We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Philadephia airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Taylor Avenue, Essington, PA 19029 (Formerly The Waterfront Inn Lago)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%!
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Essington
sugarloaf
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Close to Philadephia airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Love this hotel and especially the staff who are very helpful, kind, and make one feel very welcome. They have onsite parking at seven dollars a day which is cheaper than the surrounding
car parks. I have parked there many times without a problem as the area is well lit. They offer
free shuttle service to and from the airport which runs every half hour on the hour from 6 a.m. to
one a.m.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Travelskip,

Here at our Holiday Inn Express we most certainly thank you for your time and comment as we read each one! We are glad you had a great experiance with us. We look forward to your future stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    36
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
17
23
8
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I originally booked for the hotel next door. After having an absolutely horrible experience over there, Rodney, one of the night front desk agents assisted us with getting checked out over there and got us a room at this hotel for the same length of our stay. He gave me a great deal to help with the cost. Super friendly and very professional. He helped us turn such a rocky start into a much better stay. The room was a million times better than the first room I had checked into and the beds were very very comfortable. Very clean and spacious. It was a very convenient location for me because I didnt have a car and needed to be in chester the few days of our trip which was very close. Every one I came in contact there between the shuttle service who picked me up at the airport to the wonderful lady who ran the free breakfast to even housekeeping. Everyone was amazingly friendly and it was definitely a great clean inexpensive spot to stay. Hopefully if I am able to come back to Philly soon this will be the place I chose to stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
KaitieHorton,

On behalf of our staff here at the Holiday Inn Express, we are most certainly glad that we were able to help your experiance be a better one! Thank you for taking your time to comment and for all your compliments, we will be sure to let staff know about your great compliments! Thank you again!

Sincerly,
Shanna Frisby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I reserved 6 rooms with varying days of arrival, varying number of occupants in each room, and varying times of departure. One room was cancelled but the remaining 5 were occupied. Tarshia was wonderful. She is a valuable asset to Holiday Inn Express. Tarshia was very professional and treated all 12 of us with respect and sensitivity. Our requests were handled promptly and feedback was readily provided. We left with warm feelings. The entire staff was friendly and courteous; the Cook, Housekeeper and the Shuttle Driver. The food was good. The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. We were visiting Philly to attend our sister's surprise 60th birthday party and BOTH experiences were GREAT!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Rena R,

We are most certainly glad you stayed with us and that we were able to meet your expectations! Thank you for taking the time to comment to let us know about your great experiance with us! We will be sure to let Tarshia and the rest of the staff know about your wonderful compliments. Thanks again.

Sincerly
Shanna Frisby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I got stuck in the Philadelphia airport on the way to Phoenix. When we asked Delta if they were going to furnish us a hotel room, they gave us a pink slip with a list of hotels. We called the Holiday Inn Express and they had a room. They quoted us the rate on the pink slip of $89 for the night. When we arrived at the hotel thirty minutes later, the clerk told us the rate was $109 for the night. The clerk at desk says it happens ALL the time. Shame on you Holiday Inn Express and shame on US Airways for giving out the names of hotels that take advantage of stranded travelers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Curly 1930,

On behalf of the staff here at Holiday Inn Express, we apologize for any inconvenience that you experianced during your stay with us! Our goal is that we will deliver great a experiance at all times. Thank you for your comment, as it helps us improve in every area. We would love to speak with you, please give us a call! Thanks again.

Sincerly
Shanna Frisby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while touring Philly then flying home.
The room was a little run down but still pleasant. It's in an industrial area near a marina and on the flight path to the airport. We enjoyed watching planes taking off and landing, plus watching the colony of feral cats that live next door in an abandoned garage. They had some very kind people stop by to feed them daily. May have turned off some but we enjoy it. We even made a point of going down to talk to the older couple that came. Lovely people.
They have the morning breakfast buffet put together and maintained by a couple of hard working staff. (Please remember to tip these people, they never expect it but it's nice to say thanks) We were taken by the staff coming in in the morning through the lobby entrance and giving a cheery Good morning to everyone in the breakfast area. staff from the front desk to the cleaning staff were so pleasant and helpful. We were delivered to the airport safely and pleasantly by their van driver.
We like Holiday Inn Express and have stayed in many, they are never perfect but we always come back. And we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the airport noise, stops at night and doesn't start until about 7 am
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hello Kitten50 - We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at Holiday Inn Express we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent one night before travelling back to Germany.
Tarshia granted us a late check - out (2 p.m.) which was highly appreciated because our flight left only at 6 p.m.
Rooms were clean and spacious. Hotel is close to the airport. Shuttle to the airport was perfect. Very friendly drivers (we had three lifts). Service is provided every 30 minutes 24 hours/day.
However hotel needs renovation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at Holiday Inn Express we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft lauderdale
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

i have been a customer here since their opening, however the only thing I seem to remember iis the great staff ! the van driver was very helpful and drove us safely to and from, he was also courteous and dressed very nicely. I was impressed ! have had other drivers and didn't feel safe,mostly because the others seem to always drive above the speed limits, which is scary to most. I always am glad when jonathan is driving , hes knowledgeable of the area and anything else you may need help with,i was grateful when he carried my heavy bags hes always pleasant and very gentlemanly. thanks again jonathan !

Room Tip: great staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor and your kind compliments mentioned about our van driver Jonathan. On behalf of the staff we greatly appreciate your loyalty in staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport

Address: 101 Taylor Avenue, Essington, PA 19029 (Formerly The Waterfront Inn Lago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Essington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Essington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Brand New Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport in Essington, PA. Our courtesy shuttle will take you to the only hotel on the Delaware River waterfront. Located adjacent to Governor Printz Park, our guests enjoy the scenic views of the river and marina. Explore the attractions, restaurants and entertainment of Downtown Philadelphia. Don’t miss the historic sites, including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House. Also discover the Old City District, where you will experience the best shopping, dining and culture. If you’re a sports fan, the hotel is minutes from the Philadelphia Sports Complex. This site includes Lincoln Financial Field, Wells Fargo Center and Citizens Bank Park. The Philadelphia Union Soccer Stadium, PPL Park, is 3 miles away, near Harrah’s Casino and Racetrack. For our business clientele, we are located close to Boeing, UPS, Sunoco, Philadelphia Navy Yard, and the airlines serving the Philadelphia International Airport. After a long day, enjoy the waterfront scenery, or keep up with your workout routine in our fitness room. Jump start your day with our Express Start breakfast, serving your favorite hot breakfast selections and hot cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport Hotel Essington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.