We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly fine for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport to your Saves list
Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Industrial Highway, Essington, PA 19029   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Essington
New City, NY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Perfectly fine for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Nothing special, but it met our needs for one night. The room was clean and appeared to be recently updated, although a bit cramped for a family of four. The bathroom in particular was very small. My only real complaint was that the mattress was too soft. So, my back was sore when I woke up.

We stayed here after visiting family in the area. The next morning, we headed into Philly for some sightseeing. The hotel is right off I-95 and we were at Independence Hall in just 15 minutes (it was a Sunday morning).

This property does not offer breakfast, but is right next to a Denny's.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Hello and thank you for your review. I am sorry our mattress was too soft. I will share your comments with our staff and we will continue to improve our quality. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    30
    26
    18
    17
See reviews for
27
19
23
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake Worth Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

If I could give this hotel a -1, I would. They gouged with the price knowing about the airport canceling flights, there's no shuttle, no hair dryer, no coffee maker, and such a small shampoo that it only serviced one if us. Never again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Ms. Chalhoub,

Thank you so much for your review. We take everyone's opinion and experience very seriously. As you may know Red Roof Inn has different types of rooms. I am sorry you did not get a chance to experience our newly renovated Superior King that does include hair dryer, refrigerator and microwave, iron and ironing board, coffee maker and other essentials. In addition, for those guests that choose a different type of room we have complementary items at the front desk, when our friendly Guest Services Representative would gladly supply anyone in need. Furthermore, I can assure you that as a company we never goug our rates and stay competitive with everyone in the area. Again, thank you so very much for your review and pleasant travels in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed 10 days while visiting Phili, the room was very small and dark. I had to ask for towels and a hair dryer since it wasn't there when we arrived. WiFi internet was very unstable and no food store close by. Cleaning was done daily, but very sloppy and late during the day. I would never recommend or come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Ms. Isabella O,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry we did not meet your expectation after your 10 day stay in Philadelphia. I wish during your stay you would have mentioned your issues so that you could experience our newly renovated Superior King that is bigger in size with large selection of amenities. Again, thank you so much for your review and pleasant future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I booked this hotel after booking another Red Roof in Hickory, and thinking that the amenities would be the same. But not. The hotel was $78 plus taxes, and it was in remodel. The door doesn't worked properly, there wasn't a cofee maker nor a microwaves, the door was wet/painted and there was plenty of contractors in the morning. Just in front of this hotel there is a Motel 6 for $33.... seriously? I would recommend not to book this hotel until they finish the remodeling. Maybe then the price will worth it...but not now, for sure!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Mr. Cardena, thank you for your review. As we continue to improve our hotel with new rooms, I am proud to say that, even with better quality of the rooms then other hotels in the area, we are still competitively priced. Our renovation will be completed in a few weeks and we will gladly have you back. On a side note, Motel 6 price sign hasn't been working properly, their rate is $69.99. Thanks again for your comments and I hope you have great holiday season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Visit family and friends in the area often. Always stay here. Yes it is an older building and they are upgrading. Staff is always friendly and professional. While I have read other reviews on the housekeeping...being in the cleaning business myself there are certain things I look at. Sheets are clean (mattresses are comfortable) and bathrooms are clean. Since they are remodeling. am am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Jody, Thank you so much for your review. Yes, we are almost done! New Rooms, new Furniture ...100% smoke free. I will share your comments with my staff and we are so glad you are coming back to stay with us. See you soon! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place is absolutely awful. When you start looking longingly at the Motel 6 next door you know you have a problem. LOL Got there late in the evening and opened up the door to a room that smelled like smoke among other things, had stains on every fabric service in the room (carpet, chair, bedspread, exposed box springs), including a big gooey spot right in the middle of the floor. Immediately asked for a different room and after inspecting it first. decided it was a better option (no goo and less smelly). However that room wasn't perfect. The night stand was sticky with what looked like spilled pop, there was a dirty rag in the shower and the chair in the room was filthy. This hotel is also not in a safe area, however I did see cops patrolling the parking lot regularly.

On the plus side, despite the thin sheets, the beds were amazingly comfy and the pillows newer and fluffy. Because the building is so old, it was actually pretty sound proof.

All in all, this was a pretty yucky place to stay and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. I don't mind old, but I can't tolerate dirty which is just pure laziness on the part of the staff. One other sort of funny note, on the last day there (we stayed more than one night....shudder), housekeeping didn't even bother cleaning our room, they just threw clean towels on the bed which of course would immediately make them unclean.

Room Tip: Stay anywhere but here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. Negative reviews help us to correct the issues and make other guest enjoy their stay. As you may have noticed our property is going through renovation and soon we will have new rooms with hard wood floors and new furniture. If you ever in town try us again. Unfortunately, I cannot change the view of Motel 6, but I can assure you the quality of our rooms will be different. Thanks again for your candid opinion about our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely the worst hotel I've stayed at in all my travels. First its way overpriced. $ 75 for a rundown out of date red roof inn? !?! It serms to me that they want todays guests to pay for the remodel. The room was dirty. I pull back the bedspread and there is a big stain on the corner of the sheet. I tried calling down to the office to get a new room. No answer. I walk down and no one is there. Sleep fully clothed in the bed. About 1 am I am woke up to knocking at my door. Its a hooker offering her services. I go back to sleep. Wake up the next morning and no elevator. Overall horrid.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia C, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. I hope you can understand that this is not a typical condition or situation for this property. Yes, we are going through renovation however our rates are still comparable to the local hotels in the area. I would like to personally apologize for your experience and it is my hope that you will give us another chance in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport

Address: 49 Industrial Highway, Essington, PA 19029
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Essington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Essington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly renovated Red Roof PLUS+ hotel is proud to offer brand new Premium rooms with upgraded amenities and service. The entire hotel has just finished a complete renovation. We invite you to let us "WOW" you on your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Red Roof Inn, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Philadelphia Airport Hotel Essington
Red Roof Inn Essington
Essington Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.