We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a 2 day stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harrisburg South Super 8 Motel

Harrisburg South Super 8 Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harrisburg South Super 8 Motel to your Saves list
Harrisburg South Super 8 Motel
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   70 Robinhood Dr, Etters, PA 17319   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Etters
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Okay for a 2 day stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The hotel was not bad at all. We did a weekend trip to Hershey and decided to stay here. Because we plan to be out and about for the two days we didn't mind since we were not going to be in the room as much. Gayle was the person at the front desk working when we checked in - she was nice. The rooms are very dates - the AC looked like it was from the 1980's but dont let that fool you the room was cold after turning it on - it surprised me how cold the room got. The location not so bad a diner just 2 minutes away and the best a Walmart (for any items that your forget to pack) is down the street and its open 24 hours. Hershey was a straight 24 minute drive.
All in all not a bad hotel for the price - $55.00.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    27
    12
    18
See reviews for
32
17
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Rooms were good enough for the price. The desk attendants were very friendly and helpful. Not much of a breakfast but didn't expect much. Rooms were fairly clean although the floor in our room seemed damp and there was a slight odor.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe Claire, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I had booked a non smoking Queen a week in advance.Finally arrived after a hard days ride.(motorcycles)We were greeted by a very friendly woman but was told that the "non smoking room we'd requested was not available but they had a 2 dbl non smoking room for $20 more.I told the woman and the owner that this was not acceptable.We would take the 2 bed room but not at a much higher price.We were to stay 2 nights but the owner didn't care.We were invited to go elsewhere.So much for customer service!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Tx
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

The Super 8 in Etters is your average Super 8: no frills, but clean. Our only complaint would be that the bed sheets were too short. What makes the motel, however, is the staff. Everyone we dealt with was very nice. The location is out in the boondocks of Harrisburg, so if you're staying to do things in Harrisburg, be aware that you're on the far side of town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Average Super 8, but when we stayed we requested ground floor due to physical difficulties with stairs. Only a few registered, but they told me there were no ground floor rooms available. The hotel is aging, and the halls are not cleaned regularly. However, the rooms are typical Super 8 quality, and fairly clean. Front desk went to a lot of trouble to help me when I needed to change my reservation, whereas Wyndham.com was rude and refused to budge!

Room Tip: Not much to say. It's a Super 8. Over the years the over all quality of the chain has declined...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are super clean, as is the entire facility. Had to stay 4 nights while waiting for RV repairs. We found this motel to be a pleasant place to stay. Rates are reasonable. Fast food and diner in walking distance. Laundromat could be walked to, too. Right next door to ice cream. Breakfast was delicious. Would recommend for travelers. Right off Rt 83. Staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Our stay was great (friendly staff, clean room, no problems) until I checked my bill the next week: we'd been charged thirty dollars for phone calls, when we'd made no phone calls at all from our room. I called several times to try to get this remedied, and was told that I'd need to wait until the end of the month when their phone bill came in. How they had enough information about the calls to charge us but not enough information to verify that it was a mistake (or take our word for it) was never explained.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harrisburg South Super 8 Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrisburg South Super 8 Motel

Address: 70 Robinhood Dr, Etters, PA 17319
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Etters
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Etters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Harrisburg South Super 8 Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harrisburg South Super 8 Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etters Super 8
Etters Super Eight
Super 8 Etters

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrisburg South Super 8 Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.