We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well managed property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   40 State Farm Drive, Glen Mills, PA 19342   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glen Mills
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Well managed property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights while visiting relatives in the West Chester, PA area. I agree with the recent reviews that this Hampton Inn is more upscale than many in the chain. It is quiet and very clean. The hotel staff are friendly and handled check-in quickly and efficiently. We stayed in a king mini-suite and it had a mini-bar area with a comfortable sofa nearby.

My only critique is the comfort of the bed which we found to be a bit too firm for our liking.

There are a number of restaurants in the area including a Texas steakhouse and Chik-fil-A in the adjacent parking lot. Across the highway is a mini-mall with several additional restaurant choices and a small movie theatre.

This would be my first choice of where to stay when we visit again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 200 which was a King mini-suite. It was conveniently located at the end of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiscford, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the King Studio Suite during your stay! With the wet bar area, seating area, and larger space it is a popular option with travelers, and we are proud to offer it. We hope you will chose to stay with us again in the future, and we welcome you to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    73
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
85
70
12
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
NY
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night over the Christmas weekend - had a good stay.

Positives (+) Check in desk staff were v friendly and helpful. the lobby decor/furniture looked spruced up/relatively new and in good shape -reminded me a bit of a Doubletree Hotel (dark brown tone). We enjoyed the beverage area and its wide tea selection. Room was clean. Bathroom had granite counters, had no bath tub- only shower. Clean pool and working jacuzzi. Good location near the Brandywine attractions - we visited Longwood Gardens on Christmas day (everything else is closed) which is about 7 min away. Restaurants are abundant in the neighborhood - we went to PF Changs which is very close. There's a Texas steakhouse in front of the property - also a chicken place (Chick-a-fils?) though we didn't go there. Target is also right there on Brandywine Pkwy - for any "oops, I forgot something" shopping needs.

Negatives (-) Not much to be concerned about. Had trouble with our room keys which had to be replaced twice as they wouldn't work or stop working(the desk staff were helpful in getting us new keys each time). Slight moldy smell in our room(I thought it smelled like mud and my husband said it smelled like mold).

The gym is small - no surprise as they are all usually pretty small - 2 treadmills, 1 elliptical, 1 bike, plenty of yoga mats and weights.

The breakfast was from 6am-10am so if you wake up a bit late, they first clean up the waffle station, so you may miss out on the waffles -which happened to one family when we were there (they didnt seem very happy). The selection is okay/sufficient, if you get there in time (fruits, cereal, yogurts, hot oatmeal, bread selection, waffle station, warm food station had mini cheese omelettes and slightly overcooked frenchtoast sticks, coffee/tea/juice station) - no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiscford, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Thank you for staying with us over the holidays, we do understand that some of the local attraction availability is a bit limited during this time. We are glad you enjoyed your guest room, our pool, and some local offerings. You are correct that the breakfast is cleaned up at 10am, and we do apologize if we had already disposed of something you were looking for! We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I stayed here on a weekend and found the hotel to be very clean and quiet. The design is very modern and the housekeeping staff obviously works very hard to keep the place this clean. Breakfast could be better - not many choices and one young lady running the breakfast area. She was trying to keep up with several college basketball teams staying at the hotel and other hotel guests. They had no black tea in the breakfast area - I asked and was told they had none in the hotel... that should not be the case (The manager should find a Costco). I would stay at this location again ... just make a mental note to pack some tea bags.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiscford, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and have already passed your kind words on to our Housekeeping staff! Thank you so much for recognizing their hard work! It was a very busy weekend, so I do apologize that the breakfast area was packed, we did our best as always. Thank you for bringing to our attention the black tea, we do feature Bigelow products and will try to keep a better inventory of all varieties on hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reisterstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We liked this hotel a lot. The Location was convenient for us visiting Longwood Gardens and Brandywine River Museum. Clean and quiet rooms, comfortable beds and pillows, very good lay out of the room and bathroom, Clean and enjoyable in door pool.
The only two unsatisfactory things we've noticed are not working Jacuzzi in the pool area and limited and not very yummy choices of breakfast (they had only eggs and potatoes but no meats as hot dishes). We had much better breakfasts at other Hamptons. Speaking about food we discovered a great restaurant nearby called Brandiwine Prime and had an outstanding dinner. They have Sunday Prix-fix menu for $29.99 and all the choices are wonderful and delicious. Over all the stay was nice and we'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiscford, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall! There are some wonderful local restaurants in our area, and we'll be sure to pass on your great review of Brandywine Prime to their owners. We apologize that the whirlpool was out of order for a few hours, but it has been repaired and is back up and running! We hope you'll be able to relax in it during your next stay in the Brandywine Valley. Our breakfast options do rotate to encourage variety, and we're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the options offered that particular day. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011 via mobile

Very happy to say that my stay last week was great. Clean, easy checkin, quiet rooms and great value overall. Nice option for this Phily suburb.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiscford, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel! We hope you'll chose to stay with us in the future as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh pa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Excellent week long stay for business. Can't say anything bad. Excellent breakfast, and resturants VERY nearby. Would highly recomend.

Room Tip: A steak house or chik filet within walking distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This Hampton Inn must be a newer hotel. Everything was very clean and well appointed. The room was large and the bed was very comfortable. It was also very quiet. Front desk staff were helpful and friendly. The fitness center was a little small, but the equipment was nice. There were a few restaurants and several shopping areas nearby. Overall, it was an excellent value. We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford

Address: 40 State Farm Drive, Glen Mills, PA 19342
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Glen Mills
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Glen Mills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Chadds Ford
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford Hotel Glen Mills
Hampton Inn Chadds Ford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.