We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Wedding Day...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Pheasant Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Golden Pheasant Inn to your Saves list
Golden Pheasant Inn
River Rd., Erwinna, PA 18920   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Erwinna B&B and Inns
Upper Black Eddy, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Perfect Wedding Day...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We recently (1st week in November) had our wedding at the Golden Pheasant. The food, the service, the rooms and the location were perfect. Every one of our guests commented that it was one of the most elegant and romantic weddings that they had ever been too. The staff at the Golden Pheasant had a great deal to do with that. We could not have been happier with our wedding day and will cherish all of the wonderful memories.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Second time for dinner here, and absolutely top notch both times! Starter of lobster scallop and seafood terrine delicious...followed by halibut with Israeli couscous, cooked to perfection. My fiancé had the lamb with fingerling potatoes, he devoured it. Local sustainable ingredients with an upscale twist. We had a table by the fireplace and the ambiance and service was superb. Please try this gem.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B M, Owner at Golden Pheasant Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for visiting us again. Your feedback is excellent and we appreciate the business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwinna, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Fantastic Sunday brunch, great pub food, elegant suites.

This is not your typical Bucks County Inn... It's better

Better food, ambiance, and location.

We are locals that go here a couple times a week, and are never disapointed.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B M, Owner at Golden Pheasant Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much. We are so glad that you enjoyed the Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We returned to GP Inn after a long stretch of time. The place was recently remodeled and it is lovely. We stayed in a separate little cottage last time in the late 80's, but that is no longer available. The owner was sweet enough to write a little note welcoming us back and wishing me a happy birthday. Nice touch. This time, we stayed in the Delaware Room. Spacious, comfortable and nicely furnished, with a nice gas fireplace. A few things that would have made it 5 stars in our eyes: better shower head, some light snacks besides coffee/tea in the hallway, and the elimination of the small little gnats flying around the room (I think they were from the beautiful roses, but they were annoying). Checking in was a little confusing and awkward, but the service and food were delightful. We enjoyed a cheese platter and drinks on the patio while waiting for our room. Dinner was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. Our duck and scallops were both cooked to perfection. I'd have to agree with others--this place is a restaurant first and an inn second. A few minor adjustments to equalize the experience could make this a super place AND a good value.

Room Tip: Delaware Room faces the room and can be a little noisy during rush hour or weekend traffic. Very li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B M, Owner at Golden Pheasant Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
First, thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your thoughtful feedback and have already started to provide more refreshments at the concierge area and undertaken a few steps to ensure that inn guests feel very special. We truly hope that we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Lovely inn overlooking the Delaware River - only 4 rooms above a great restaurant. We had the lovely Delaware room - which was the largest of the 4 rooms offered...big bathroom wih a nice sized shower (no tub) - the shower needs a better showerhead and more water. Lots of windows and natural light..nice fireplace and sitting area. We felt for the price, that there should have been a turn down service and more available than coffee, tea, water and ice. There should have been a community bowl of fruit and a platter of cookies or brownies everyday...there was a full restaurant and kitchen downstairs. The breakfast was good but nothing special at all - first day we were given scrambled eggs, fruit, sausage and toast - the next 2 days they had a very small buffet with the same things mentioned plus yogert & cereal...nothing gourmet of special. The outstanding people were Lauren and Kevin - they were great throughout our stay...Overall, a lovely place to visit for a few days...hopefully they will add a few embelishments and really make this an outstanding inn...we did have a great time...

Room Tip: make dinner reservations ahead of time at the golden pheasant - they get very busy on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B M, Owner at Golden Pheasant Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for the kind words. We will be adding fruit or some other snacks to the concierge station based on your suggestion. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

A Big-Setting Restaurant with Four Rooms

The Golden Pheasant likely needs to revisit its commitment to its Lodging enterprise, wholly accounted for in the 4-rooms about a single hall directly up the stairs greeting the main entry.

Quaint and cozy is what it could be. Afterthought and disengaged is what we experienced.

The positives. The place is gorgeous. The room was well appointed, well designed, nicely reflecting the money that was put into it. And here in-lies the central theme of the lodging experience: the capital investment is there - this is a five-star setting/design. But it's accompanied by what seemed in our limited 3-day exposure to be an out-matched/disengaged management.

The food was also a positive. Ignoring an overcooked set of mussels that should have never left their kitchen, the food was quite good. My wife suggested that the prepared lobster she enjoyed may have been the best she has come across. My lamb was nice, but felt like the last one they cared to prepare that night. We also enjoyed their tavern menu, their burgers are excellent, their fries are dont-miss good.

The negatives: the service. This is where the Golden Pheasant really dropped the ball with us. From arrival, onward, the service was -but for the competent bartender Kevin - completely below standard.

