We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pines Tavern & Restaurant

Pines Tavern & Restaurant
5018 Bakerstown Rd, Gibsonia, PA 15044-8963
724-625-3252
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 39 Restaurants in Gibsonia
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Continental
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

It's easy to miss the Pines Tavern, it's not on a major road or business area, it's more of a residential area. My husband first took me there on a date and we have dined or lunched there on numerous special occasions. I have also lunched there many times with "the girls." Each experience has been pleasant. The atmosphere is charming and the staff friendly. The outdoor dining area is secluded and tranquil. I recommend the Tavern chips, the grilled vegetable salad and the pumpkin raviolis in gorgonzola sauce. There is a garden on site where they grow their own veggies, can't get any fresher than that!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Drinks and food at the bar was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

So so.... The bar side is dark and dated feeling... Also snug. The wait staff kept bumping into our legs walking by and the table was too small to fit a single entree we were sharing. This restaurant is best for taking your Mom over the holidays for lunch to see the decorations...l otherwise, there are much better choices. The patio is nice in the summer but the food is still average.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh,PA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“excellent variety and quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This restaurant is such a delightful surprise! From the road it looks like a tiny tavern-BUT- Inside in addition to the tavern there are two separate dining areas and in addition during nice weather there is back porch seating and patio seating! Every time we have gone here to dine there has been a special menu in addition to the regular menu. There is often seasonal additions as well as seasonal libations. Another big plus for this restaurant is that during the growing season they have several of their own gardens. They also buy grass fed beef. The menu includes traditional foods plus many that you would expect to see in a much more expensive eatery.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Elegant surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Quiet and upscale surroundings, plus a wonderful dining experience with a unique menu perfectly prepared. Season menus offered that are equally special.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Kensington, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Always looking for an excuse to make the trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We love the Pines. This restaurant has a varied menu in the dining room, on the patio or in the bar. Upscale dinners of lamb, beef, pork, and seafood from the dinner menu or sandwich fare from the taproom (lunch menu) are available at any seating in the evenings. There is even a section that offers comfort food for the less adventurous diner. Prices range from Many of the weekly specials include delicious, locally grown food. The menu often offers seasonal changes. We find each member of the service staff to be extremely pleasant and attentive. We travel about a half an hour on back roads at the drop of a hat when we can make an excuse to return for lunch or dinner. The formal dining rooms are perfect for special occasions. Conversely. the rustic taproom offers a wide range of wines and beers. The outside patio is open during the summer and often includes live music. Fabulous Christmas decorations festoon every room of this establishment in the winter. Can't wait for our next trip!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pines Tavern & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Pines Tavern & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pines Tavern & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.