We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   101 Taylor Avenue, Essington, PA 19029 (Formerly The Waterfront Inn Lago)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Essington
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Coming in from the south, this seemed like it would be pretty out-of-the-way, but the shuttle driver(s) made sure it was only a ten-minute trip for my coworker and me. Nice view off the back deck. Guest Laundry smelled a bit musty, but the machines were clean. The breakfast lady is a hoot - even if the breakfast was the HIE standard. Room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your stay at our hotel. Feedback such as what you provided is essential for our team to improve and or to motivate us to excel. I am glad to hear that the van driver took care of you and I’ll be sure to tell Judy, our breakfast room attendant, that she’s a “hoot”. Hope to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    38
    28
    9
    6
See reviews for
17
23
8
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I picked this location due to its location to Philadelphia Airport and the Harrah's Chester Casino. I was a bit concerned it might be too close to the runway but the noise level was very minimal.

Plenty of parking and ease of highway 95 access.

I will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your stay at our hotel. Feedback such as what you provided is essential for our team to improve and or to motivate us to excel. Hope to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed on a weekend trip. Booked with third party and reservation didn't make it, but check in (Anthony) took care of this with no problem. Room was spacious and clean with a view of the river, bed was VERY comfortable, and hot breakfast in the morning. James kept everything full and tables clean at breakfast. This is a great place to stay and will definitely stay again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we greatly appreciate it. Also thank you for mentioning Anthony & James. I gave each of them a copy of your review and placed a copy in their personnel file. I'm sure you didn't know but when any of our employees are mentioned by name in a review that goes towards them being nominated for our Employee of the Month program. January of this year Anthony was our Employee of the Month and he was also nominated for February 2103. With your kind comments James will now be a nomination for March 2013! Again thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed here before and after my wedding, the staff was excellent and they were all incredibly friendly and helpful. Our room was AMAZING and had awesome views of the river. My family flew in from AZ and had never had such an awesome time in a hotel before. The patio that sits right on the river is a great place to enjoy your coffee in the morning, I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who needs to stay in Philadelphia for a few days, it is definitley worth it!! And the breakfast lady is the cutest lady in the world!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice compliments regarding your stay. I have posted your comments so all of the staff can read your comments. They really do work hard and have the best interest of the guest foremost in their actions and it is really nice when we receive the positive feedback from guests such as yourselves. My you have a long, prosperous, and healthy marriage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Clean and updated rooms. Quick and friendly check in and check out. Outstanding value in comparison with other Phila. airport hotels. Book online for best rates. Thumbs up for 24 hour reliable airport shuttle service. The shuttle goes to the airport every half hour.

Room Tip: When this hotel has a low occupancy rate they tend to send everyone to rooms on the first floor. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment in regard to your stay at our hotel. Your comments have been posted on our Employee Bulletin board and I made extra copies copies and gave them to our van drivers who were very appreciative of reading your post. Thanks again & I hope we can be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Comfortable, clean and quite. Everything that you’d expect from the average Holiday Inn Express. Halls are a bit dark and dreary but room was nice. Great place to stay if you’re just looking for rest and relaxation before a flight. Didn’t have a chance to use pool or workout facilities. Airport shuttle runs every ½ hour. Nice restaurant right next door offering reasonably priced dinners.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thanks for taking the time out of your schedule to post your comments on TripAdvisor. Your comments have been posted on our Employee Bulletin board and will be shared in our monthly Owners meeting. Your feedback as well as others is extremely important to us as it shows us what we are doing right and where we can approve. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a few weeks ago for 6 nights and all was well. Stayed again 2 weeks later and the room was great. Had some issues with one staff member who apparently doesn't know how to make a reservation. Fortunately the co-workers were able to handle the situation. My fellow co-workers and I stay at Holiday Inns about 150 nights a year. We have never had an issue like this, as far as screwing up credit cards, priority cards, rates, and names. The young lady handled herself professionally to fix the problems of another gentleman's mistake. she called Priority Club to help us out. I would recommend the management give proper instructions on how to reserve rooms to certain employees.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your valued input and I was happy to see where your situation was handled to your situation. Also, we are constantly training our staff and we will be addressing your suggestion to find tune our reservation training. Thanks again and we hope to be of service to you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport

Address: 101 Taylor Avenue, Essington, PA 19029 (Formerly The Waterfront Inn Lago)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Essington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Essington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Brand New Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport in Essington, PA. Our courtesy shuttle will take you to the only hotel on the Delaware River waterfront. Located adjacent to Governor Printz Park, our guests enjoy the scenic views of the river and marina. Explore the attractions, restaurants and entertainment of Downtown Philadelphia. Don’t miss the historic sites, including the Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and Betsy Ross House. Also discover the Old City District, where you will experience the best shopping, dining and culture. If you’re a sports fan, the hotel is minutes from the Philadelphia Sports Complex. This site includes Lincoln Financial Field, Wells Fargo Center and Citizens Bank Park. The Philadelphia Union Soccer Stadium, PPL Park, is 3 miles away, near Harrah’s Casino and Racetrack. For our business clientele, we are located close to Boeing, UPS, Sunoco, Philadelphia Navy Yard, and the airlines serving the Philadelphia International Airport. After a long day, enjoy the waterfront scenery, or keep up with your workout routine in our fitness room. Jump start your day with our Express Start breakfast, serving your favorite hot breakfast selections and hot cinnamon rolls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport Hotel Essington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.