We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of After Eight Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added After Eight Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
After Eight Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2942 Lincoln Hwy East, Gordonville, PA 17529   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Gordonville B&B and Inns
Castine, ME
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We have stayed many times at this Bed and Breakfast. We have always enjoyed our stay. Robert is an excellent host! The rooms are comfortable and immaculate; the breakfasts are always delicious; and Robert is always willing and able to recommend places to visit or eat and give directions. We have been to other B&Bs, but Robert has spoiled us (his B&B is our favorite)!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    19
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
137
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have been to After Eight several times, both spring, fall, and winter. It is always like going home. Robert is the perfect host making everyone feel comfortable. His recommendations and directions are always spot on.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the fields are quieter. The highway can be very loud all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Our favorite place to weekend. Robert is a great host. Breakfast is always delicious. We have stayed in four different rooms and have loved everyone. Robert recommends great restaurants and great new places to explore. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethpage, New York
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My wife and , along with another couple, just returned from a four night stay (our 11th.) at the After Eight Bed and Breakfast in Gordonville (Paradise) PA. We keep going back because staying at the After Eight is always such an enjoyable experience. Robert Hall, the innkeeper, is ALWAYS mindful of his guests' needs and comfort. The breakfasts are great and plentiful.
I have recommended this B&B to friends in the past and will continue to do so in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I have absolutely nothing negative to say about this Bed and Breakfast. It's a lovely place and Robert is an excellent host. The breakfasts were outstanding and we enjoyed our morning conversations. This review is for the purpose of adding a little more information for those who might have concerns over the accessibility of the residence and accommodations for the handicapped. We stayed for 5 nights in one of the cottages which is a short walk from the main house where breakfast is served. One is required to go up a couple of steps to enter the house and also be able to negotiate a rather steep sidewalk that joins the house with the cottages (the 2 cottages are joined like a duplex). The cottages are very comfortable and private however, the bathroom floors are elevated and accessible only by stepping up into them. Otherwise, the duplex is all one level and there are no steps required to come and go by way of the front doors - only the steep walkway. There are also back doors to the cottages but they are accessible by way of a flight of steps. If you are not confined to a wheelchair and can handle a few steps, I highly recommend staying here. The "After Eight" has a very welcoming and comfortable atmosphere and Robert can provide you with any information or recommendations (and coupons!) for things to do in the area. The only thing I can think of that might be a problem for some is the location. The main house sits on a busy highway and there is some traffic noise but we could barely hear it from the duplex which sits further back from the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Windsor, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

This was my 4th time to After Eight in 6 years. Each time was better than before. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the room was decorated beautifully. Rob again made fabulous meals ( as usual) as well as recomending a great dinner spot ( "The Old Ironside Inn"). We will definitely be back in the spring.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Beautiful bed & Breakfast with a very caring innkeeper who makes extremely delicious food. Would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone coming to the Lancaster area. Great food, good fun, overall a very relaxing experience with something for everyone. Centrally located to many attractions. Innkeeper is very knowledgeable of surrounding areas and helpful in finding the right place to go.

Room Tip: Take a look at the website, any room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to After Eight Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about After Eight Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2942 Lincoln Hwy East, Gordonville, PA 17529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Gordonville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Gordonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — After Eight Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, elegant and tastefully decorated, circa 1809 colonial brick home, excellently located in Lancaster County Pennsylvania Amish farm region, minutes away from many Amish attractions and other points of interest. Rooms are filled with antiques and have private baths. Enjoy our gardens, fountains and gazebo all year long. Two cottages with two bedrooms and a kitchen are also on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your After Eight Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage After Eight Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.