We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no frills but sufficient for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Grantville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Grantville to your Saves list
Days Inn Grantville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   252 Bow Creek Rd, Grantville, PA 17028   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grantville
new jersey
1 review
“no frills but sufficient for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

I booked the room for an overnight stay at Hershey. Its is about 10-15 minutes from the park and its a very easy drive. It needs some cosmetic repairs. The bathroom was the worst. There was mold on the wall and baseboard by the corner of the tub that needed to be delt with a long time ago. I got a room that was next to the stairs and was very annoyed at 6am when the family above us began running back and forth in the room and dragging their luggage down the stairs and allowing their 6 children to use it as a fun house. Overall i would not stay there again for an extended stay but for an overnight trip to Hershey at $84.00 for a Saturday night i am pleased.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    94
    75
    36
    18
See reviews for
112
77
15
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
USa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Just came back from that area. Did a lot of research on that area and thought this is a good one but very upset. it is a motel style stay and we got stuck in nowhere because other than lobby, we went nowhere. The motel is in the farmlands and the closest place to eat is 5 mi away (although there is a restaurant nearby).

Although we only need a simple place place to sleep on our way to lancaster, this one did not meet my expectation. The room is old and dusty. I am sorry that I left a bad review but I will avoid this one next time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2008

Had 2 rooms for one night. The rooms were very nice. Had refrigerator/micro. Heater unit was nice and quiet. Non-Smoking room and it did not have any odors. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Bathroom was VERY small although the tub had the curved shower rod which was great. Counter and sink were outside of the bathroom which was very convenient. Could hear some road noise from Interstate. Also could hear noise from nearby rooms...talking, shower noise, kids jumping on bed, etc. Not too fond of outside entrance but it wasn't too much of issue. Did not eat the Daybreak breakfast..it was raining when we left and we had to drive across the parking lot to get to the lobby. Didn't feel like getting everyone out for doughnuts so we went to a nearby restaurant. Crossroads Cafe is a great place to eat. Also ate at Fabio's--Italian restaurant near hotel.. Food was good..our service was a little slow but not a real issue. This hotel used to be Econo Lodge...stayed there one time and it was horrible. The changeover to Days Inn has made great improvements.

  • Liked — Clean rooms
  • Disliked — Outside entrance to rooms-No elevator
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

This renovated Days Inn is the former EconoLodge and much improved from that facility. Generally, our weekend stay was good with only a few glitches. First: the original room we were given turned out to be either already occupied (a "do not disturb" sign was in the door) or not made up for new occupants yet. The desk clerk gave us a choice of either waiting till the room was made ready or staying in a smoking room. Because of time constraints we chose the latter. There was a faint odor of smoke in the room, but nothing we were particularly bothered by. However, the key card did not open this second room and I had to return to the office to have it rekeyed. (I only mention this because we were in the farthest building and the rain was pouring down. I was at least smart enough to drive this time.) The following day when we returned to our room the key card again did not work, necessitating another trip to the office for rekeying. Final glitch came when the room lacked tissue and coffee cups on the second night. I easily found a housekeeper who readily provided the items we needed. On the positive side of our stay, all of the office staff were friendly and most helpful. They were quite apologetic about the check-in and key card problems. Breakfasts were basic, but good. Given the high prices of accomodations in Hershey, this Days Inn is a facility we will probably use in the future.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Correct room not being available
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

These folks are lifesavers. My sister and I were in Hershey for a grooming expo and had made the unfortunate mistake of booking a room at the Red Carpet Inn, Hershey. The place was a pig sty. It was dirty and broken down. There was no place to stay in Hershey for under $400 a night. We called Days Inn, Hershey who also had no rooms, but we remembered having seen this one right off of I-81. Hershey Days Inn gave us the phone number and we called.
The girl we spoke to was so nice. She said that she had one room left & that she’d hold it for us for a bit. We checked out and got a refund from the Red Carpet Inn and drove the couple miles back towards Grantville. Being on Rt 743 right off I-81 it was an easy drive to and from Hershey.
The hotel staff was wonderful, they were so happy to see us and answered all questions we had. They knew we were upset about the other place and listened to us politely, without judgment and without badmouthing the other place. They directed us to a little Italian restaurant down the street where we could get a bottle of wine and something to eat.
We were so happy to have a nice smelling, clean room! We had a blow dryer and an ironing board. They had good soap. They provided a very simple but adequate continental breakfast. It was perfect. If you read my review about Red Carpet Inn, Hershey, you’ll understand why every little thing, right down to the soap, meant so much to us.
We felt so comfortable here, that while we were relaxing with our wine and cigarettes, we left the front door wide open so we didn’t smoke ourselves out. We’re both smokers, but since neither one of us smokes in our own houses, we don’t usually request smoking rooms. While our door was open, we chatted and laughed with one of our neighbors. We felt right at home. It was wonderful!
This place took in two girls with no safe place to stay and went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and welcome. They were so warm and inviting that from now on we will look for Days Inn wherever we stay. Kudos to the best affordable accommodations around.

  • Liked — The hotel staff is wonderful
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys, GA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

We were walk in guests. We had been searching for a hotel for miles off the interstate and all hotels were charging over $200.00 a night even if they were a dump because of the PA 500 car race. We were about to give up when we spotted this Days Inn and were quoted $89.00 for a room rate...we were thrilled and took it. No pool but the room was very clean and nice. They have wireless internet. The front desk staff was excellent and very helpful. We asked about a good restaurant and they certainly sent us in the right direction to a wonderful Italian place just down the road. We had plenty to eat and brought back enough leftovers to heat of dinner the next night! We did not stay for the free breakfast as we wanted to head to Amish Country and get or breakfast from an Amish kitchen. Would recommend this motel for a quick stop over...the Holiday Inn Express was charging over $200.00 for a room and I am sure it was not any better room than what we got at the Days Inn...All hotels in the area were certainly taking advantage of the "race day crowd" and "jacking" the price up on their rooms...except the Days Inn.

  • Liked — great front desk staff, clean room, location to interstate
  • Disliked — no pool
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Grantville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Grantville

Address: 252 Bow Creek Rd, Grantville, PA 17028
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Grantville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Grantville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Grantville 2*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wyndham, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Grantville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Grantville Hotel Grantville
Grantville Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Grantville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.