We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy venue with good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zakes Cakes & Cafe

Zakes Cakes & Cafe
444 S Bethlehem Pike, Fort Washington, PA 19034-2312
215-654-7600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Noisy venue with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Zakes was noisy because it was so busy. Even at 9:30 on a Friday morning. Zakes has unusual breakfast options. Very tasty..good coffee. Service was excellent even though the restaurant was busy.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    29
    11
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Always know I am going to have. Good meal at zake's whether it is for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. Great go to restaurant. Everyone who works there iis always pleasant and accommodating. Marlene, the owner even remembers what your favorites are!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This was the 2nd time we went to Zake's for breakfast and it did not disappoint. Zake's has a refreshing take on breakfast food that is different from your typical "diner" breakfast. The restaurant, while small inside, is cozy and quaint. My 4 year old loves the lemon honey pancakes with fresh berries and the caramel sauce that replace the maple syrup is absolutely delicious. My husband had the house benedict and I had the tex mex omelette. Both dishes were simple but very well executed. They also whipped up chocolate chip pancakes for my younger 2 boys upon request. Wait staff was attentive and friendly. We're looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabash, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

While in town for the night, I decided on Zakes as a place for dinner. Neither my son, nor I, were familiar since I live in NC and he in Collegeville, PA. Don't let this quaint little charmer fool you from the outside. The ambiance is nice, the wait staff extremely knowledgeable and on the ball. The food is amazing. I didn't know it was a BYOB (which is wonderful) but they had other beverages which was sufficient. We had an appetizer of dumplings which were good with a tasty dipping sauce. My son chose the Thai Red Snapper with gingered pineapple, rice noodles, and sweet potato tempura. I opted for the Filet Mignon (perfectly cooked) with Lobster mashed potatoes and garlic spinach. Fabulous! We shared a piece of Tiramisu, which was rather large, dense, not overly sweet and delicious. The prices were average. I cannot wait to go back again when I come back up in June!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding Food and Nice Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This charming little restaurant is a secret gem in Fort Washington. Great for any meal, as well as date night or girls night out. Everything is gourmet and interesting, it's almost impossible to choose what to get.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zakes Cakes & Cafe also viewed

Fort Washington, PA
Fort Washington, PA
 
Fort Washington, PA
 

Been to Zakes Cakes & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zakes Cakes & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.