We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757

Save Saved
You added The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 West Main Street, P.O. Box 300, Fairfield, PA 17320   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Fairfield B&B and Inns
Surrey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Nice old place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Lovely old hotel - full of character. Our room was large, clean and comfortable.We found the food somewhat uninspiring and the bar closed at 9pm. As there was nowhere else to go in the village, it spoilt our evening.

The countryside in this part of America is very attractive with a lot of history and will appeal to the Brits as much as the Americans. Gettysburg about 8 miles down the road is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: We looked in most of the rooms and they were all nice with lots of character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    18
    4
    5
    8
See reviews for
13
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baden, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This inn was built in 1757 and has been in continuous service since. The current owners have had the property for ten years and it is truly a delight to visit. We went to visit Gettysburg on a Tuesday and stayed Tuesday night (the inn is 8 miles west of Gettysburg, PA). They have six rooms and we had booked the least expensive, but since only three couples were staying on that Tuesday, we were upgraded to a larger room at no extra cost. The inn has been beautifully preserved and restored. Our room was roomy, had period furnishings, and a large, updated bathroom including a shower and claw footed tub. We saw other rooms -- all very nice and some quite spacious (two rooms and bath). The inn hosts a local performer named Professor Kerrigan who does an evening dinner theater (Tues - Sat) that includes a tasty and complete meal (several choices), and a 2 1/2 hour show which includes illusions -- many from the Civil War era and a Civil War seance simulation. The cost was $39.95 per person, inclusive. Breakfast is included in the cost of the room. There is also a dining option (exclusive of the theater) in the inn. I would highly recommend both the accomodations and the dinner theater experience. The innkeeper will make dinner theater reservations upon request and more information for the theater is available at www.civilwartheater.com The Fairfield Inn website is: www.thefairfieldinn.com

Room Tip: We had the Patrick Henry Room -- a queensize bed, large bath, TV, and AC. The cost was approximatel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Fairfield Inn. It is more like an Inn than a traditional B&B. We stayed in the Patrick Henry room which was very well furnished. My wife really enjoyed the claw foot tub. We also enjoyed some of the quirkiness (ask about the pennies that are left EVERYWHERE!) The food was good, but not as remarkable as we have experienced at other B&B's. That was more than made up by the friendliness and good service we received from all of the staff. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll County, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Fairfield Inn is a B and B located on one of the roads in/out of Gettysburg, PA. It's a comfortable place to stay, with very reasonable rates. The breakfasts are excellent, especially the homemade scones. With a tavern and dining room on premises, it has everything one could want.The food is delicious too. The staff and owners are friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westlake
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We loved the warm hospitality of Joan and the staff, the uniqueness and architectural detail of all the lovely rooms, the great food and history of the Fairfield Inn. The stay enriched our family trip to Gettysburg.

Room Tip: The 1757 room was great and comfortable for a family of 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I wanted to stay in a place near Gettysburg that wasn't just another ordinary run of the mill hotel or motel. The Fairfield Inn fits this category in more ways than one; this is a place with a great history to it especially from the Civil War and before. The rooms were extremely clean and bear a strong resemblance to hotel rooms of the 19th century but with the modern comforts that we would expect today. In terms of price, it is great value considering that one would most likely pay more for the same type of accommodation in Gettysburg itself. The staff were wonderful and friendly. The restaurant served good food and is fairly good value in comparison with what one might find in Gettysburg. If you like a quiet location within 15 minutes of Gettysburg, with an illustrious history, and something different from just another motel or hotel this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stay at the Fairfield Inn if you want to experience what lodging was like during the Civil War.
The water in the shower never gets hot, only medium cool if you're lucky.
While you wait for the shower to never get hot, the water pools up around your ankles due to clogged drains.

The old decrepit window air conditioner grinds away in an effort to cool the room that never gets below 75 degrees.
Don't expect to hear anything while the ac struggles in vain.
Think about what the engine room of a Liberian Freighter might sound like.

Expect strangers touring the house, or just looking around, to open one of the doors to your room and peer in without warning.
This is possible because some of the doors have no locks.5

Ironing boards, but no iron.
Bathroom doors with windows looking directly in at the commode.
One small bar of soap for two each day.

We opted for the "romantic getaway" which for an additional $45 included dinner for two. However, the $14.25 gratuity that was added to our bill upon check in was not made known to us beforehand. We had every intention on tipping for good service after dinner, however it should have been at our discretion, not theirs, which was 32%.

I suppose these experiences were expected during the Civil War.
Enjoy your stay at the Fairfield Inn.
It's truly one of kind.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
It is absolutley true that trav1000081 experienced a problem with a lock to an adjoining suite, the first such occurance with one of the Inn's original locks dating to the 1760's. What this traveller fails to mentioned is that I responded immediately by fixing the lock within fifteen minutes. Additionally, I offered this couple their choice of a free upgrade to one of the Inn's guest suites or a complete and immediate refund even though they had already stayed one night and enjoyed their breakfast. If they were having all the difficulties that they stated regarding their room, why wouldn't they have changed rooms and taken the free upgrade? As the 26th owners since 1757, my wife and I are proud to be continuing a tradition of fine food, service and lodging to travelers visiting this historic Inn. We look forward to many more years of providing our unique style of History and Hospitality. Sal Chandon, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757

Also Known As:
The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 Hotel Fairfield
The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 Hotel
Fairfield Fairfield
Fairfield Inn Fairfield
Fairfield Fairfield Inn
Address: 15 West Main Street, P.O. Box 300, Fairfield, PA 17320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Fairfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fairfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Fairfield Inn has been in continuous operation since 1757, and is one of the five oldest inns in the country. Our rooms and suites are sumptuously decorated, and our food delicious. The restaurant is noted for our Chicken and Biscuits, and our Ham and Bean Soup (which is the same recipe as was served to the retreating Confederate forces on July 4th, 1863). Visitors to the Historic Fairfield Inn include Patrick Henry, Thaddeus Stevens, J.E.B. Stuart, Robert E. Lee, and the Eisenhowers.This is a "must stop" destination for visitors to Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.