We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive remodel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Erie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Erie to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Erie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7865 Perry Highway, Erie, PA 16509   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Plattsburgh, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Attractive remodel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

The rooms had recently been remodeled with a beautiful color scheme and attractive flooring. At first we were a little disappointed because there was merely a bag breakfast but it was tasteful and actually saved us quite a bit of travel time. The beds were most comfortable, too, and it was a pleasure to stay here. We would do it again!

Room Tip: Originally we chose this place because it was pet friendly but it was easily accessible, too, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive remarks about our renovation! We are very pleased with all of the new things we are able to offer our guests! We have new mattresses, flat screen televisions, free Wi-Fi and or most recent upgrade of an all HD channel line up. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that the next time your travels bring you this way that you will keep us in mind.
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    186
    76
    22
    8
See reviews for
161
146
43
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh,Pa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Since my last review of this Inn. We have stayed here several times this past winter.
Worth the trip from Pittsburgh just to get away. Staff very friendly and the housekeeper cleaned our room in a timely fashion, since we stayed over 2 nights. Lexi at the front desk is very outgoing and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the opposite side of I-90 are quiet, but we enjoy the I-90 side. It is not all that noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us whenever you need a little time off to relax! I am very glad that we can be part of your stress-free getaway. Thank you as well for commenting on the friendliness of our front desk clerk Lexie! She is a true delight to have work for me, and is a huge asset to our property. I hope we can continue to be a part of your routine for many years to come, and we hope to see you again soon!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haliburton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great value , right off the I 90 . Clean room , allows pets and parking of
house trailers on the back side . Would suggest a room away from the hwy
for noise reasons . Room was spotless . Mc'ds right next door , walking
distance .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you so much for considering us such a value for the money spent! We absolutely love being able to offer guests clean rooms with friendly, dependable service. The next time you are in town we will make certain to book you a rear facing room. If there is anything else we can do to accommodate, please let us know.
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse,NY
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Good value just off the interstate. (Take a hard right into the McDonalds.) Rooms were clean. About a hundred yards to fast food and a bar. Ask for a room NOT facing RT.90. Breakfast in a bag(missing the apple). A safe, inexpensive choice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Red Roof Inn while you were in town. I can tell that you are an experienced traveler and I appreciate your giving us a chance. Besides being right off of the highway, we are also located just a quarter mile from the casino. We are also one exit away from shopping, restaurants and movies. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and we hope that you will visit us again!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Checked some ratings and review before booking a room and like most I found the rooms clean and comfortable. The rooms have been updated and you can see that. At the rate I got it was a good bargain and decent place to stop while traveling. If you're a light sleeper this place is right beside the Interstate and so there's traffic noise maybe try and get a room on the opposite side of the hotel. Breakfast is totally forgettable if that's important to you. I was just looking for a clean bargain hotel for the night while traveling.

Room Tip: I'd ask for a room not facing the interstate if you can. Booked a room online based on ratings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us when you stopped over in Erie. I am glad that we were able to live up to our reputation. We understand how important it is to research a hotel before staying. I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. We hope to see you soon!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We booked online for a standard king. The online photos and info may not accurately represent the room you select. Our room was not in the main building but in a separate adjacent building and had such an odor we asked for a refund and left. The advertised free breakfast is a muffin,an apple and a bottle of water in a bag. You are also advised on the check in invoice that a nickel and dime charge of $1.50 will appear on your bill and may be removed at checkout.
The desk attendent was friendly and obliging. There are better choices and value for your dollar in Erie than the Red Roof

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for taking a chance with us at the Red Roof Inn Erie. I am sorry that we were unable to live up to the standard but I do appreciate you considering us first when visiting the town. I am grateful that my team was at least very accommodating when you decided to cancel your reservation with us. However, know that if you ever decide to stay with us here in Erie again, my team and I will be more than happy for the opportunity.
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

very nice room, clean, neat and fresh, great price and location is just right off the expressway. Excellent and friendly front desk staff and housekeeping personnel, will recommend it to my friends and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for writing such wonderful words about your last stay with us! My staff and I really appreciate that you would recommend us to your friends. We know how important word of mouth can be and we are truly grateful. I am glad that we were able to provide you with a clean room and friendly service. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Erie

Address: 7865 Perry Highway, Erie, PA 16509
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Erie
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Erie
#3 Business Hotel in Erie
#8 Family Hotel in Erie
#10 Romantic Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Erie 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property has motel and hotel style rooms. Our first floor rooms offer drive-up exterior access, while our second floor rooms are interior corridors only. We offer our guests with our RediSetGo breakfast bags available each morning. We are located 12 miles from Waldameer Park and the Presque Isle State Park; 2 miles from the Erie Zoo and less than a mile from the Presque Isle Downs Casino & Racetrack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Erie Hotel Erie
Erie Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Erie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.