We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THIS PLACE!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby's Diner

Ruby's Diner
919 Baltimore Pike, Glen Mills, PA 19342-1016
610-358-1983
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 57 Restaurants in Glen Mills
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Ashland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS PLACE!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Every time I've eaten here I've gotten great food. And the prices are great too! If in doubt, the cheeseburgers are wonderful, and definitely be sure to add a milkshake at the end. You actually really get two milkshakes for the price of one! =)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    25
    17
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very commercial/chain facility”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

They do everything right - but no surprises or anything special.
Good basic food and service. Good breakfast meeting site right on Rt. 1 and close to 202 or 322 intersection.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had an early lunch here last week. Seated quickly, diner is very clean. Received drinks quickly, food cooked well. Would recommend and return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, New Jersey
Top Contributor
372 reviews 372 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 187 cities Reviews in 187 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“It's 1950 All Over Again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This place looks like it belongs in Disneyland. We stopped for breakfast on our way to Longwood Garden. Totally decorated in red, white and chrome, it looked so clean. The waitress was beautiful and well trained and appropriately dressed in a 50's uniform. Food (waffle and eggs and hash) was just average.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This Diner's taken a Dive”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Simply stated, Ruby's Diner is Johnny Rockets gone bad. This was my first and will be my last time here. First glances have you thinking as you drive by that it is someway related to Ruby Tuesdays. Nothing could be farther from the truth. 50's kitsch, with red plastic upholstery and art-deco theme, candy-stripe uniforms for the waitresses complete with doily coronets in their hair is cute, as is the model train that circles on a track suspended from the ceiling....for about 30 seconds, and then it is just annoying. The waitresses are visibly uncomfortable in their uniforms; an updated change to candy striped polo shirts and nice khaki pants (or maybe a clean white apron) would be a start in the right direction. The food was worse. The $8.59 hamburger I ordered was the frozen tasteless kind, and the cold french fries looked and tasted like something left over from McDonalds. My partner had the albacore tuna melt, (again about $8.50, a diner classic. This one may have been left over from opening day. Again it was tasteless, and on soggy industrial sourdough. That too, was cold (the cheese somehow was melted); tomato and rye bread was nowhere to be seen. So much for classics. Although Ruby's does offer a large selection of shakes and fountain drinks, there was nothing special to that either. If you want to reminisce, I suggest you put on some 45's, grab a blender at home, and making yourself a milkshake to go with the burger on the grill. You will be able to do it for less than half the cost of this fiasco and you'll enjoy it much, much more. Ruby's won't be around for long if they keep this up.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Ruby's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.