We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice....we loved it...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia / Fort Washington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia / Fort Washington to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia / Fort Washington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   530 Pennsylvania Avenue, Fort Washington, PA 19034   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fort Washington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Very nice....we loved it...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The hotel was very nice....i loved the restraunt/ lobby. Its different than any hotel ive been in. The staff was friendly..the breakfast buffet was very good. The walls seemed very thin,i can hear their tv thru the walls. but other than that , it was a nice stay over night.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    82
    30
    19
    13
See reviews for
93
51
23
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

Staff was nice and attentive. Rooms were large and clean. Beds were nice-sized and comfy. Location was easy to find off of the exit. Restaurant buffet was fresh with a waffle and omlette bar. Accidentally left my iPad behind in the room and they found it and held it for me. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaheerah B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia / Fort Washington, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Ippolitinc:
Thank you for your comments with regard to your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Washington. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our team members.
Thanks for noticing the cleanliness of our rooms. Our housekeeping staff takes pride in their jobs and our executive housekeeping works tirelessly to keep the staff motivated. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed our cooked to order breakfast with everything you need to start your day off right.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Washington in the not to distant future. Safe Travels! Sincerely, Shaheerah Bey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Well went to Philadelphia this past weekend to vist family and stayed at this Hotel, because the review were over all pretty good and the price was right, when i got to the hotel i must say i was not disappointed. We were greeted by an extremly pleasent staff, and the hotel was beautiful, had a slight funny smell but we figured someone must have been eating chinese food. anyway they had complimentary tea, coffee,water and lemonade, which was really nice and when we got back later that night they also offered us some delicious home made cookies. The rooms were nice and spacious, and very clean, it had a very modern look and it was very comfortable especially with the adjustable beds. The pillows were a little to soft, but we made do.
Over all we enjoyed our stay they gave us free breakfast in the morning and boy it was the best and most selections we ever experienced in a hotel.
It was worth every minute and we will be staying there again in the future!

Room Tip: go for the king size room and forget about the view you won't find a good one where in that loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaheerah B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia / Fort Washington, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Jemima D:
Thank you for your comments with regard to your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Washington. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our team members.
Thanks so much for helping us spread the word about our Garden Sleep System beds. They are very comfortable and indeed have the ability to be adjusted for every guest. I personally like a more firm mattress, but my husband prefers the bed be a little softer—good thing there are 2 controls on the bed.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Ft. Washington in the not to distant future. Safe Travels! Sincerely, Shaheerah Bey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Walked up to the front desk with nary a greeting. The lady helping me simply asked for a driver's license and form of payment and gave me my keys. She did explain that as a diamond member, I am entitled to two bottles of water and a credit of $5 from the pantry. It was hot day and definitely needed those waters but why weren't they placed in my room like they are in most other Hilton's? So with my hands already full with a suitcase, shopping bag and laptop bag, I juggled opening my door with two additional bottles of water in my hands. The room was old and depressing looking with a large room but a small tv console and a desk. I will not stay here especially after seeing the potential floods that can happen when it rains. Not worth it!

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaheerah B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia / Fort Washington, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear bl181:
I want to personally thank you for sharing your stay with us. I am sorry about your experience at the front desk. I can assure you that it is not standard to find someone at our hotel who isn’t willing to go above and beyond. We strive to ensure our front desk agents and other team members know how much we value your business.
I understand guest room presentation was a concern, as it is for us as well. It is due to reviews such as yours that we have decided to renovate our guestrooms beginning in December of this year. I do hope that the next time your travels bring you to Fort Washington you will stay with us and provide feedback about our new guestroom experience; we would love to have you. Thank you! Shaheerah Bey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Thank you a lot to your team for our nice stay in your hotel in juin 2012.
We are a German family and we felt really very good. One of our friends in the US
recommended your hotel to us. And we can recommend them otherwise again.
The athmosphere was great, nice, very friendly - we are looking forward to
another stay, hopefully as soon as possible.

Sabine Häußler, Germany

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaheerah B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia / Fort Washington, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear Burundi2009:
Thanks so much for staying with us during your recent visit to Fort Washington. We’re glad that you decided to give us a try.
Our staff tries to bring personal attention into every guest interaction, and we are very pleased to that you received that from our team members.
Thanks again for the kind words and we really hope to see you the next time you are in the Fort Washington area!
Sincerely, Shaheerah Bey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This property is in suburban Philadelphia, with a SEPTA station nearby (I mention this because of the location's convenience, I never heard a train). It would be unremarkable for a Hilton Garden Inn (which are consistently good) except for the staff. Upon walking in, the front desk staff had a friendly greeting, were very helpful, and seemed genuinely happy. We had less interaction with the cleaning and breakfast staff, but when we did, they too were very friendly. It transformed a stay from some-place-that's-cheaper-because-it's-not-in-the-city to a wow-I'd-like-to-come-back-here-again experience.

