We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better under new management” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairfield Inn

The Fairfield Inn
15 West Main Street, P.O. Box 300, Fairfield, PA 17320
717-642-5410
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Fairfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $18 - $37
Cuisines: American, Bar, Dessert, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: With origins dating to 1757, The Fairfield Inn is one of America's oldest, continuously operated Inns. The Inn offers all the refinement and charm one would expect from a small luxury hotel. Individually decorated bedrooms, spacious private bathrooms, and elegant, tastefully furnished suites and parlours invite you to relax. Proud to be Celebrating and Serving Fine Food & Spirits to travelers and guests for over 250 years.Built nineteen years before the Declaration of Independence, The Fairfield Inn was originally the Mansion House of Squire Miller, an original founder of the town. In the 250 years that have passed, the Mansion House has hosted many famous Americans such as Patrick Henry, nephew of Squire William and Isabella Henry Miller, Thaddeus Stevens, Generals Robert E. Lee & J.E.B. Stuart, Baseball Hall of Famer Eddie Plank and The Eisenhowers.When the Battle of Gettysburg was over, the Confederate Army retreated West through Fairfield. General Robert E. Lee and his officers stopped to eat at the Inn. After touring the Battlefield, we invite you to retreat to our style of history and hospitality. Unwind in one of our luxurious suites or guest rooms. Sip hot spiced cider by one of our eight fireplaces or have a drink in Squire Miller’s Tavern. Enjoy seasonal specialties on our front porch or dine in the original Mansion House. From our famous Chicken & Biscuits to our Chef’s signature dishes featuring the finest hand cut steaks and fresh seafood, taste why over four centuries of fine service and culinary expertise make dining at The Fairfield Inn a deliciously unique experience.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Much better under new management”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This restaurant has improved GREATLY under new management. Everything from atmosphere to food has turned around. Last year we came here because a dear friend of ours loves this place. We got crappy service and after I found a hair in my meal they refused to do anything about it.

This year, however, I did not expect any problems with service or food and I was NOT disappointed. We had excellent food; terrific service; and enjoyed ourselves immensely. It was a pleasure to go to dinner with our friend.

I would gladly recommend this restaurant/bed breakfast to anyone within listening distance to go there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schandon, Owner at The Fairfield Inn, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
I would certainly like to thank KR for this review while pointing out that the Inn is not under new management. My wife are the 26th owners of this amazing Inn, having purchased it in 2002. We are proud to be continuing a long standing tradition of fine food, spirits and lodging with contunuous operation to the public since 1786, and we will have the priviledge of doing it for some time to come. Sal Chandon, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    21
    13
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Decorated for Christmas.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Finally made it back early enough for lunch. We both had the wonderful Chicken & Biscuits. I also had the Ham & Bean soup. We love that they bring you a pitcher of honey for the star shaped rolls.
After lunch we walked around and looked at all the Decorations.
We would love to stay there but I am handicapped and don't do stairs very well.
We plan on going back again for one of their dinner shows.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Civil War Christmas at The Fairfield Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Nothing to dislike about this location. The food was outstanding. The couple that own the Inn are great people. The Inn is so full of history. We will be back and will bring others with us.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glens Falls
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Food was very good and service was excellant. I felt it was a bit expensive for what we had. Nice atmosphere and quiet though.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We attended the Civil War Dinner Show and the show and the dinner were excellent.The Inn is beautiful and has quite a historyand we were invited to tour the Inn before dinner

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fairfield Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Fairfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fairfield Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.