We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Glasbern Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Glasbern Inn to your Saves list
Glasbern Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2141 Packhouse Road, Fogelsville, PA 18051   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fogelsville
A TripAdvisor Member
“Such a Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2006

We stayed here a few times in the past few years and had a wonderful experience. It seems the owners have really lost interst in their property and in their guests in recent times. It was such a dissappointment. The housekeeping was not up to prior standards nor was their hospitality. The breakfast was dismal as they dolled out fruit like it was the last berry on the planet! Stale cold cereal was the other "gourmet" choice from the buffet. I think they really would have preferred not to have guests. We seemed just a both on every level. The owners walked past us and barked orders at the staff around us. A large filthy dog was at the entrance door and made is very difficult to even enter the building. The owner quickly corrected us by saying we were in the country.....get over it. Its just such a pit a once eagerly anticipated trip will now to be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasbern, Manager at Glasbern Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
This review is from 2006, the issues contained within the review have been resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    34
    5
    10
    11
See reviews for
18
143
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2005

This place is beautiful and the food is good. That's where the pros stop and probably what keeps this establishment in business.

The staff and the owners are horrendous. We were treated horribly- I have never seen such poor service at a "high end" establishment. There were some servers who were very kind but the majority of the staff is snotty and the owner is horrible. No customer service whatsoever. The A/C did work in some of the rooms and the rooms were small for the price. I was shocked at the treatment guests, including myself, received and will never stay there or recommend this place again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasbern, Manager at Glasbern Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
This review is from 2005 and the Inn is under new management since 2009. The issues contained within the review have been resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2005

We had the great treat of staying at Glasbern for a couple of nights earlier this week. What a terrific experience! The food is so fresh coming directly from the Inns gardens and farm! The staff was attentive and available and the room was spacious with fireplace, whirlpool tub, and two person show. Great fun all around! The surrounding area is a must see with so many things to do as well. We've already made our plans to return.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2005

We went here for our 19th anniversary. We were not one bit disappointed.
The staff was exceptional , they couldn't do enough for us. The room we had was so rustic but comfortable. We were in 42 in the carriage house.
Nice king size bed, brand new jacuzzi for 2 with windows all around overlooking the garden and pool area. Pool was closed which was good, I would imagine the tranquility would be lost in busy pool season. In that case we would stay in the stable room 42 which was very much secluded with a terrace with a nice view. Loved the accomodation and the wood burning fireplace. 42 had a larger bathroom though, which is nice but you have to climb a spiral staircase up to the tub which i don't like much.
The restaurant was so lovely and interesting. Lots to look at. Our first nt, they put us right next to the fireplace and that was nice. The room is just beautiful for dinner and very nice for a real country breakfast. The dinner was exceptional. We couldn't decide between the salad and the appetizer so they said we could have both. They would give you whatever you want, the waiters were the best!! The food was top notch, the fish was as fresh as can be, the veggies and salad greens were straight out of their greenhouse. The sauces were light ,flavorful with bursts of fresh herbs.
Really beautiful food, served one course at a time, great wine list, and fantastic desserts..Loved it. Breakfast was great too, buffet table of nice fruit, homemade muffins and breads , cereals, granolas etc. Then, a regular menu to order off of. The best home fries i ever had.
My only complaint was the area, there is really no where else to eat good food. There is nothing else really worth leaving the grounds for.
We went antiquing one day which was ok...then another day went to the town of Jim Thorpe, which they compare to a village in the swiss alps. It was very pretty but the ride was scary thru the mountains and coal mining towns, took a long time. I'd rather stay at Glasbern in the jacuzzi!! Oh, had a massage and that was great too.
We will go back one day. And, I thank them for being so nice....

