We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the old Penn National!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Casino at Penn National Race Course

Hollywood Casino at Penn National Race Course
777 Hollywood Blvd, Grantville, PA 17028
1-877-682-4791
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
ocean city md
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not the old Penn National!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I remember the old Penn National race course, and what is there now is nothing like the old place. Hollywood makes for a great night to catch a few horse races and get a little action in the casino. They have some very entertaining bands in the bar area on the weekends. I was there on a busy Friday night and I noticed that the lines for the cage and the rewards club were very long. The dealers that I interacted with were all very friendly and helpful. There are no free drinks for players (unless you are a 2nd tier rewards member). One annoying thing was that they carded us so frequently. I was wearing a wristband from the door and still had to show my ID to everyone- security, bartender, dealers and cashier. If you don’t have white hair, have your license ready at all times! It's worth checking out. Good Luck!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    82
    73
    30
    33
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Snazzy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

It was very beautiful from the moment you pulled up on it. Has a very large variety of slots to choose from. The waitresses circulate around pretty often.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochranton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Husband and I both did quite well-played for 5 hours on $40!!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Slots a Plenty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

It's always nice to stop by and play the slots for awhile. It would be nice to win. The slots are very tight. They keep up with the newer slot machines.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Went to the casino New years eve- it was very croweded so I didnt get to look around a whole lot - but what I saw I liked. Loved the set up and decor; the stage where the bands play is awesome (maybe a little different set up to allow for more tables and seating at the bar) Overall looks like a great place, My husband gambled a little and didnt win and the general concensus that evening was that the machines were not paying out. But again- it was New Years Eve,

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollywood Casino at Penn National Race Course also viewed

 

Been to Hollywood Casino at Penn National Race Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollywood Casino at Penn National Race Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.