In terms of amenities, everything was clean, room was spacious, and the indoor pool was a welcome attraction during the heat wave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaheerah B, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia / Fort Washington, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear BayAreaTraveler2:
Thanks so much for staying with us during your recent visit to Fort Washington. We’re glad that you decided to give us a try.
Our staff tries to bring personal attention into every guest interaction, and we are very pleased to that you received that attention at the front desk.
Thanks again for the kind words and we really hope to see you the next time you are in the Fort Washington area!
Sincerely, Shaheerah Bey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

As a business traveler, there are corporate standards to which every HGI is supposed to adhere, and this one is no exception. So for this, they get the three of five minimum.

The facility seems to go above and beyond for those guests with special needs. Both the pool and hot tub come with lifts for those with physical disabilities. The bathrooms/showers are of average, but not above and beyond, compatibility with needs for those who are physically disabled.

The grounds, overall, are nice. There is an outdoor patio area which is a nice touch. The lobby decor is contemporary and looks well.

The exercise facility conforms to HGI standards, but is small. floor exercise space for more than two people is a challenge. The guest office equipment is up to date. The room is well equipped. The fact that you can actually remove hangers from the closet rod is appreciated. The hotel wi-fi is sufficient.

All of this makes this hotel, on a weekday, a perfectly acceptable stay. For those who have things to do around, but not necessarily in, Philadelphia this is a nice location. It is certainly a better alternative than the Holiday Inn up the street which shows it's age.

$9.95 is a more competitive price for the breakfast than at most other HGIs. I wouldn't pay it, but it's not too terrible overall. Considering your walking distance options are a convenience store and Friendly's, you could be worse off.

But every hotel has it's drawbacks, and this one is no exception.

The bed is an HGI standard but feels old and did not adjust well. This means if you like and/or depend on a soft bed for your back, you are at a disadvantage.

The shower is adequate for persons of height but not size. Hot water availability can be erratic after peak morning shower times.

The air conditioner in our unit emitted a musty smell that permeated the room for the duration of our stay. The unit was also underpowered overall. This leads me to believe that maintenance may be lacking a bit.

From an appearances standpoint, the carpeting looked and felt to be the bare minimum necessary to avoid walking on the bare floor underneath.

Service is amicable but not overly helpful.

There are three luggage carts, so if you're trying to check in or out during peak times, I wish you luck in finding one. (Though, in fairness, why are you traveling with more than you can carry or wheel out anyway?)

The elevators are not placed well and difficult to find. In fact, the entire first floor, once you get beyond the lobby, is poorly designed. You'll spend your first evening trying to sort out where the elevators, pool, exercise room and meeting rooms are located. Do not accept a room on the first floor in the 140s at all, or the 130s if there is an event taking place.

The between room soundproofing is poor. I expect bleed through of noise from the hallways, but not between rooms. This was a consistent issue over the course of our stay. Normal adult conversation level talk could be heard in the rooms surrounding us, which leads me to my last point.

It is difficult to blame a hotel for it's guests, and I try not to. However, understand that this hotel has two sizable meeting rooms on the first floor which means that frequently, on weekends, there are events. Event guests, particularly for weddings and family reunions with an abundance of kids, make a significant amount of noise and generally disregard the fact that there are other guests. The second time police were called to our floor it became evident that it was going to be a difficult weekend stay due to noise (which translates as a deficiency in between room soundproofing as stated above).

For a business stay, during the week, this is your best option in the area. It is immediately off the turnpike and pretty centrally located. It is of average price/value. I would avoid this property on the weekends during peak travel season, however, because of the event bookings as it fails the criteria in the title.

Room Tip: Do not, under any circumstances, stay on the first floor. If you are in rooms in the 130 range you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia / Fort Washington, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear cromartie:
Thank you for your comments with regard to your resent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Fort Washington. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall. We too agree that our hotel is in a central location.
We are so sorry about the noise you experienced during your stay from guests that were attending an event at the hotel. In instances like this, that’s the price we pay when having banquet facilities on-site.
I’m also so sorry you didn’t get a good night’s sleep on our Garden Sleep System bed. Were you aware it is adjustable to your personal setting? The dial is on the side of the bed. We encourage our front desk staff to tell you about the bed dial at check in. Next time you stay with us, please ask about it. We think it will be one of the best night’s sleep you’ve ever gotten!
Hope to see you again soon.
Thanks,
Shaheerah Bey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia / Fort Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia / Fort Washington

Address: 530 Pennsylvania Avenue, Fort Washington, PA 19034
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Fort Washington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Fort Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia / Fort Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia / Fort Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia / Fort Washington Hotel Fort Washington
Hilton Fort Washington
Fort Washington Hilton
Hilton Garden Inn Fort Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia / Fort Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.