We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for one night on the road” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Station Road, I-81 at exit 80, Grantville, PA 17028   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Grantville
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice for one night on the road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We travel from Canada to Fort Lauderdale last april. We stop here for the night. The room are spacious and well decorated. The only thing, one furniture was not really clean. I realise by looking at the pictures for this hotel that my room was not an exception ! Bed where confortable and breakfast ok. We enjoy the heated pool after an 11 hours drive. I would recommand for shure but if the manager read the review, please change some furniture !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for writing this review. We are glad that you had a great experience during your stay here at Comfort Suites. This feedback is really helpful for us to further improve our services. Rest assured that your suggestion will be discussed on our regular meeting. We are looking forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    41
    31
    25
    46
See reviews for
81
40
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trexlertown
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed here for New Year's Eve with a group of 7 people since the hotel was close to the Hollywood Casino. The room was clean & the breakfast buffet was nice. However,using the hotel's whirlpool was more than just relaxing. One week after our stay,2 people from our group were taken to the hospital very sick. Both treated for lung infections & pneumonia & a week out of work. Thinking it was possibly due to the cold winter month of January, neither person contributed it to our hotel stay.

It wasn't until 3 weeks later when we received a letter from the PA Dept of Health stating that we had all been exposed to Legionella during our hotel stay. After reporting our cases to the DOH, both people had additional testing done, & found out they had Legionella. The DOH noted that the bacteria is present in warm/hot water, hence the whirlpool.

After several unanswered calls & messages to the hotel, I finally received someone who agreed to share our concerns with the manager. Finding a small sense in comfort that finally someone from the hotel was going to help address our concerns….another 2 weeks of phone tag & countless empty promises of resolution, no one from the hotel ever called back for a detailed phone conversation. Had a simple phone call been received from management willing just listen to our concerns, (not to mention all of the additional money & loss of work that our stay at this hotel caused), this review might not have been written.

I highly recommend that if you consider staying at this hotel in the future, you make your choice wisely. You might just end up with more than you bargained for.....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
This feedback really caught our attention. We didn’t expect this to happen and we always feel frustrated after knowing that you had these issues during your stay. We would always want to provide our valued customers the services that they deserve. Rest assured that this will be on top our list during our management meeting. We will aim to provide you accommodations and services more than what you pay for. Despite this incident, we still look forward on your next stay in the future. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayre
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Nice basic hotel near Hershey. Kid friendly with a nice indoor pool and breakfast buffet in the morning. The breakfast was fine, but not spectacular. My husband was not impressed with the small gym. The room was good with a little extra room and couch since they are "suites". If you are going to Hershey, this area is nice to stay at. It is very close - only a 10 minute drive or less. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor which was convenient to the pool and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for making this wonderful review. This will surely serve as a motivation for us to maintain our services and further improve what you have mentioned. We assure you that this will be discussed during our regular meetings. We do hope that you still choose Comfort Suites on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed here for New Years Eve. They offer a good breakfast buffet. They have a small indoor pool and gym. The room was clean, the bed was OK, sofa was worn. We had a Jacuzzi in our room, very enjoyable for a reasonable rate. We heard the loud noise of water running from the upstairs units in the hotel but fortunately it didn't disturb our sleep. We liked it here and would come back. The Holiday Inn next to this place has a nice cowboy bar/lounge that had very good food. We did get a letter from PA Board of Health that this place had Legionellosis issues but we didn't get sick.

Room Tip: The outdoor smoking area was at west end of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your experience. It’s so nice to hear about our guests enjoying our breakfast buffet and facilities. We take great pride in our Hotel and are so pleased to hear about their positive experiences. Thank you for your business and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We had stayed here a few times before when we wanted to go to the nearby Hollywood Casino, and found this hotel typical of Comfort Suites. We were returning home from a Christmas trip to Florida and ended up spending New Years Eve in Grantville at the casino, staying at the Comfort Suites in a whirlpool room. A pleasant stay, with no particular complaints (except one of the elevators seems to be perpetually broken... it was broken during previous visits as well).

