We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brief, but impressive, stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Taylor Avenue, Essington, PA 19029 (Formerly The Waterfront Inn Lago)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Essington
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A brief, but impressive, stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My friend and I stayed for one night - we flew in to see the Rolling Stones concert - and everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful. Kudos to Dave, our shuttle driver, who helped us figure out the train and subway connections. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thanks for posting your review on TripAdvisor. On behalf of the entire staff I want to thank you for your kind words. I see where you mentioned Dave, one of our van drivers. Well, just yesterday Dave won our May "Employee of the Month Award"! Hope the Stones concert was a great night for you & your friend. Take care and thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    35
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
17
21
8
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hartford
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I strongly recommend you stay here if you have an early morning flight. Free shuttle and free parking (Penns Landing HI Express costs $25 per night to park). The staff is friendly and very helpful. The hotel is located on the water and next to a decent restaurant, the Deck. All the usual HI Express amenities and Philadelphia hospitality to boot! This is my new choice for a hotel when visiting Philadelphia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
On behalf of everyone here at the hotel we want to THANK YOU for posting on TripAdvisor! We were especially happy to here that our hotel is your new choice for a hotel when visiting Philadelphia. That comment says alot and we greatly appreciate it. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The staff of this Holiday Inn Express made what would have been a difficult week for me, a "Wonderful Week"

My first contact started with Ray, one of the shuttle drivers. He was most helpful and very knowledgeable of local history, which was something I enjoy very much.

My second contact was with the one and only, Tarshia. She is a great asset to your team. I ran into a problem with my credit card but with Tarshia help, the problem was SOON taken care of and I was relaxing in my room.

My third contact, which was not made until early the next morning, was Judy, who does a excellent job of feeding the many. Judy was a joy and helped get my day off to a great start each morning. I also learned of her many years with this Inn and some of the famous people she has helped through the years. If you stay here someday, be sure to ask her about the famous.

I must stop but before I do, here are some others who made my week wonderful, Ed, David, and all the team who I didn't meet but I saw the results of their work everyday when I returned to the Inn.

Its not unusual to encounter problems as we go through life BUT with people as these at the Essington HIE, you too can have a WONDERFUL WEEK!!!!

Room Tip: Please ask for rooms with a refigerator and microwave, not a rooms come with these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Wow...what a memory you have regarding names of the employee's you encountered during your stay at our hotel. I posted your review thru out the hotel so the employee's could read all your wonderful comments regarding your stay, it made them feel very proud. I behalf of everyone here we want to say Thank YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poconos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We needed a overnight stay to catch an early morning flight from Philadelphia to LA. and also on the return trip since it was a late flight back. Parking was FREE and they also have a free shuttle back and forth to the airport and the driver was very nice and helpful. The room was very modern and clean, a light grab and go breakfast was also included.

Where I was impressed was how this staff was so helpful. My mother had left her prized possession, her iPad behind in the room and the staff made sure that they obtained it and held it for us at the front desk until our return flight. This is not usually the case with larger hotel chains like the Westin In Virginia Beach. A few years ago I personally left an item behind and after many months of phone calls and letters they never even apologized or even returned my phone calls. So always read your reviews!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for posting your review. On behalf of the entire staff I want to thank you for your kind comments and I was glad to hear we were able to secure your mother's I-Pad. We look forward to being of service to you in the future and the many guests your review will send our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I arrived late due to a delayed flight and bad weather. The staff immediately discounted my room rate and apologized for not having a shuttle available to pick me up from the airport. They were knowledgable about the area and about things to do and see while in Philadelphia.
I commuted daily by taxi to downtown Philadelphia each day. The room rates were reasonable enough that it was cheaper to do this than stay at a hotel in downtown Philly.

The room was clean and quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The elevator in the hotel was a bit sluggish.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for posting on TripAdvisor. I along with my staff take guests comments very seriously as it shows us where we can improve the guest experience. I am delighted to see where you state "Super Staff"! Those two words are greatly appreciated by all who work here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on June 1 and 2 this year with my son. It was agreat experience and I would definitely stay again. The atmosphere was quiet, the hotel was clean and the breakfast was exactly as advertised.

Room Tip: Great spot near the river to be near PHL
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff we want to thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. Hopefully your comments will have a positive impact when guests are seeking accommodations in our area and do to your kind words they will stay with us and experience the positive kind of stay you did. Perhaps we will be able to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Spent a Saturday overnight stay with my son while attending a baseball tournament in Philadelphia. An older facility in which the rooms have been recently upgraded/remodeled when ownership acquired the HIE franchise, the property exterior and general public interior common areas have a well-worn feel . Approximately .5 mile and convenient access from I-95, the room was clean, though a bit small. The drapes & carpet were relatively new and included in the room were a HDTV, a small refrigerator, desk, iron/ironing board and coffee maker. The bathroom & bed linens were fresh & clean. The a/c unit properly worked. Free morning breakfast with standard fare---scrambled eggs, pancakes, sausage & pastries. Directly on the Delaware River & situated next door to a restaurant & nightclub, with at least three other restaurants within a half-mile drive. The surrounding neighborhood and next door marina have seen better days. Approximately 1.5 miles south of Philadelphia International Airport, the facility operates a 24 hour shuttle. A perfect location if flying from PHL. No airport noise; the room was very quiet & the beds were quite comfortable. Very reasonably priced & a good value for the money. In comparison to nicer HIE in which I stayed, the property is serviceable & fits the bill.

Room Tip: Request a room on the 4th floor for a partial view of the Delaware River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
On behalf of the entire staff here at the hotel a BIG THANK YOU goes out to you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor and the insightful comments you made. Hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport

Address: 101 Taylor Avenue, Essington, PA 19029 (Formerly The Waterfront Inn Lago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Essington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Essington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Brand New Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport in Essington, PA. Our courtesy shuttle will take you to the only hotel on the Delaware River waterfront. Located adjacent to Governor Printz Park, our guests enjoy the scenic views of the river and marina. Explore the attractions, restaurants and entertainment of Downtown Philadelphia. Don’t miss the historic sites, including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House. Also discover the Old City District, where you will experience the best shopping, dining and culture. If you’re a sports fan, the hotel is minutes from the Philadelphia Sports Complex. This site includes Lincoln Financial Field, Wells Fargo Center and Citizens Bank Park. The Philadelphia Union Soccer Stadium, PPL Park, is 3 miles away, near Harrah’s Casino and Racetrack. For our business clientele, we are located close to Boeing, UPS, Sunoco, Philadelphia Navy Yard, and the airlines serving the Philadelphia International Airport. After a long day, enjoy the waterfront scenery, or keep up with your workout routine in our fitness room. Jump start your day with our Express Start breakfast, serving your favorite hot breakfast selections and hot cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport Hotel Essington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.