does not hinder you from coming back as we have been improving our facilities and amenities in order to serve guests better. We are considering everything you wrote as suggestions on making our service better and rest assured that we will keep them in mind as we implement changes to improve what we offer and make your next stay with us an enjoyable experience. We will be more than delighted should you wish to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    50
    34
    33
    50
See reviews for
93
47
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

We recently had a family reunion at the facility and all had a great time there. The facility is well kept and the suites were good sized and did have all the amenities that traveling families require [micro wave, refrigerator, ions, hair dryers, exercise room, indoor pool, etc]. The entire staff [from the front counter to the service staff] was extremely pleasant and went out of their way to make our stay and the reunion enjoyable.
Breakfast was also included in the cost of the rooms and while not fancy offered a good selection which included eggs, meat, waffles, breads, sticky buns, cereals, fruit, yogurt, etc.
The facility is close to Hershey Park, Outlet Malls and a casino. Although there is no resturant in the facility there are resturants near by which are reasonable in cost.
I know we will be staying there again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

So sorry I didn't check this website before booking. AAA will be hearing from me for giving this dump a 3 diamond rating. So dirty I won't even bring my bags in the house. Everything needs to be replaced. We were so grossed out we cut our trip short. I'm not sure what kind of bug it was, but something was on the mattress. NEVER AGAIN!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quantico, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

The hotel is located conveniently near Hershey Park, but that means that it is fully of families with children of all ages that come and go all throughout the night. We also were there because we were visiting Hershey Park, so the noise really didn't bother us. If we were staying for any other reason, it may bother me. The beds were comfortable, but the sofa was stained and dirty, and there was no linen for it. There was mold in the shower. The breakfast area is tiny and there was a line of people throughout the entire time breakfast was being served. There was little choice, and the food was not bad, but it wasn't really that great either. There was no room to sit, so we always had to get some food and go back up to the room. There wasn't anywhere to eat close by, so we had to drive to get food. The room wan't bad, but I won't stay again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We checked into the hotel to find that our bathroom ceiling had a gaping hole in it, with some pipework wrapped in toweling. Yuck! But as the hotel was full, there was no where to move.

We proceeded to the pool area that was filthy, with stains on the pool floor, sand in the pool, and stained walls/floor of the hot tub.

That night, the din from the highway kept us awake. My husband later overheard a desk clerk talking about how a family staying for several days didn't 'deserve' that side of the hotel. Apparently we did!

Seriously, stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glens Falls, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

This place is filthy from top to bottom. A strong mildew smell wafts throughout the hallways, my 9 yearold was in the room 1 minute and said it smells like a dog in here(and it did). The floors , the elevators, the lobby and the rooms are just plain dirty. Breakfast was very poor I only dared to have coffee, there were as many flies as there were people in the breakfast room. Comfort Suites should not be associated with this place. We stayed at a Comfort Suites in Geensboro the night before and it was great. Do yourself a favor and never stay here.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Stayed at this Hotel after hearing mixed reviews. The room: I found bottle caps under the Sofa bed, light over sink flickered and the hair dryer didn't work. Went to the front desk to let them know, the guy gave me a hair dryer to plug in to the wall and they never came to fix either problem. The room could be a lot cleaner but was not to bad. Pool needs to be shut down and have a make over. Really bad odor in the hall ways but luckily the smell was not in the room. Not sure if the staff knows what they are doing, they dont seem like the brightest people in PA.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 450 Station Road, I-81 at exit 80, Grantville, PA 17028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Grantville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Grantville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT this beautiful 96 Suite property is conveniently located off of Interstate 81 at Exit 80 just minutes from Hollywood Casino and Hersheypark. Guests of our hotel enjoy a Complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet, heated Indoor Chemical Free Salt Water Pool,Business Center, Fitness Center and Game Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Grantville
Grantville Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Grantville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.