We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Cucina

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bella Cucina
1234 Liberty Street, Franklin, PA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 31 Restaurants in Franklin
Cuisines: Southwestern, Italian, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is a little restaurant with a great selection and moderately priced. It is on the main street of town right by the town park. Go There.
Midwest
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Ate here the other evening on a cold rainy weekday. We all had delicious entrees, lobster, crab cakes, and veal florentine. It's a bit pricey for Franklin, PA but the quality of the food is very good and dinners include a salad. Their bread is also excellent and is served with olive oil and cheese. It's delicious but some diners would like to have butter on the table too without asking. Only suggestion would be to offer half portions as the servings are very large. If they did that I might be tempted to order an appetizer or dessert. Another thing I noticed was that their pastas and sauces were very rich. A more basic sauce and lighter pasta entrees would be welcome.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, PA
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Excellent Service - Wouldnt change a thing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had dinner and lunch there on a recent 2 day visit. Immediately upon entering, we were welcomed and embraced. Seems like everyone knows everyone in this town as I was with some locals who talked to anybody who stopped by the table. This happened at dinner and at lunch with totally different dining partners - really a nice treat. Anyhow, started off with the most amazing bread and garlic/parmesan oil. I ate 5 pieces. Had the soup of the day, cant remember what it was but it was very good. The dinner specials apparently have a different theme each night. I was surprised it was Japanese night, at an italian restaurant. Regardless I ordered the grilled pork chop. It was perfectly seasoned and cooked, melted like butter. Definitely recommend. Ho Ho cake for desert, very good. The service was beyond great. Lunch I had red pepper soup - would get it again and turkey devoshire sandwhich. The sandwhich was huge and very tasty, dont get if you are dieting, lots of butter and sauce - delicious. Ordered with a side of pasta salad which I couldnt eat due to being too full. This really was a special place. I'll go back whenever I go through town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A gourmet meal in a small town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

All dishes were creative, delicious & served promptly. Excellent servcie. The dipping oil (for bread) was to die for!!! You will pay a few extra dollars, but you get what you pay for. Maybe split a entree ... and see if you're still hungry? Ample portions.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I ate here last night with three friends and it was pretty amazing. We arrived right after the restaurant opened and were seated at a corner window table overlooking the park across the road. This was definitely an upscale dining experience from beginning to end and therefore a bit pricey but well worth the cost given our experience. After being seated, we were served a flatbread and crusty bread with a dipping oil that was very tasty. We ordered our salads with their gorgonzola vinigrette dressing which was out of this world good. My entree was a shrimp and scallop duo and couldn't have been better. Their food presentation in all of our meals was strikingly pretty and creative but the quality of the meal was even better. My shrimp and scallops were at exactly the right level of doneness, which can be difficult with seafood. The asparagus was presented with a "to die for" cream sauce. The scallops were prepared with a tomato based concoction that left me yearning for more. We passed on desserts given the large portion sizes of our entrees. One more thing. Way too many restaurants these days are too noisy to allow for easy conversation but even when full of diners, this one was not. They did play background music but it was soft and appropriate to a fine dining venue and not at all distracting from our ability to talk at a normal level. One thing I know for sure is that if I should I find myself in Franklin, PA in the future,I will definitely be revisiting this amazing little restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, PA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Taste and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Everything we ordered (two different daily specials and 2 different desserts) was excellent! Their gorgonzola viniagrette house dressing is superb! Novel Italian bread and flatbread cracker service. Wait staff was very attentive and friendly.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Cucina also viewed

 

Been to Bella Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Cucina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.