We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deer Run Camp Grounds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Run Campgrounds

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gardners
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Deer Run Campgrounds
Save
You added Deer Run Campgrounds to your Saves list
111 Sheet Iron Roof Rd, Gardners, PA 17324   |  
Hotel amenities
Windsor
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Deer Run Camp Grounds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

It was nice but the camper spots are so close together and very hard to get in to. The location was very hard to find. But we had a good time with friends. We have a 24 ft travel trailer and it was a very tight spot you felt like you could see the other people sleeping. people are very friendly and the owners were very helpful. We tried to get a spot for October for Halloween they were sold out they say it is really big on Halloween.Most spots no grass and no shade.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    10
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
24
5
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed at Deer Run over their bike weekend event and absolutley loved it. The camp sites were well kept, the staff was wonderful, ice cream was great! They had all kinds of activities and live entertainment Sat night. My son loved fishing in the pond and swiming in the pool! We already have a trip booked for April for the fishing tourney, and will more than likely have a few more summer trips booked soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Our first time at Deer Run Camping Resort was last fall, and we loved it!
From the friendly staff, to the clean facilities, and fun activities we are hooked
on Deer Run! The large activity field in the center of the campground was great
for playing ball and flying kites. We took the kids hiking on the Appalachian Trail which was
fun. The snack bar wasn't open, apparently it closes after Labor Day, but they
still have hand dipped ice cream at the camp store. When we walked around the park to scout out other possible camp sites for the future we noticed some sites are close together, they would be great for "Buddy" camping. We made of list of about 10 other sites that would accommodate our camper. We had a nice back-in site across from the Ball field, #110.
It was perfect for us. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived there were 2 young guys running the office. They asked me what site I was supposed to be on and according to my email we were supposed to be on 22 he said I was wrong that we were on site 37. I didn't argue, I just want to get set up and enjoy my weekend. We proceeded to find our site by driving around the loop. We were basically looking for the only open site at the top of the hill since everyone else was already there. Well we didn't have any luck finding an open site so we proceeded to drive the circle again, this time we found the site that stated 37 and found a camper set up, the gentleman walked up to us and said there was a misunderstanding that they were packing up and moving. Not sure how someone sets up on the wrong site. Well after waiting for them to pull our we were finally able to start setting up! The sites are extremely close together. The bath houses are a long distance walk from the top of the circle. The events planned for the weekend were great. It was Halloween weekend so we were able to hand out candy and see all the unique outfits. On Sunday morning I was taking a shower with very little water pressure, then my other half took his shower with very little water. We ate breakfast and I took the dirty dishes in to wash them up and we had no water!!!! I understand that they added kore sites this year but they need to improve the water situation before I would ever go back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We were there from July until Novvember 2013. We are first time campers who are up in age. We are pretty limited as I can't drive anymore, but Deb, Joe, and all their workers treat us like long lost relatives. If we need anything from the store Amy will get whatever we need. I needed a golf cart to get around and Mike loaned me one while I waited on my own. Ray and Alice keep an eye on us as they work around the grounds. They have activities for the whole family. They try to make everyone feel like family. I am paid up for next season and can't wait for April. I would recommend this campground to everyone who wants to have a good time with family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our first trip to Deer Run Campground as my family camps in the area every October. Husband, puppies and myself spent 8 days there. Overall we really enjoyed our stay. Seems like there are new owners this year and they are a little uncoordinated but were extremely friendly and helpful. We had record breaking rainfall that knocked out the water, but they had it back on same-day. Also a freak car accident took out power a few days later, go figure! That also came back on same-day thanks to local power company. We really liked that the campground is very much in the woods even thought campsites are close together. Majority of campers had dogs which we liked because everyone kept them under control. It was nice that my dogs were so welcome. Family loved the large open field and we used it many times for racing our remote-controlled toys. Grocery was within 15 minutes which is nice. Carlisle is so close we went there several times for restaurants and supplies. Recommend the Mt Holly Marsh Preserve for a nice hike/walk with super creek that is nearby. Marsh Preserve is county run so it was open unlike the national parks which were closed due to government shutdown. HELPFUL HINT: Good quality and bulk firewood can be purchased from road-side homes on Pine Grove Road. We got 2 larges size stacks for $20.00, sure beats $1 a stick at the convenience stores. They recently added a game room with pool table, ping pong table, and Pacman arcade. We didn't use this at all but the other kids in the campground seemed to like it.
The only negative is that the bath-houses could use some work. Most of the door locks on the toilet stalls didn't work. The outdoor matts outside of the showers need to go. It would be really nice if they could install a ventilation fan to move the hot air from the showers out of the bathroom. Also would be nice if they could replace the shower stalls. Just a few new replacements would make these bath-house much more comfortable to use.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were very excited for a 4 day Labor Day weekend! The map shows that sites are back to back, and it would appear they are a good size site. We quickly found out that the map is not to scale. The sites are back to back, meaning when you back into the campsite, the back end of your trailer is about 2 inches away from the trailer in the lot behind you. The campsite beside you has their fire ring about 2 feet away from your hookups. The lot to the other side will most likely be about 12 feet away. The first campsite we chose would not fit our 26' camper without us actually touching the travel trailer behind us. The owner was quick to show us another site, which we agreed to (because we had already called two other places to see if we could stay somewhere else, hoping for a miracle that another campground would have an available campsite on Labor Day weekend). I agree with the other post, make sure you bring a sewer extension, sewer connections do not match up. The pool was very clean and well kept, while we were they it stayed open until 8PM. Sadly this is on our "not again" list, but we did get to explore Pine Grove Furnance State Park, which is where we will be staying next month.

Room Tip: Sites are best for smaller travel trailers. Pool is very clean. They recycle aluminum cans!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deer Run Campgrounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Run Campgrounds

Address: 111 Sheet Iron Roof Rd, Gardners, PA 17324
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Gardners
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Gardners
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deer Run Camping Resort offers full amenities, regardless of your personal definition of camping - from private tent sites to spacious pull-thru sites, group camping to cabins in a wooded setting - at Deer Run Camping Resort you will always find precisely what you need. Our goal is to provide you with a clean, family-oriented campground with friendly service. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Run Campgrounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.