Anyway, fast forward now to mid-February. Today I get a certified letter from the Bergen County (NJ) Department of Health informing my wife and I that we had been exposed to Legionnaires Disease as a result of this most recent stay at this Comfort Suites, and (assuming that we were still alive after six weeks) that we may want to seek medical attention if we experienced any of the symptoms (which show up within two weeks). Fortunately, we did not seem to be infected, but that's a pretty spooky letter to get so long after the fact. I would have expected that the hotel chain would have got after notifying their guests directly, sooner than waiting for the public health officials to do the leg work for them... so long after the fact to be pretty much pointless.

I suppose we're spooked enough that we'd really hesitate to stay here again...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
First and foremost I would like to thank you for being such a valued guest to our Hotel and for returning on many occasions. Additionally, we appreciate you sharing with other guests regarding the experience that you had after visiting us. Thank you also for confirming that you did not suffer from any health concerns after your stay. We take the wellbeing of our guests extremely seriously and want to assure you that we addressed that issue promptly from the point that we were notified. Rest assured that upon your next visit to our Hotel you will find the pleasant stay you are accustomed to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poquoson, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Stayed at the Comfort Inn for three nights. We were pleasantly surprised. It was staff friendly, even although they could not accomodate us with our King size non smoking room, we had two double beds and a sitting area. It was clean and cozy and we would definately visit again. The breakfast was a nice touch too!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing Comfort Suites. We definitely appreciate this positive comment and some issues will already be looked into the soonest time possible. We want our clients to enjoy during their stay, that is why we are doing our best to give them high quality service. We will be more than willing to serve you again in the future. Thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We are frequent guests of this hotel and choice elite gold. This particular hotel is close to the casino for late night travelers. Check in was a breeze and they noticed our elite status by posting my husbands name. Such a nice touch. The hotel was not full as it was a Sun. night. We checked in late after a family gathering and asked the front desk young man for an upper floor mountain side. We did get an upper floor, however he claimed there were no rooms on the mountain side. Wrong. The whole floor was vacant. We lost a few hrs sleep with the noise from the Tractor Trailers zipping by on I-81. When we checked out there were 2 female desk clerks. When asked about our stay, I told them about the noise and the request I made. They said, oh maybe there were no king beds on mountain side. We were not asked by the young gentleman clerk if we had a preference. We plan on returning in about 2 weeks and we were told even though we book our room on line, that we should call ahead to ask for a mountainside room and they would see what they could do for us. That was nice, however we are not sure who we will get when we call back to the hotel. The rooms look like the carpeting was replaced and some laminate flooring in the elevators and entry way in the rooms. We invited guests to our room and I was embarrassed to have them sit on the couch. The sofa was full of stains. Others have mentioned it also in their reviews, however nothing has been done about it. The breakfast room was empty, as there were not many guests on Sun night. There was plenty of food and choices. We enjoyed the breakfast. We like the convenience of this hotel and the price, however the noise is a factor when you want to get rest.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor mountain side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary S, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
As much as we would like to thank you for always choosing to stay at our hotel, we would like to apologize for the noise coming from Tractor Trailers which hindered you from getting a good night’s sleep. We are very sorry if this had caused you some problems. On the other hand, we would like to inform you that this issue was already taken cared of and was already resolved. Also, your concern about the stains on our couch will also be addressed immediately. We are glad to know that you liked the different varieties of foods that we serve for breakfast. We value your honesty and we do hope that you will continue to choose Comfort Suites for your future visits. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 450 Station Road, I-81 at exit 80, Grantville, PA 17028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Grantville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 hotels in Grantville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated 96 Suite Property conveniently located off of Interstate 81 in Grantville, Pa. Complimentary Breakfast Buffet. Heated Indoor Chemical Free Salt Water Pool. Business Center Fitness Center, Game Room. Located just one mile for the Legendary Hlyywood Casino and just 6 miles for Hershey Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Grantville
Grantville Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Grantville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.