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
286 helpful votes 286 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2005

We stayed last summer, for one night, in route to the Lancaster area. We loved it! The innkeeper and all the staff couldn't do enough for us. The rooms are lovely, and the complimentary full breakfast was to die for. We enjoyed the long walk along the stream on the beautiful grounds. I've since recommended Glasbern to a friend, and she and her husband loved it too. We visited Crystal Cave, nearby -- very nice. Our friends found a coal mine to visit. The innkeeper has lots of suggestions on where to go in the area. Great place! Oh yeah, great heated pool, too. Also, they have a small fitness center, but we didn't get to use it.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2005

For our 25th Anniv, 2 nights in late Jan, '05, stayed in room 48 (in the Gatehouse). Both of us agree Glasbern exceeded our expectations. The snow made the grounds look even more "out in the country" than might be at other times. Our room was expensive but worth it -- real fireplace, 2-person Jacuzzi (reached by spiral staircase), king bed, robes, nice bathroom, fridge (with goodies from diet Coke to champagne -- note the costs, which seemed reasonable), telecomm connectivity (which we avoided), nice TV/VCR/ DVD player (tapes for free), rustic elegance all around... good cooked breakfast included. Dinner there the first night was quiet (Jan is low, low season) & delicious, in big, elelgant room, good wine list (bottle and by the glass), personal/professional service. 2nd night dinner at Grille 3501 (outisde of Allentown) -- the chef used to be at Glasbern we found out -- some noise but very good food and martinis. Staff at Glenburn suggested a day in Bethlehem's historic district & we enjoyed the shops, but espeically liked strolling around the Moravian College and Church grounds. Don't miss the Moravian Book Store -- books and everything else, including good small food. In sum, Glasbern is on our "let's do this again list."

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn, ny
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2004

OK, it's 1AM. We recently drained our whirpool tub. We were about to turn off our gas burning fireplace for the night. Nothing wrong with that, right? Until the fire alarm for the building went off. It's this head aching shrill that just wouldn't stop. No big deal. Things happen. So we get dressed and grab our cellies. We run down to the Inn Keeper's building where we follow the instructions on how to call the inn keeper in case of an emergency. We call about five times. No answer. So what are we supposed to do but call the fire company to turn the alarm off. That's what we do. They come quickly and as they show up, who emerges but the bleary eyed inn keeper. He seems like someone from Tales of the Crypt, but in all fairness he did just wake up. The firemen reset the faulty fire alarm that the inn keeper informs us malfunctions about every other month.

During the whole fiasco, the inn keeper calls the owner of the property. Then he shows up. Want to know the very first thing he says to us? Guess. Go ahead. "Sorry," you guess. Nope. Try again. "I hope we didn't disrupt your stay too much. Thank you for understanding." Again, a logical guess but no. "Why did you call the fire company?" was the very first thing this customer service lacking owner of the property replied. The nerve. I wanted to reply with "Why the heck did your fire alarm go off for no reason at one AM?" but instead I demonstrated restraint and explained that the inn keeper did not answer the emergency line after about five calls and we were afraid we might die in a fire if we did not call the fire company. I wasn't mad about the alarm going off in the middle of the night, but the owner's entirely inconsiderate response really got under my skin. I would not recommend this place if what you are looking for is some R and R. You won't get it! The alarm goes off in the middle of the night and no one is there to help you! (The fire alarm went off two more times as I wrote this review. Stellar.)

Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasbern, Manager at Glasbern Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
This review is from 2004 and the faulty alarms and issues contained within the review have been resolved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glasbern Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasbern Inn

Address: 2141 Packhouse Road, Fogelsville, PA 18051
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Fogelsville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Fogelsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Glasbern Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit this reborn, luxurious and romantic Lehigh Valley Inn located on a 100 acre working farm near Bethlehem & Allentown, PA. Seven separately renovated buildings - once used to run the farm - now house guests with 38 unique rooms or suites at our Pennsylvania luxury inn. Most rooms include a fireplace and a whirlpool and include a combination of country comfort, new and antique furnishings, and 21st century business necessities. A fitness facility, spa, and outdoor heated pool, high-speed Internet access, and a business center make this romantic Pennsylvania bed and breakfast the perfect choice for business or pleasure. Enjoy a breakfast fresh from our sustainable working farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Glasbern Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glasbern Hotel Fogelsville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glasbern Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.