We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My experience was not a good one.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757

Save Saved
You added The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 West Main Street, P.O. Box 300, Fairfield, PA 17320   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Fairfield B&B and Inns
Pasadena, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My experience was not a good one.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went to the Fairfield Inn for a weekend getaway to celebrate his 30 th birthday. After driving two hours in the pouring down rain, we were very disappointed to discover the room had no heat. The Inn Keepers solution was to give us extra blankets for our two night stay. Obviously we were nit looking to bundle up like Eskimos for the next 48 hours, so we had to turn around and drive all the way back home. The Inn keeper was not the least bit apologetic and was actually a tad arrogant about the whole thing. Lots of other people have had good things to say about this Inn and I don't discount their reviews, but my experience was not good at all.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G K, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
I remember this couple well. They were understandably not happy with the lack of heat. It was early in the cool season, and the workman came the following week for system maintenance. I did apologize to them for the inconvenience, refunded all their money, and wished them a safe journey.
The couple did seem to enjoy their meal in the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    20
    4
    5
    8
See reviews for
14
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bennington, Vermont
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We just came back from a wonderful trip to Pennsylvania. We stayed at the historic 1757 Fairfield Inn and were delighted and pleased at our stay. The owner John is very friendly and a terrific innkeeper. He gave us several tips on where to eat in Fairfield and Gettysburg and we were not disappointed! The room was charming and historic! Any minor problems we encountered while at the inn were immediately fixed with graciousness and humor. We loved the historical aspect of the Inn with a very modern and clean bathroom.

We enjoyed breakfast at the Inn each morning and enjoyed our server and chef Terry. We stayed a week and by the 2nd day he had our beverage choices ready as soon as we were seated. Breakfast was delicious and something different everyday. It was more than enough to get us through our morning activities . One day we had an apple dish in a ramekin as one of the breakfast sides and it was the perfect fall breakfast treat.

We had dinner at the Inn one night and it was just perfect. My husband had their signature dish of chicken and biscuits, I had the Yankee pot roast. One of the side dishes was punkin fritters, they were melt in your mouth heavenly delicious. It was all scrumptious!

If you are traveling through this area and looking for a Bed and Breakfast this is the place to stay. I was nervous at first as we had booked this vacation a year in advance and the Inn had changed owners during that year. All my fears vanished by the first night there. We will plan to use this Inn again on future trips. We love this area of Pennsylvania and are sure to return! If you are not looking for a Bed and Breakfast just go to the Inn for dinner in the Tavern or restaurant. You are sure to be pleased, We were!!

Room Tip: We were in the Grumble Jones room it had a smaller bathroom than the other rooms, we peeked when the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My mother and I stayed in the Threee Colonels room and it was fabulous!! The floor tilted and had old time furnishings that added to the charm of the place. The Assistant Inn Keeper Annette was so friendly and very helpful and was a great server for our breakfast each morning. John, the owner was fabulous too. One night my mom needed a sandwich and of course she waited until the chef had already gone home. I asked John about where to get a sandwich and he told me there was a place about a block away, then he said " never mind, will a ham and cheese sandwich be ok"? I told him sure.....he made her a ham and swiss cheese sandwich on wheat toast with mustard.I asked him "How much"? He said " I wouldn't know what to charge for a sandwich" lol It was very good, I had a bite. lol We both just loved it there and the next time we go up that way, we will be staying there.

Room Tip: Due to the place being so old, there are a few leaks in the walls and under the doors due to floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our family visited this bed and breakfast. The location is very nice in that it's just close enough to Gettysburg for visiting, but you don't have to experience all the crowds and noise in the evening. Our family had two rooms in the Inn which was plenty of room for our group. The owners leave you a key so that you can come and go as you please, it makes for a nice home-away-from home. The rooms were beautiful and of course the claw foot tubs are the only way to bathe! The breakfast and service of the staff was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, ME
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I used the Fairfied Inn as a headquarters for exploring Gettysburg. We had the 3 Colonels room on the top floor. It was a beautifully appointed room. Nice living room/parlor area with a great old chess set/table in the center of the room. Bedroom was just fine and the bathroom was huge with a claw foot tub. All the floors were slightly off kilter, which added to the colonial charm of the place.

