We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Up to Usual Standards” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Taylor Avenue, Essington, PA 19029 (Formerly The Waterfront Inn Lago)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Essington
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not Up to Usual Standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The Holiday Inn Express was convenient to the airport and my family, that is why we stayed there. It was not a very nice hotel at all. The room was not clean, the bathroom was a mess. The hotel needs a mojor renovation. The hotel was also very noisy late into the night. There is a nightclub next store that was loud. We did not eat the breakfast because it did look good. The best thing I can say is it is a convenient location for the Philadelphia airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
First and foremost please accept our sincerest apology for not meeting your expectations during your recent visit to our hotel. I and my staff would greatly appreciate it if you could email us at gmhiphl@aol.com or call us at 610-521-1200 as we would like to know more detail so we can improve our level of service. Our hotel just opened two years ago this past June and as you can see on other reviews posted both on TripAdvisor and the IHG web site our hotel consistently receives high marks in regard to our cleanliness and for reasons unknown as of now we failed you, which is unacceptable. Within the past 5 weeks we had a surprise inspection from AAA and they gave our hotel the highest score you can achieve for cleanliness. Regarding our IHG Express Start Breakfast Buffet you state “We did not eat the breakfast because it did look good”, I am going to assume that you did not eat breakfast because it didn’t look good. Our Express Start Breakfast Buffet is of the highest IHG standards and includes Assorted Yoplait yogurts, fresh hard boiled eggs, assorted milks, IHG branded hot cinnamon buns, 4 types of cold cereal, Quaker Oats assorted oatmeals, make your own pancake machine. We rotate sausage links, sausage patties, and bacon each day. Fresh scrambled eggs (never powered, always fresh), biscuits baked each morning, sausage & gravy, assorted, bread & mini-muffins. Our juice selection is OJ, Apple, & Cranberry, along with our beverage station which is open 24 hours a day with fresh coffee, de-caf, and assorted teas. Please reach out to us as we would appreciate your detailed input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    44
    34
    15
    12
See reviews for
23
26
8
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, MD
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

What a nice hotel! Tucked back from the road, we found it to be very pleasant. The front desk staff were very kind, the room was clean and we didn't have any issues. The hot breakfast was a real treat and we enjoyed the pancakes!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank your for posting on TripAdvisor. Our staff here prides itself in the hotels cleanliness and was very appreciative in you commenting on the how clean our hotel is. We are also happy that you had a delightful breakfast to start your day off! We hope to be able to be your home away from home if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is out of the way, near airport.

Pros -

Free parking
Free Wifi
Free breakfast (well, the most basic type of course)

Cons -

Just a dry location
Nothing to do near by
20 mins to Downtown Philly

If you need a place to rest your head, and want a cheaper rate than the ridiculous downtown rates, this is a safe choice. There is zero wow factor but it is clean if not a tad stuffy. Worth it if money is an issue and you can snag it for $80 or so.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the lobby and also 2nd floor overlooking marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor. Your review was discussed amoungst the staff and we set in motion some action steps to see if we can create the Wow factor that was missing during your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Just your average Holiday Inn. Beware there is a restaurant adjacent to the hotel by day that turns into a club by night. The hotel is on the water but it is by no means a picturesque scene. Breakfast was your average Holiday Inn continental breakfast. The room and bedding was clean but the bathroom could have used a little more elbow grease. No pool. Near the airport. We took the hotel shuttle to the airport to catch the SEPTA several times with no problems. This hotel is for the budget minded people who don't want to pay the downtown expensive hotel rates.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor. As I do with all postings we have a weekly meeting here and I will be sharing your comments with the staff to see what area's we can approve upon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
249 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

There are times - sadly few and far between - where you stay at a hotel and are impressed in every regard - this was one of those times. The shuttle drivers are amazing - we had one each day and they were friendly, helpful and just awesome. We stayed on the 4th of July, and while some people may have been grumpy about having to work he was far from it. He asked us all about our trip and gave us some dinner suggestions even offering to drive us if we needed since the resturant next door was closed. The next day, we had a different man drive us back to the airport and again he was super friendly and helpful.

Check in was a breeze, and the person on was excellent. He was joking and laughing with us, and also provided some suggestions for dinner along with menus and his thoughts. Again, despite it being a holiday he was in an excellent mood and appeared devoted to making our stay the best possible even though it was just for a night.

The room was great - very large with a really comfortable bed. There was a fridge, microwave and great TV. We ended up ordering in, and the front desk recommendation was spot on. So many times I have ordered in a hotel and got horrible food, but this place was great.

The hotel seems a a bit worn in the hallways and outside, but truly that is such a small thing that doesn't impact your stay at all. The breakfast was great, the room was awesome and the staff were fantastic. This hotel is a gem and I will definitely stay here again when I am in the area. I have stayed at a large number of Holiday Inns and without a doubt this one has the best staff I have encountered.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Chantal...thank you for posting your thoughts on TripAdvisor. On behalf of the entire staff here at the hotel I want to thank you for your thoughtful & kind comments regarding the staff. I have posted your review were everyone can enjoy reading your comments. We hope we can be your home away from home the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My friend and I stayed for one night - we flew in to see the Rolling Stones concert - and everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful. Kudos to Dave, our shuttle driver, who helped us figure out the train and subway connections. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor. On behalf of the entire staff I want to thank you for your kind words. I see where you mentioned Dave, one of our van drivers. Well, just yesterday Dave won our May "Employee of the Month Award"! Hope the Stones concert was a great night for you & your friend. Take care and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
Level Contributor
273 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I strongly recommend you stay here if you have an early morning flight. Free shuttle and free parking (Penns Landing HI Express costs $25 per night to park). The staff is friendly and very helpful. The hotel is located on the water and next to a decent restaurant, the Deck. All the usual HI Express amenities and Philadelphia hospitality to boot! This is my new choice for a hotel when visiting Philadelphia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
On behalf of everyone here at the hotel we want to THANK YOU for posting on TripAdvisor! We were especially happy to here that our hotel is your new choice for a hotel when visiting Philadelphia. That comment says alot and we greatly appreciate it. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Essington
0.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Hotel - Philadelphia Airport
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn  Philadelphia Airport
0.6 mi away
The Clarion Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Philadelphia Airport/Ridley Park
4.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Philadelphia Airport
0.5 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Philadelphia Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport

Address: 101 Taylor Avenue, Essington, PA 19029 (Formerly The Waterfront Inn Lago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Essington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Essington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Brand New Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport in Essington, PA. Our courtesy shuttle will take you to the only hotel on the Delaware River waterfront. Located adjacent to Governor Printz Park, our guests enjoy the scenic views of the river and marina. Explore the attractions, restaurants and entertainment of Downtown Philadelphia. Don’t miss the historic sites, including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House. Also discover the Old City District, where you will experience the best shopping, dining and culture. If you’re a sports fan, the hotel is minutes from the Philadelphia Sports Complex. This site includes Lincoln Financial Field, Wells Fargo Center and Citizens Bank Park. The Philadelphia Union Soccer Stadium, PPL Park, is 3 miles away, near Harrah’s Casino and Racetrack. For our business clientele, we are located close to Boeing, UPS, Sunoco, Philadelphia Navy Yard, and the airlines serving the Philadelphia International Airport. After a long day, enjoy the waterfront scenery, or keep up with your workout routine in our fitness room. Jump start your day with our Express Start breakfast, serving your favorite hot breakfast selections and hot cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport Hotel Essington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.