We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & convenient to the airport” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Waterfront Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Airport Waterfront Inn to your Saves list
Airport Waterfront Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   103 Taylor Avenue, Essington, PA 19029   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Essington
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Clean & convenient to the airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was a decent hotel that served it's purpose; a reasonably priced room near the airport. The room was older and bed was below average, but overall it was comfortable and fine for the night. I'd stay here again if I needed place to spend the night. The staff was incredibly friendly both on the phone and in-person even though we had a late flight and arrived around 1am!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    16
    13
    9
See reviews for
13
8
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Planned a spring anniversary trip to the east coast including a stop in Philly. Wanted something somewhat close to the airport and the Waterfront seemed OK. It is right next to a Holiday Inn Express so do not get confused when checking in as I did. It is set back a bit from the parking lot and the hotel sign is small. The outside leaves much to be desired, needs updating and did I say there are no elevators. We were on the 3rd floor. The room was clean and was kept that way the entire stay. The heater/ac unit in our room needs a new motor but we only had it on while we were awake. The hotel is right on the Delaware river, so there is some scenery and no airport noise at all. Did not partake of the continental breakfast offering (packaged pastries and coffee). There is a Denny's a block away on the old highway. And did I mention there are no elevators.
All in all it was OK. Clean room, close to the airport. That is what counts.

Room Tip: If you stay, get a room on the east side next to the river. Remember NO ELEVATORS!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Since we visit relatives in the area we've stayed at several hotels in the area, Airport Waterfront is definitely one we'll be back to. Location is great right on the river next to a park. We were concerned when we first arrived about airplane noise, but nothing was heard in the room. Rooms were very basic but clean and comfortable. View was great. We were there on a week night and had no noise issues, but there is a large bar next door that according to relatives is popular on weekends. Breakfast was basic, toast, cereal, coffee, bagels, and you had to take it back to your room since no seating was available in office. Overall we liked the place

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

First question: What do people expect for the price? You have to be realistic when writing a review! Considering all factors, this place deserves 5 stars!!! Big surprise for me after reading the reviews here!
Be ready to search for this hotel when you arrive. I could not find it on Google Maps. Nearly missed it when the cabby could not find it! It's right next to the Holiday Inn and you really have to look for the reception. They are well hidden, but I did find it. ;-)
The staff I meet was extremely friendly and helpful. Yes, the rooms are "dated" but they are EXTREMELY clean and everything works. Lights, hot water, TV, all work fine/perfectly. The TV-remote is hard to figure out, but does work (someone wrote it does not work!).
It was extremely quiet, planes do pass close by, but where no problem for me, as I use earplugs in ALL hotels anyway. I had one of my better sleeps away from home! There is a huge outside bar next door, this could be loud/a problem on friday/saturday nights.
Breakfast: Ok, no seating, but otherwise on a paar with Best Western, LaQuinta etc. Even bagels where available, no pancakes. Someone wrote something about "colorful chemicals". How does that apply to Rice Crispies? There is a choice. I asked about the "breakfast bags" mentioned in reviews, they have been discontinued because: There was one "breakfast on the run" bag provided for every guest. A lot of guest took it apon themselves to help themselves to stuff from the bags not ment for them. One customer actually removed all 16 granola bars from the bags provided!!! I always like to form my own opinion, that is why I asked about this.
There isn't much around here, you will need a car. On the other hand, you are right on the waters edge and there is a park next door.
I would definately stay here again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I knew that this hotel would have just the basics. But here are a few of my thoughts. It took 25 minutes to get the shuttle to arrive at the airport pick-up location. Other hotels had repeating pick ups in that time frame. I had difficulty getting the remote control to switch TV stations. The front office tried to assist me, but to no avail. One of the room lights could not be turned on. (The room after dark is a bit low lit anyway.) New alarm clocks need to be purchased as the one in my room did not work and had burnt out LED images. The chair to the desk was made of faux leather, but that material was all rubbed off to expose the cushioning below it. I stood up eating a bagel in the small main office before I walked over to the holiday Inn Express next door to get the shuttle to the airport. I suppose this was O.K. for me, but unless hard-pressed would probably not take a family there. Sounds like the owner is slowly selling off adjoining properties to divest himself of the hospitality industry.

Room Tip: I chose a room on the first floor furthest away from the noise / restaurant/bar on the other side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Headed for Philiadelphia for a convention, and didn't want to spend $250+ per night. This place fit the bill. The rooms were safe, clean & comfortable (Motel 6 +/- ). The staff was nice & friendly. No room issues... Looks like it used to be a Sheraton or a Holliday Inn. Then.. the Hurricane hit. The hotel is right on the Deleware river (nice view outside the room). There were wooden boat docks that were still torn up (closed w/caution signs). Somebody must have walked with the Insurance money.. For a Higher price, there is a Holiday Inn right next door. It's NOT a resort property, just a good place to stay a few nights. The Harrah's Casino is 5 minutes away, with restaurants & good gaming :) Philly is about 20 minutes away if you don't catch "rush-hour"..

Room Tip: We liked our room on the third floor, and asked for a room on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This hotel is conveniently located within 3 miles of the Philadelphia Airport and offers a free shuttle. However, it's a bit seedy and I wouldn't stay again. The rooms were small but clean. Didn't sleep well due to noises outside and the feeling someone was going to break-in.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airport Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Waterfront Inn

Address: 103 Taylor Avenue, Essington, PA 19029
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Essington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Essington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Airport Waterfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
38 room exterior corridor hotel located on the Delaware River, 4 miles south of Philadelphia International Airport. Room amenities include 32" flat screen TV's, iron & ironing board, coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Airport Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Waterfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.