We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Comfy, Cozy Home away from Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barndollarhouse B & B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Everett
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barndollarhouse B & B
Save
You added Barndollarhouse B & B to your Saves list
219 East Main Street, Everett, PA 15537   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Everett B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Comfy, Cozy Home away from Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed during the second week of the Bedford Fall Foliage Festival. I arrived much later than I anticipated but still received a warm welcome. I made a quick trip to the pizza place in the next block for some take out. I was able to heat up my soup in the microwave in the second floor snack area and sit at the small table to eat. There was a fridge stocked with soda and baskets with coffee, tea, cocoa and snacks. The bathroom was small but well stocked with toiletries. A fan unit also provided heat. The bed and pillow were firmer than what I have at home but I slept very well. A small electric fireplace took the chill off and made the room feel cozy. The bedroom and the public rooms were very clean. The only downside is that the house is on a fairly busy street and it can be noisy. I was very tired every day so I slept well. Breakfast was delicious every morning. Everyday there was something different including quiche, homemade apple crisp, homemade applesauce, pancakes, bacon, eggs, fruit, yogurt and granola. But best of all, are the owners, Paul and Belva who made me feel like I was visiting family.

Room Tip: Both rooms are on the street side of the house and both have a queen sized bed and a daybed. I gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
6
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Turtle Creek
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Barndollarhouse B&B in Everett, PA, Sept 21st and 22nd 2013 and absolutely loved it. The atmosphere took us back in time as if living in upper class society in the 1860's. .The decorating in the house was beautiful. The owners, Paul and Belva were wonderful and kind and made us feel at home. We enjoyed a few deep conversations as we shared each others views on many subjects. The B&B was absolutely spotless and so accommodating, cozy and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious with lots to eat. We couldn't say one negative thing about our stay and we would definitely go back again.

Linda and Gregg

Room Tip: The 2nd floor was nice and all other rooms were just as appealing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The room was great. It was nice and comfortable. The Breakfast was unbelievable. It Tasted great and there was a great variety. The owners were personable and attentive. The whole house was decorated in the civil war style.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We chose Everett as a halfway point from leaving West Mifflin on our way to Gettysburg on our US trip & we are very glad we did.

We arrived at this gorgeous picture postcard perfect B&B and were greeted by owner Paul (Belva was out at the time). He was wonderful. We were given the Confederate Room which was just gorgeous! Spotless, great decor, huge comfy bed, strong hot shower.

Outside the door was a fridge where we could help ourselves to juice, water or soda (and snacks!) which was much appreciated.

We spent the afternoon enjoying the glorious autumn foliage sightseeing at the historical Old Bedford Village and when we arrived back to the Barndollar, we met the lovely Belva. Paul then kindly offered us tickets the Old Bedford Village's GHOST HUNT for that night which was wonderful of them as it was an interesting experience.

After a fabulous nights sleep, we were served a delicious breakfast (Im not a big breakfast person BUT this was to die for!!!!!!! I ate my fill). The dining room was stunning and my hubby had fun taking some lovely photos of the Barndollar house.

As I am an animal lover, we were shown through to where Paul & Belva's pets were and had great cuddles which was appreciated by all. We had a great chat with the Slagenweit's & found ourselves lucky to meet such lovely honest hardworking people.

All in all, it was a true blue American Country (aka rural Pennsylvanian) experience & exactly what we needed as this made us fall deeper in love with glorious PA!

I still keep in touch with Paul & Belva as they were such wonderful people & hope to for many many years to come!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

Such a comfortable B&B! Our hosts gave us tips on pretty drives, good eating spots, directions to the wedding location and Gettysburg. Our room was clean and spacious with a wonderful bed. The breakfasts were very good and we enjoyed our post-meal confab with Belva & Paul to review yesterday's adventures and plan today's trips. We've paid twice this amount at comparable B&B's. Wonderful place!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

The Barndollar House is a Top-Ten B&B! Belva and Paul (innkeepers) seemed like good friends by the time we left the next morning. It was a last minute decision to find a place to stay on our way home from vacation. We made a last minute call from our vacation place and Belva took only our name to keep a reservation for us. We had our choice of rooms...both of which looked very comfortable. Drinks and snacks were readily available right outside our room door. Breakfast (cooked by Paul) was outstanding. Conversation was comfortable and pleasant...they happened to know the area where we lived.
The only drawback of this B&B is its location in proximity to the street. Construction in the area causes many 18-wheelers and dump trucks to use the route through town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2007

My fiancee' and I had the pleasure of staying at the Barndollar B&B for our hunting trip in Clearville. We had a beautiful room along with wonderful breakfasts before we headed into the mountains. Belva even hung out our wet hunting suits in the basement to dry and packed us sandwiches and snacks for the next day. We didn't get our deer but sure did have a fantastic time at the Barndollar. We will be recommending it to our family next year who will be coming in from St. Louis to hunt. Truly a wonderful place to stay with hosts Paul and Belva making you feel right at home.

  • Liked — The hospitality of the owners and the beautiful rooms.
  • Disliked — Everything was fine.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barndollarhouse B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barndollarhouse B & B

Address: 219 East Main Street, Everett, PA 15537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Everett
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Everett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barndollar House is an 1868 home decorated in the Civil War Theme. Three bedrooms are available, all with private bathrooms, ceiling fans and cable TV. Two of the bedrooms have queen-size beds and a daybed. The third bedroom has a double bed. A country breakfast is served in the dining room. Soft drinks, bottled water and snacks are available upstairs. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barndollarhouse B & B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.