We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tight slots” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Casino at Penn National Race Course

Hollywood Casino at Penn National Race Course
777 Hollywood Blvd, Grantville, PA 17028
1-877-682-4791
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Tight slots”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Tight machines, food is somewhat cardboard like - never ate in Steakhouse but i've heard good things about it. I actually stopped playing here because they took out the single player roulette for the multi-player roulette machine, and that one seems to be not randomized enough. How many times have you played roulette to see Red come up 20 times in a row? Come on.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    82
    73
    30
    33
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
State College, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very Good Local Casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Not bad for a Central Pennsylvania Casino. I grew up going to Atlantic City and go there a lot. Also have been to Vegas a few times so I am pretty knowledgeable about casinos.
First, be wary of the slots, as usual with any casino. You have to find the right ones, (the ones that pay out). Once you find them, you are good playing those same machines for months at a time and still breaking even or coming out a little ahead. Do not try to break the casino playing slots. Not going to happen. Why else would they be so successful. Plenty of table game action to go along with the slots. Good variety and low buy in make it a good time.
Also go to Hollywood on the Roof. Good music, good drinks so definitely a good time.
The Epic buffet is mediocre. We have been there a couple of times and it is nothing special for the price. Poker room is also always hustling. Good cash games, small and larger tourneys.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driggs, Idaho
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Penny Slot Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Your average casino. If you are into penny slots this is the place to go. About 80% of the place is penny slots.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feeding Hills, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“surprise find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

on the way to chocolate world we saw the sign for the casino. spent a couple hours. had a good time. wish we could have stayed longer. 2 hour drive to our hotel so we couldn't

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, pa.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“2nd. review-1st. was 4 stars this is 2 stars-Food is terrible and has gotten worse”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I go to Hollywood casino often , more than i should. My 1st. review was almost perfect. Now, mainly because of the food at the buffet i have lowered it to 2 stars. The last 6 times at the buffet, food very dried out, veg's are cooked beyond belief, meat can't be chewed, the menu never changes, i can't complain about the service, the waitress is always right there. But this buffet is the pits. I really hope someone reads this and makes some changes. Lately, and it was not busy, the place has been dirty. This was one reason i liked to go there, they were always cleaning, now ashes all over the slot machines, dirty cups, bathrooms dirty. Looks like they cut back on their cleaning crew. Com mon Hollywood, its bad enuf losing, but at least make it enjoyable to sit down to eat.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Casino at Penn National Race Course also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Casino at Penn National Race Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Casino at Penn National Race Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.