We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inn near Gettysburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 to your Saves list
The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 West Main Street, P.O. Box 300, Fairfield, PA 17320   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Fairfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cordova, Maryland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Inn near Gettysburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Fairfield Inn. It is more like an Inn than a traditional B&B. We stayed in the Patrick Henry room which was very well furnished. My wife really enjoyed the claw foot tub. We also enjoyed some of the quirkiness (ask about the pennies that are left EVERYWHERE!) The food was good, but not as remarkable as we have experienced at other B&B's. That was more than made up by the friendliness and good service we received from all of the staff. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    25
    7
    5
    8
See reviews for
21
60
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carroll County, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Fairfield Inn is a B and B located on one of the roads in/out of Gettysburg, PA. It's a comfortable place to stay, with very reasonable rates. The breakfasts are excellent, especially the homemade scones. With a tavern and dining room on premises, it has everything one could want.The food is delicious too. The staff and owners are friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westlake
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We loved the warm hospitality of Joan and the staff, the uniqueness and architectural detail of all the lovely rooms, the great food and history of the Fairfield Inn. The stay enriched our family trip to Gettysburg.

Room Tip: The 1757 room was great and comfortable for a family of 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I wanted to stay in a place near Gettysburg that wasn't just another ordinary run of the mill hotel or motel. The Fairfield Inn fits this category in more ways than one; this is a place with a great history to it especially from the Civil War and before. The rooms were extremely clean and bear a strong resemblance to hotel rooms of the 19th century but with the modern comforts that we would expect today. In terms of price, it is great value considering that one would most likely pay more for the same type of accommodation in Gettysburg itself. The staff were wonderful and friendly. The restaurant served good food and is fairly good value in comparison with what one might find in Gettysburg. If you like a quiet location within 15 minutes of Gettysburg, with an illustrious history, and something different from just another motel or hotel this is the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Stay at the Fairfield Inn if you want to experience what lodging was like during the Civil War.
The water in the shower never gets hot, only medium cool if you're lucky.
While you wait for the shower to never get hot, the water pools up around your ankles due to clogged drains.

The old decrepit window air conditioner grinds away in an effort to cool the room that never gets below 75 degrees.
Don't expect to hear anything while the ac struggles in vain.
Think about what the engine room of a Liberian Freighter might sound like.

Expect strangers touring the house, or just looking around, to open one of the doors to your room and peer in without warning.
This is possible because some of the doors have no locks.5

Ironing boards, but no iron.
Bathroom doors with windows looking directly in at the commode.
One small bar of soap for two each day.

We opted for the "romantic getaway" which for an additional $45 included dinner for two. However, the $14.25 gratuity that was added to our bill upon check in was not made known to us beforehand. We had every intention on tipping for good service after dinner, however it should have been at our discretion, not theirs, which was 32%.

I suppose these experiences were expected during the Civil War.
Enjoy your stay at the Fairfield Inn.
It's truly one of kind.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
It is absolutley true that trav1000081 experienced a problem with a lock to an adjoining suite, the first such occurance with one of the Inn's original locks dating to the 1760's. What this traveller fails to mentioned is that I responded immediately by fixing the lock within fifteen minutes. Additionally, I offered this couple their choice of a free upgrade to one of the Inn's guest suites or a complete and immediate refund even though they had already stayed one night and enjoyed their breakfast. If they were having all the difficulties that they stated regarding their room, why wouldn't they have changed rooms and taken the free upgrade? As the 26th owners since 1757, my wife and I are proud to be continuing a tradition of fine food, service and lodging to travelers visiting this historic Inn. We look forward to many more years of providing our unique style of History and Hospitality. Sal Chandon, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

My Fiancee and I had stopped into The Fairfield Inn last Wednesday it was probably after 7pm.
I will start by noting how clean and historic this inn is, you can feel the layers of history reach out and wrap around you . We were seated in the back dining room with a beautiful period fireplace in the backdrop as well as lowlight candles on every table, very peaceful . The server was very attentive- we chose to order coffees and the coffees were rich and flavorful, I ordered the appetizer of Bruschetta..delicious...My fiancee ordered The French Onion soup he stated it was the best he had ever had, I ordered The Ham and Bean Soup and it was also delicious and had so much flavor.They brought us a they beautiful little star shaped breads with real butter to spread,the bread seemed like a very old recipe,they were rich and flaky super good.
I should mention the time exspanse between items allows ample relaxation, not a rushed atmosphere,nor a too long wait! I ordered for my meal the Iceberg lettuce wedge salad it was presented with style beauty and awesome flavor the dressing was homemade and there were green grapes served along with crumbled blue cheese on the side of the plate, delicious. My fiancee ordered a Classic Caesar salad and he was not dissapointed it was huge well dressed and tasty , All in all we highly recommend The Fairfield Inn . I would dine there again and actually would love to stop in on a Sunday to try their new buffet. The Inn itself is beautiful and a must see for History Lovers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

This well maintained & operated Inn provided comfort, history, atmosphere & food. What more could you ask for??
The room (1757 suite) was very comfy & we all had a particularly fine sleep - important!! The breakfasts were very tasty, filling & served promptly.
The one thing though we really appreciated was the staff, from the cooks, to Andi (the girl Friday) & the owner, Sal. They all took an interest in your stay & made you feel very welcome to the area. Even Andi's girls were a pleasure to meet! Also very close to Gettysburg itself & to the Bluegrass festival, which was our main reason for coming here this time.
This was our second stay & again lived up to expectations.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fairfield
3.1 mi away
The Lodges at Gettysburg
The Lodges at Gettysburg
#7 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
10.1 mi away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#11 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,646 reviews
7.5 mi away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#5 of 29 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,171 reviews
9.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg
1.0 mi away
The Fairfield Lodge
The Fairfield Lodge
#1 of 1 in Fairfield
4.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757

Address: 15 West Main Street, P.O. Box 300, Fairfield, PA 17320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Fairfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Fairfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Historic Fairfield Inn offers an enticing, warm, unique and memorable experience. It has been in continuous operation since 1757, and is one of the five oldest continuously operating inns in the country. Our rooms and suites are sumptuously decorated, and our food delicious. The restaurant is noted for our Chicken and Biscuits, and our Ham and Bean Soup (which is the same recipe as was served to the retreating Confederate forces on July 4th, 1863). Visitors to the Historic Fairfield Inn include Patrick Henry, Thaddeus Stevens, Robert E. Lee, and Mamie Eisenhower. This is a "must stop" destination for visitors to Gettysburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757 Hotel Fairfield
Fairfield Inn Fairfield
Fairfield Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Fairfield Inn 1757, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.