We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mold and Dirt Issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites Fairview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn & Suites Fairview to your Saves list
Quality Inn & Suites Fairview
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6467 Sterrettania Road, Fairview, PA 16415 (Formerly Presque Isle Country Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fairview
Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Mold and Dirt Issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Let me start out by saying that we have stayed at Quality Inns in the past and realize there are things you sacrifice when stepping down to the less expensive types of hotels. We ended up paying $135 for a room in the lower level of this hotel. Upon arrival, check in was very quick and the lobby looked fantastic. Don't be deceived, the lobby is the best looking part of this hotel. On the way to our room, the first thing we noticed was every door in the hallway was dented and beaten up. The carpet was dirty and it smelled musty. I understand you don't spend too much time in the hallways but again, it's part of the total experience. Once inside our room, at first glance it seemed ok but the more we settled in, the more we noticed. Mold, rust, cob-webs, bees and bugs in the curtains, beat up furniture, dirty tub, and the musty smell. The mirrors were streaked to a point of having to wipe them down with a hand towel to see in them. On a positive note, the linens were clean, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was cold but ok. Because there was some kind of Roar by the Shore thing going on in this area, my thoughts were that perhaps these were the overflow rooms that are not used too often? The ice machines were constantly empty too but I noticed people filling up coolers with no regard for other people's needs. Would I stay here again? Probably not. We have stayed at several other hotels in the area that were so much nicer and cleaner (and yes, more expensive). To this traveller, it is worth the extra $40 or so to stay in a cleaner hotel with no odor and NO MOLD!.

Room Tip: Request an upper level floor. Perhaps you will have better luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    19
    20
    36
See reviews for
30
23
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were not able to find any vacancies at Erie, so we ended up at this hotel, two exits further west. I was skeptical, as the area around the hotel is on the decline. We were very pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean. The linens were crisp and the bed was quite comfy. Breakfast was included. It was not served with all the fancy wrappers but the buffet of eggs, pancakes, biscuits and gravy and oatmeal was good and restocked frequently to ensure freshness. The hostess was friendly and attentive. There was an outdoor pool and it looked quite nice, although it involved walking across the parking lot to get to it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

I have been reading the reviews and kind of laugh because most of these people want to pay 10$ for 5 star services in a tourist type area. You get what you pay for ya know? Check prices of the other hotels in the area which are almost 100$ more then this place was. I go to hotels to sleep as my business is elsewhere During the day. This hotel is not a resort by any means so do not assume a luxurious room. I also want to point out as I have diamond status with choice hotels and stay in hotels more then 100 days a year that using those online companies rip you off. Call the hotel directly so that you get the amenities you want. Expedia and Hotels.com are not affiliated with the hotels you book through them. Expedia will put you in the first available room regardless of your preference of smoking or non. If you read the fine print it states that. Getting upset at someone who works for probably minimum wage at something that is the customers fault is quite sad as a human being. Calling people liars when they are speaking the truth is also a shame. Again this hotel is a nice place to sleep and have breakfast but other then that not worth the stay. But getting upset out of your own ignorance is silly. Do your research and don't book last minute and you will have better options then this place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I booked through expedia and there was nowhere that is asked if we wanted a smoking or non smoking room, when we arrived they said that we had a smoking room ( we do not smoke) the hotel clerk would not change it and said it was expedia"s fault and we would have to take it up with them. While we were checking in the floor underneath us was vibrating because there was a band playing in the basement, it was really loud. The room was very musty and smelt awful, we had to open the windows all night in order to be able to breath well. Their were a pile of dirty socks in the hall way and ashtrays full of smoke butts. As soon as we checked in ( 10pm ) we decided to go to the rundown restaurant attached to see if we could get a glass of wine to take to our room, the girl was rude and told us they were closed and we had to go to the basement were the loud band was playing to get a drink, so we decided to go back to our room without any. People were running up and down the hallway screaming at 6am the people next door turned on their tv and because the walls were paper thin it felt like the tv was in our room, people were screaming outside in the early hours of the morning. The only thing good about the breakfast was the coffee, the food was cold and not edible at all. I wish I had slept in my car instead of this hotel !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fairview hotels

NEW FAIRFIELD
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed there for several nights recently while fishing Elk Creek. I was turned off by the general run down condition of the property, including a 12 inch diameter black mold stain and rusted door frame at the bathroom door, a significant wine stain on the rug, and a cigarette burn on the coverlet (in a nonsmoking room). On the other hand, the bed was comfortable. The folks were friendly. The free made-to-order breakfast was a great start to the day. I may stay here again but there are better options 2 exits east on I-90

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern ontario
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We booked this hotel for our annual shopping trip to Erie and Grove City. We have found that Erie hotels can be hit or miss, and this one was definitely a miss.

The hotel is close enough the Peach Street area, just two miles or so away.
As we approached the hotel, we were shocked at how run down it was on the outside. Absolutely terrIble.
The lobby was small, not inviting at all. The desk clerk was very friendly. We checked in and were told our room was around the side, room 112.
When we pulled around the building, again, we were shocked at how run down the property was. At this point we knew we had made a mistake, but it was too late. The hallways were dark, dirty, and smelled bad.
Our room was a smoking room, but the smell of stale cigarette smoke went beyond anything we have ever experienced. The carpets were stained with what looked like blood, the wallpaper was peeling everywhere. The bathroom was not cleaned well, and the toilet didn't flush.
The second night of our stay, I was kept awake by other guests who appeared to be having a party in a nearby room, blasting country music, and talking loudly and drunkenly in the hallways.

On the plus side, the hotel was close to everything. The bed was probably the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept on, the sheets were so soft and the pillows were just right. The water pressure in the shower was awesome, even if the temperature went from hot to cold every time someone in another room flushed their toilet.

My recommendation: find somewhere else to spend your hard earned money. This hotel is ready for demolition. The owners should be ashamed that they keep this property in such poor condition.

I should note that we had read the reviews prior to booking. We didn't expect it to be this bad.
We also did not take advantage of the free buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here on a break driving back to Canada and will not stay here again. We had spoke to someone on the phone and asked for first floor, a refrigerator and a microwave as we have to babies and would need these amenities, we were disappointed to find we had to bring all our pack and plays and baby needs up to the second floor (no elevators) and when we arrived to our room we had no fridge or microwave. The heater in our room made a nasty vibrating noise when it was on and if we left it on it would get so muggy in the room that we couldn't breath. The bathtub plug was really difficult to use as well. The security level was low as well, as anyone could enter the hotel through the unlocked entrances. The breakfast was the best part and the servers were pleasant. I would not stay here again. The area near the hotel is also very isolated. Everything is run down and is very scary at night.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker stay away from the Saloon
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Fairview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Fairview

Address: 6467 Sterrettania Road, Fairview, PA 16415 (Formerly Presque Isle Country Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Fairview
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fairview
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Fairview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Fairview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Fairview
Quality Inn & Suites Fairview Hotel Fairview
Best Western Presque Isle Country Inn Fairview
Fairview Quality Inn
Quality Inn Fairview

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites Fairview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.