We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fraudulant Rates” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Taylor Avenue, Essington, PA 19029 (Formerly The Waterfront Inn Lago)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Essington
Bangor
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fraudulant Rates”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I got stuck in the Philadelphia airport on the way to Phoenix. When we asked Delta if they were going to furnish us a hotel room, they gave us a pink slip with a list of hotels. We called the Holiday Inn Express and they had a room. They quoted us the rate on the pink slip of $89 for the night. When we arrived at the hotel thirty minutes later, the clerk told us the rate was $109 for the night. The clerk at desk says it happens ALL the time. Shame on you Holiday Inn Express and shame on US Airways for giving out the names of hotels that take advantage of stranded travelers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S P, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Curly 1930,

On behalf of the staff here at Holiday Inn Express, we apologize for any inconvenience that you experianced during your stay with us! Our goal is that we will deliver great a experiance at all times. Thank you for your comment, as it helps us improve in every area. We would love to speak with you, please give us a call! Thanks again.

Sincerly
Shanna Frisby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    42
    30
    12
    9
See reviews for
20
23
8
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while touring Philly then flying home.
The room was a little run down but still pleasant. It's in an industrial area near a marina and on the flight path to the airport. We enjoyed watching planes taking off and landing, plus watching the colony of feral cats that live next door in an abandoned garage. They had some very kind people stop by to feed them daily. May have turned off some but we enjoy it. We even made a point of going down to talk to the older couple that came. Lovely people.
They have the morning breakfast buffet put together and maintained by a couple of hard working staff. (Please remember to tip these people, they never expect it but it's nice to say thanks) We were taken by the staff coming in in the morning through the lobby entrance and giving a cheery Good morning to everyone in the breakfast area. staff from the front desk to the cleaning staff were so pleasant and helpful. We were delivered to the airport safely and pleasantly by their van driver.
We like Holiday Inn Express and have stayed in many, they are never perfect but we always come back. And we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the airport noise, stops at night and doesn't start until about 7 am
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Hello Kitten50 - We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at Holiday Inn Express we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We spent one night before travelling back to Germany.
Tarshia granted us a late check - out (2 p.m.) which was highly appreciated because our flight left only at 6 p.m.
Rooms were clean and spacious. Hotel is close to the airport. Shuttle to the airport was perfect. Very friendly drivers (we had three lifts). Service is provided every 30 minutes 24 hours/day.
However hotel needs renovation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S P, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us. On behalf of our entire staff here at Holiday Inn Express we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft lauderdale
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

i have been a customer here since their opening, however the only thing I seem to remember iis the great staff ! the van driver was very helpful and drove us safely to and from, he was also courteous and dressed very nicely. I was impressed ! have had other drivers and didn't feel safe,mostly because the others seem to always drive above the speed limits, which is scary to most. I always am glad when jonathan is driving , hes knowledgeable of the area and anything else you may need help with,i was grateful when he carried my heavy bags hes always pleasant and very gentlemanly. thanks again jonathan !

Room Tip: great staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor and your kind compliments mentioned about our van driver Jonathan. On behalf of the staff we greatly appreciate your loyalty in staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express was convenient to the airport and my family, that is why we stayed there. It was not a very nice hotel at all. The room was not clean, the bathroom was a mess. The hotel needs a mojor renovation. The hotel was also very noisy late into the night. There is a nightclub next store that was loud. We did not eat the breakfast because it did look good. The best thing I can say is it is a convenient location for the Philadelphia airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
First and foremost please accept our sincerest apology for not meeting your expectations during your recent visit to our hotel. I and my staff would greatly appreciate it if you could email us at gmhiphl@aol.com or call us at 610-521-1200 as we would like to know more detail so we can improve our level of service. Our hotel just opened two years ago this past June and as you can see on other reviews posted both on TripAdvisor and the IHG web site our hotel consistently receives high marks in regard to our cleanliness and for reasons unknown as of now we failed you, which is unacceptable. Within the past 5 weeks we had a surprise inspection from AAA and they gave our hotel the highest score you can achieve for cleanliness. Regarding our IHG Express Start Breakfast Buffet you state “We did not eat the breakfast because it did look good”, I am going to assume that you did not eat breakfast because it didn’t look good. Our Express Start Breakfast Buffet is of the highest IHG standards and includes Assorted Yoplait yogurts, fresh hard boiled eggs, assorted milks, IHG branded hot cinnamon buns, 4 types of cold cereal, Quaker Oats assorted oatmeals, make your own pancake machine. We rotate sausage links, sausage patties, and bacon each day. Fresh scrambled eggs (never powered, always fresh), biscuits baked each morning, sausage & gravy, assorted, bread & mini-muffins. Our juice selection is OJ, Apple, & Cranberry, along with our beverage station which is open 24 hours a day with fresh coffee, de-caf, and assorted teas. Please reach out to us as we would appreciate your detailed input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a nice hotel! Tucked back from the road, we found it to be very pleasant. The front desk staff were very kind, the room was clean and we didn't have any issues. The hot breakfast was a real treat and we enjoyed the pancakes!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank your for posting on TripAdvisor. Our staff here prides itself in the hotels cleanliness and was very appreciative in you commenting on the how clean our hotel is. We are also happy that you had a delightful breakfast to start your day off! We hope to be able to be your home away from home if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is out of the way, near airport.

Pros -

Free parking
Free Wifi
Free breakfast (well, the most basic type of course)

Cons -

Just a dry location
Nothing to do near by
20 mins to Downtown Philly

If you need a place to rest your head, and want a cheaper rate than the ridiculous downtown rates, this is a safe choice. There is zero wow factor but it is clean if not a tad stuffy. Worth it if money is an issue and you can snag it for $80 or so.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the lobby and also 2nd floor overlooking marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor. Your review was discussed amoungst the staff and we set in motion some action steps to see if we can create the Wow factor that was missing during your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport

Address: 101 Taylor Avenue, Essington, PA 19029 (Formerly The Waterfront Inn Lago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Essington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Essington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Brand New Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport in Essington, PA. Our courtesy shuttle will take you to the only hotel on the Delaware River waterfront. Located adjacent to Governor Printz Park, our guests enjoy the scenic views of the river and marina. Explore the attractions, restaurants and entertainment of Downtown Philadelphia. Don’t miss the historic sites, including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House. Also discover the Old City District, where you will experience the best shopping, dining and culture. If you’re a sports fan, the hotel is minutes from the Philadelphia Sports Complex. This site includes Lincoln Financial Field, Wells Fargo Center and Citizens Bank Park. The Philadelphia Union Soccer Stadium, PPL Park, is 3 miles away, near Harrah’s Casino and Racetrack. For our business clientele, we are located close to Boeing, UPS, Sunoco, Philadelphia Navy Yard, and the airlines serving the Philadelphia International Airport. After a long day, enjoy the waterfront scenery, or keep up with your workout routine in our fitness room. Jump start your day with our Express Start breakfast, serving your favorite hot breakfast selections and hot cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport Hotel Essington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.