We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   120 N. Pottstown Pike, Exton, PA 19341   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Exton
Oradell, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Dirty Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed here this past weekend for a soccer tournament. We checked in to our first floor room (114) and I immediately noticed that the top sheet had a dark stain on it. The bottom sheet had a half dollar sized stain at the head. The window shelf had a large dead spider on it, and various webs, so I decided to ask for a new room. I was given a room two doors down (116), and was happy to find that the bedding appeared clean, though the room smelled moldy. The window sill had a dead bee on it, the A/C unit had a thick layer of dust on it, and the wallpaper under the window had black mold growing on it. Giving up on finding a nice room, we settled in, and enjoyed the mildew stained shower, and assorted hairs throughout.

The Staff was curt and unapologetic for the first room issues, and didn't even ask how the second room was when I returned the first set of keys. I'm not picky, but wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEExton120, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave us a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are very sorry to hear that you experienced inconviences during your stay, and we did not meet your expectations. We appreciate all reviews that we recieve from valued guest like you. This enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure we do not fall short for our future guests. We hope that when you return to the Exton area, you will give us another chance to make your stay everything you expect and more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    24
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
26
18
20
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolcott, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel each year for 6 tears. The hotel is well mainained. Nice outdoor pool.Close to the Exton Mall and food options. Winners Circke Sports Bar accross the street is a good choice. The front desk staff, Blaise, Vicoria, Lesha, Heike and Mandy go out of their way to be helpfull. Have a chat with Jerry who works nights! Great person! Elaine in Sales makes each guest feel like like they are visiting with family. I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
express120, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Joe B, you ARE part of our family! Your continued support of our team is so greatly appreciated. Thank you so very, very much for the kind words and taking the time to recognize so many of the team by name. I have posted your review for all staff to read in order that they may be justifiable proud of the efforts they put forth on a daily basis. Recognition like yours is a boost to morale and serves as motivation to continue to strive to exceed our guest's expectation. We look forward to your next visit. Michael J. Egolf - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a baseball tournament. It was an excellent experience. The staff was wonderful, Elaine was by the #1!!! They brought out waters to the kids in the pool, they let us use the meeting room for dinner. The rooms were clean and was priced just right! Breakfast was by far the best in a hotel that we have had.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
express120, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you, Jo T for your very kind remarks about your stay with us! As you may have noticed it has been a very busy tournament season for us this summer but I am very pleased to see we continue to provide our visiting teams with exceptional service. It means so very much to us when you take the time to submit such wonderful observations. On behalf of our entire "family", I extend our deepest gratitude and best wishes for your team. We hope to see you again very soon.
Michael J. Egolf - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We just stayed here while we were in the area for a baseball tournament. The staff was friendly and helpful. The manager made welcome packets and had file folders of information on the area for us at the front desk. The room was very clean and everything you could want for the price. Pool was refreshing and clean with a nice deck area to relax. The location couldn't have been better!!! We were able to walk to restaurants, shops and grocery store. Anytime we are in the area this is where we will stay!

Room Tip: If you need a refrigerator, ask for one when booking because they are not in every room and are limi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
express120, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
It is refreshing to hear so many kind comments from the various teams that travel to our hotel. As you observed, we try to anticipate the needs of families and teams traveling to our area for competitions and in some small way we feel invested in the success of your team by doing our part in reducing the "hassle factor". From the housekeepers and the front desk staff as well as the breakfast crew I extend a very sincere thank you for your remarks regarding our efforts. Please come and visit us again, soon.

Michael J. Egolf - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just stayed at this hotel. Staff seemed very nice and the site was clean. The only problem I had was the thermostat was difficult to adjust and it was soooo hot the room could barely cool down. It would have gotten a much higher mark from me if the thermostat worked as expected.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear jcarissimo67,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. It is motivating to know you found our staff very nice and our property clean. We apologize for the disappointment you had with the thermostat. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

When we checked in room smelled musty. Tried to use hair dryer and it smelled like it was burning. The hotel was nice on the outside. Hard to get into. Staff good. Breakfast was good.
Was very crowded but had enough room to eat in. Pool area nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear JoEllyn D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. It is our pleasure to accommodate our guests needs the best way we can and we are so pleased you appreciate our hotel exterior as well as our staff and the breakfast you had. We apologize for the disappointment the room cleanliness had caused you. Please remain assured that we have recorded your comments and will forward it to the appropriate departments for future considerations. Despite your disappointment we do hope you will stay with us again when you can be assured of our very best attention.

Thank you again for your feedback and have a wonderful day!

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We happily recommend this hotel to anyone We were traveling with family and our daughter's lacrosse team in the area for a tournament.The hotel was clean and comfortable, the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be accommodating, there is a nice outdoor pool, fitness center, some meeting rooms, and a breakfast area.

There is a restaurant just steps away and all sorts of shops, restaurants and conveniences. The hotel is well suited for families, business travelers, couples, individuals, teams. Though there are several teams here at the moment, the halls are quiet.This hotel has a director of sales with many years of experience hosting teams and she was even a team parent herself once upon a time, so she understands the needs of teams. Unlike in other hotels we have stayed with teams, she takes extra steps to assure things run smoothly for teams from check in to check out. We appreciated the extra attention and would happily return with a team OR with our family.

Drawbacks: no refrigerator or microwave in rooms; rooms w two beds have doubles, not queens; and several of our rooms had faulty air conditioning issues which is tough in the summer. Hotel was willing to move our room if we were up for the hassle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
express120, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind words regarding your recent visit for your team event. As you noted, Elaine our Director of Sales goes to great lengths to insure a great stay for our guests and as a "team mom" she is always mindful of the needs of teams and families that travel to competitions. Her philosophy is the groundwork upon which we have built a culture of delivering exceptional service. I am so pleased you have taken the time to acknowledge the efforts our "team" put forth to make your stay enjoyable. Comments like yours are the fuel that drives us to continue to strive for excellence in customer service. Our best wishes for the team to keep winning and may your travels bring you to our doors again very soon.

Michael J. Egolf - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville

Address: 120 N. Pottstown Pike, Exton, PA 19341
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Exton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Exton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a video tour of our hotel. Located just minutes away from QVC Studio Park and Longwood Gardens, The Holiday Inn Express Exton Hotel is your best choice for accessibility, convenience, and superior service in Chester County, Pennsylvania. Perfect for the business or leisure traveler, our hotel is 1 mile from Amtrak train station and minutes from the Philadelphia Airport. There's plenty of space to work and relax with our complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, 24 hour fitness center, and an outdoor seasonal pool. For a great start to your day begin your mornings with our complimentary award winning Express Start breakfast bar and a hot cup of coffee. After a long day, you can walk on over to one of the eight different restaurants conveniently located in the same shopping center as our hotel. The Exton Square Mall is also located just across the street for additional casual shopping and dining. Finish your night in one of our 124 spacious rooms that offer comfort and luxurious bedding, large work station, and over 40 TV channels. We also offer executive king and queen bedded rooms which include microwave/refrigerators. Our staff prides themselves on providing a warm and welcoming atmosphere, so whatever may bring you into our area, you are always right at home in the Holiday Inn Express Exton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville Hotel Exton
Holiday Inn Exton
Exton Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Exton - Lionville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.