We arrived 7PM Friday evening. Perhaps this is the worst-possible time to come knocking with bags to a restaurant door, but we can't represent the first time one of their lodging parties sought check-in then. More likely: Friday 5 to 8 is their peak check-in window. So it's disappointing to arrive in the front foyer only to sense that you're disrupting the restaurant vibe, encouraged by the juxtaposition of luggage and busboys dodging it. There was no one there to greet us. The restaurant's hostess stand is cleverly snuck behind the wall to the left upon entering, it was unattended and remained so forcing us to flag down a busy waitress to inquire about checking in to our room. To her credit, she didn't run off, but actually served as our initial interface with the Inn, her clear and understandable preoccupation with primary tasks light years from checking people into a hotel room, notwithstanding. After retrieving 3 sealed envelopes from the hostess stand, she came to us, mustering all the goodwill she could, and presented them to my wife so that she could scan the names and identify ours. You can understand the Golden Pheasant's commitment to lodging right there.

We were brought to our room, with zero introduction to the space, because it was, after all, carried out by the hassled waitress. The initial experience at any lodging engagement is critically important, and here we experienced a categorical punt.

We returned downstairs an hour later to a lively scene in the tavern. It was fun, but forgettable. Kevin, the aforementioned bartender, helped us out. But the service was cold, pragmatic, as his time was primarily spent keeping regulars engaged. No problem, there are taverns like that world wide. We just choose to avoid them.

The next morning we elected to skip out on the provided breakfast, sight unseen. We had still yet to meet anyone associated with the management of this Inn, a curious fact as I looked at the property key provided with the room key. The management of every b-and-b we've stayed in, and certainly every one on the Select Registry, has made it a point to meet their guests, if only to ascertain some measure of understanding with whom they are trusting with keys to the inn. Not here.

We enjoyed an excellent day around Upper Bucks, returning to ready for dinner.

It was at dinner where we finally made contact with a member of the management, but not owing to a greeting or an introduction, but to finally complain about the serial lack of service my wife and I were enduring following an hour of horribly inattentive service from our waitress. To detail our dining service would be to pile on, but in summary: both my wife and I were curious if we were being had given all that had occurred since check-in when we hadn't been so much as grunted at 10 minutes after being seated. No water. No greeting. No word. Nothing. It suffered from there. It resulted in my first-ever 10 percent tip.

On Sunday, we debated but ultimately forwent their brunch and left.

The overall experience at The Golden Pheasant was poor; we will not return, we will not recommend. The setting is dynamite, it's unfortunately married with either an overwhelmed or disengaged management. The lodging experience offered is unfair to maintain absent some serious rethinking of the owners' commitment to it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B M, Owner at Golden Pheasant Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide such constructive feedback. It was great to hear that you enjoyed the excellent food and beautiful setting. While it is never easy to hear criticism - we need to hear it in order to improve. As a result of your comments, we have reviewed our check in procedures with our staff. Normally, I do check-ins on Friday nights, but because I was attending to another guest at the time of your arrival, our waitperson proactively, but incorrectly tried to be helpful and take you to your guest room. It won't happen again. I enjoy interacting with our guests and try to strike a balance between being friendly and non-intrusive. In fact, all our staff tries very hard to ensure that all our guests feel welcome and we do get the feedback that we are warm, friendly and approachable - but also professional. We apologize that your stay was not perfect and hope that we will see you again, even if it's just for those unforgettable fries! All the best - Brittany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

(The only reason I hesitate to give The Golden Pheasant five stars is that it might make it harder for us to get a room reservation next time we want to stay. But it clearly deserves five stars, so we'll just have to plan ahead.)

We stayed two nights last week, and hit some amazing weather -- mid-70s and sunny all the time. We've stayed at a few B&Bs over the years, and have outgrown the forced charm of some of them, filled with doilies and silk flowers. Well, the GP is many strata above that experience, and seems more like what you would expect at a high-end Tuscan villa. The current owners have managed to preserve the building's obvious charm while giving it a massive transfusion of high-quality amenities and understated grace. Our rooms (we failed to reserve in advance, and had to change rooms to stay two nights -- completely our fault) were both clean, bright, elegant, and calm. The bathrooms are a wonder, with mosaic tile in the shower that could have come from the Minoans. (See attached pic.)

We ate dinner at the inn our first night, and it was simply wonderful. Our server, Elizabeth-Anne, was friendly and attentive, and gave us a great tip for another restaurant (Slate Bleu in Boylestown) for our second night. Fresh salads, deceptively simple entrees, a reasonably priced wine, and a berry-and-ice-cream dessert right by the canal made for a memorable evening.

Breakfast both mornings was excellent, though you may want to ask for a "children's portion" if you have a normal appetite, as we got enough for two lumberjacks the first morning. A simple buffet of muffins, bagels, cereal, and yogurt is there for grazing, but the plated breakfast (scrambled eggs one morning, voluptuous French toast the next, both with fresh fruit and sausage) is what you want to start your day.

We borrowed two of the Inn's bikes our first morning and rode for an hour north (to Homestead) and back. Highly recommended -- the land just north of the inn is beautiful and bucolic, and the state keeps the canal path manicured.

We came back from our stay at the Golden Pheasant completely relaxed, which was a blessing. The ladies who run it obviously work hard to present a superior experience, and for us, they succeeded in spades.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Pheasant Inn

Address: River Rd., Erwinna, PA 18920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Bucks County > Erwinna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Erwinna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Golden Pheasant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Pheasant Hotel Erwinna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Pheasant Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.