John, the new owner, was very gracious and sat down with us at dinner to answer a few history questions about the area. The entire staff was terrific, warm, and friendly.

John told us before we arrived that the Inn had yet to procure its liquor license. I have to say, bringing a bottle of wine you like to dinner (and paying only $10 for it...) was a pleasurable experience. Would have spent 3X more if we bought it by the glass. Food was really top notch. The dimly lit, historic Inn/restaurant was comfortable, uncrowded, and the service was excellent.

It was an easy (and pretty )10-minute drive to Gettysburg. We were so glad that we opted for an inn in the country instead of staying in Gettysburg. If you want to relax and soak up history at the same time, the Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 is for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tustin
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We recently dined at the restaurant at this historic and charming inn and followed dinner with a tour of the inn itself. It's refreshing to find an upscale restaurant that doesn't rely on a la carte for a dinner. We each enjoyed a different entree accompanied by a veggie and either potato, rice or pumpkin fritters. All were equally delish as were the entrees of prime rib, crab cakes, and fish. Salad was also included. It appears the owner is re establishing the reputation of this place. The owner came by to introduce himself and give us a little background and invited us to tour the guest rooms which are very charming in period decor, also very spacious. We had a super waitress both efficient and friendly. I would definitely recommend the Fairfield Inn when in the Gettysburg area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here the first week in July during the 150th anniversary celebration/reenactment of the great battle of Gettysburg. We had the Major Sam Starr room way up on the third floor. It's the smaller of their rooms but well appointed and even has a Jacuzzi. Other rooms are quite a bit larger and all are period furnished and decorated. The whole experience was fantastic - well beyond fabulous. Staff is wonderful and service was tops. This place had the best bath towels of any on our three week trip! Staying in such an historic place brings all kinds of emotions. To think Lee and his officers stopped there for dinner on their retreat from Gettysburg is simply awesome. We had Lee's menu selections a couple times and it's delicious. In fact, General Lee and his wife (living history buffs) stopped in during one of our dinners and gave us a detailed insight into their private lives, marital squabbles, and coping with the war and Lee's absence from home. That was quite a memorable event. And Joe puts on a great civil war magic act that he makes very entertaining even though some of it might perhaps be labeled a little corny by today's expectations of illusions. All their dinner, lunch and breakfast offerings are very good -- really great restaurant! Heck... we didn't even try the TV. There is too much to enjoy here and, after all, it is a bed and breakfast. Why TV? We get that at LaQuintas. Had a little trouble with the initial wifi connection but once connected it was never a problem again. I lamented the new owner didn't have a liquor license yet but it's coming. The tavern there is wonderfully authentic and will be jumping when that license is granted. It is a lovely respite from the bustle of Gettysburg tourists and only eight miles down the road. Loved every part of it and wish it wasn't so far from us so we could get back more often.

Steve & Myra

Room Tip: Book well in advance and try to get second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757

Address: 15 West Main Street, P.O. Box 300, Fairfield, PA 17320
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Fairfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fairfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Fairfield Inn has been in continuous operation since 1757, and is one of the five oldest inns in the country. Our rooms and suites are sumptuously decorated, and our food delicious. The restaurant is noted for our Chicken and Biscuits, and our Ham and Bean Soup (which is the same recipe as was served to the retreating Confederate forces on July 4th, 1863). Visitors to the Historic Fairfield Inn include Patrick Henry, Thaddeus Stevens, J.E.B. Stuart, Robert E. Lee, and the Eisenhowers.This is a "must stop" destination for visitors to Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 Hotel Fairfield
Fairfield Inn Fairfield
Fairfield Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.