We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great first B & B experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of After Eight Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added After Eight Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
After Eight Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2942 Lincoln Hwy East, Gordonville, PA 17529   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Gordonville B&B and Inns
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great first B & B experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

. This was the first B & B my wife and I had ever stayed at. Our stay at After Eight was a great first experience. Our room was very nice and the breakfasts were great. The flowers were blooming and we had a great evening playing Yahtzee in the gazebo with friends. Robert had some very funny stories and was a great host. If we make it back to PA Dutch Country, we will book again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    19
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
137
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

My husband found this place on the internet. He wanted us to stop in the Amish country on our way home from Carrboro, NC to Rome, PA. It is a gorgeous place--a real treat for the eyes. Guy used the Jacuzzi, which may have helped with his cold. There was only one other guest at the time whom we didn't meet until our delicious breakfast. She was equally impressed, having come from her home near the Equator to attend her son' s graduation from Syracuse. The only drawback is the location--right on the heavily travelled Lincoln Highway. Despite that, we got a good night's rest.

Room Tip: Not having to climb stairs is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Beautiful facility. My sisters and I were in the cottage and it was more than adequate, but I would definitely stay in the house next time. The rooms are beautifully appointed and just invite you to stay in them.

Breakfast was good--we definitely did not go away hungry. You can always get a cup of coffee, tea, or hot chocolate. Water, soda, snacks available at all times. (Fresh baked cookies!!!!) Robert is very knowledgeable about the area and goes out of his way to make sure you are armed with maps and brochures.

This B&B is a great place to call home base while exploring beautiful Lancaster, PA.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hardyville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We started staying at After eight. Bed and breakfast in 2010. We love going to Lancaster pa. And would not consider staying anywhere else. The service is perfect as are the breakfast, Robert is a great host helping in any way he can. My son has celiac disease and Robert has never insinuated that it is a problem fixing him special meals.Thanks Robert for another great stay.

Room Tip: For couples the porch room. For family cottage east
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greencastle, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

I find that staying at B&B's is more comfortable and welcoming than any hotel. This was a great choice, even if we only stayed one night. Robert, the host, was awesome and boy can he whip up a wonderful breakfast - Breakfast pizza, fresh baked scones, with homemade whipped cream and fresh fruit! Our room was a nice size and nicely appointed. Robert was very informed about all the places to eat and where to park while attending the American Music Theatre. Thanks to his bit of information we were out of the theatre and back to the B&B in minutes, relaxing and enjoying a beer while working on the jigsaw puzzle.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My husband and I consider ourselves B&B enthusiasts. We have been to over 15 different bed and breakfasts - many we have stayed at multiple times. For our 10th anniversary (as a couple), we decided to spend the weekend near Lancaster, PA. After doing research, I decided that After Eight B&B would be a good fit for us. Overall, I would highly recommend staying at After Eight B&B.

Favorable Points:
+ Clean, comfortable accommodations
+ Quality body wash, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, make-up remover, mouthwash, feminine product disposal bags, and shower cap provided
+Free, reliable Wi-fi with public computer available
+ A very delicious, homemade breakfast
+ Helpful, kind, entertaining host who can easily help with suggestions and town information
+ Free snacks and drinks available along with cups, glasses, and popcorn bowls to use.
+ A public, mini fridge to store food in (equipped with labeling material)
+ A good selection of board games, puzzles, and DVDs
+ Outdoor sitting area the backs to a farm
+ In a location close to many attractions in the area
+Easy access, available parking
+Many rooms with private entrances
+In-suite phone with numbers to access the innkeeper
+Deluxe Suite - In bathroom blow-dryer, large tub, and separate shower
+Deluxe Suite - two TVs (sitting area and in bedroom)
+Deluxe Suite - separate sitting area and dresser/desk to set up a laptop
+Deluxe Suite - dark curtains to block sun (if needed) and backs to the farm
+Deluxe Suite - a small closet and drawer space provided

Unfavorable:
- The B&B is off a highway that can be somewhat loud and difficult to turn left onto
- The alarm clock already present in our room was previously set woke us up too early (I would encourage you and the innkeeper to check it to see if it needs to be disabled).
- Deluxe Suite - Both TVs are small. Only the one in the sitting area has cable. The one in the bedroom is above the closet to the side of the bed.
- Deluxe Suite - While it is considered a "two-person tub", two normal-sized people cannot comfortably sit in it at the same time due to the design of the tub. A large portion inside of the tub is elevated above water level.
Personal Preferences
- Deluxe Suite - There was a lack of counter space in the bathroom for "primping materials" (makeup, straightener, etc.) BUT there was space on top of a mirrored dresser close the bathroom
-No full length mirror
-Bathroom was nice but outdated (I knew this, however, looking at the pictures)
-Room doors lock automatically so you risk locking yourself out if you forget your keys. This can be a positive or negative thing based on what you prefer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was our first time staying at After Eight Bed and Breakfast for the weekend. The house is very warm and cozy, Robert the host and innkeeper was very helpful and always on call. For a quick getaway After Eight is the place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to After Eight Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about After Eight Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2942 Lincoln Hwy East, Gordonville, PA 17529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Gordonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gordonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — After Eight Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, elegant and tastefully decorated, circa 1809 colonial brick home, excellently located in Lancaster County Pennsylvania Amish farm region, minutes away from many Amish attractions and other points of interest. Rooms are filled with antiques and have private baths. Enjoy our gardens, fountains and gazebo all year long. Two cottages with two bedrooms and a kitchen are also on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your After Eight Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage After Eight Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.