We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent clean stay in Erie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Erie

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Erie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Erie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7865 Perry Highway, Erie, PA 16509   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 35 hotels in Erie
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Decent clean stay in Erie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Good decent place. Has the basic necessities. Clean hotel, clean bed. Went with family for trip to visit Waldameer theme park. They have millcreek mall close by. Good for family stay, covers the basic stuff

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. While I wish that we could have provided you with exceptional service I am happy that we could at least provide you with a clean room to sleep in. I am glad that you and your family were comfortable within the rooms and hope that the next time you visit Waldameer you allow us another chance to show you how great of a hotel we can be.
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    196
    164
    69
    20
    7
See reviews for
147
129
41
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wesley Chapel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were somewhat reluctant to stay here at first, as we had a not-so-good experience a few evenings earlier at another lower-cost motel that accepts animals. However, since it advertaised it was "all new rooms", we took a chance. It was exceptionally clean and neat, the staff were very friendly and helpful, our cats enjoyed the room (very important!) and we got a wonderful quiet night's sleep. Thank you, Red Roof Erie!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for reconsidering your decision to stay at the Red Roof Inn Erie! I am sorry that you were at first a bit hesitant to stay with us due to a prior bad experience with another hotel. I am however very appreciative to the fact that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. In being that we are pet friendly hotel we welcome all pets that our guests might bring along with them on the road. I am glad that we were able to provide you and your cats such a quiet night's sleep and we hope to see you again soon!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have stayed at the Red Roof Inn in Erie Pa. before. The rooms are always clean and the service has always been good. We always enjoy our stay. I would recommend this motel. It is close to everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for being such a loyal guest of the Red Roof Inn Erie! We are very happy as well that you always enjoy your stay with us and that we are able to provide such great service to you. We will continue to do our best in keeping up with the cleanliness and providing 100% customer satisfaction. We very much appreciate your recommendation for our hotel and look forward to your next visit into town.
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Since I was traveling with my hyper lab/mix I found there to be a nice grassy area well stocked with "doggie bags" to clean up the mess with. This was my second visit staying at the Red Roof Inn in Erie, Pennsylvania. The area has restaurants that are easily accessed without having to go on any highways. However as with any of the Red Roof Inn's I did find staying connected to the Wi-Fi to be an ongoing issue. The staff is just awesome!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for making us your pet friendly hotel of choice when visiting Erie! We appreciate all guests and try to make sure that everyone feels equally welcome while on our property. I am glad that we were able to provide you with plenty of area to walk your dog and that our doggie stations were a convenience to you. We feel lucky that we are so close to the highway with so many attractions within reach. Thank you for commenting on the friendliness of our staff and we hope to see you again!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at the Red Roof Inn in Erie, PA the first week of May, we stayed again when we returned to Upstate New York this past week! It's the only place around that allows pets at no charge. I'm pretty sure we even had the same room, by chance. This time around, though, we traveled with an extra person so we booked her a room too. She appreciated the very affordable rate, as do we. Everything we appreciated on our last stay was as before-- clean inside and out, friendly, courteous staff, comfortable bed, slept great, laminate wood floors perfect for traveling with a dog, and yummy, fresh breakfast muffin. Our only detraction is we still had spillage from the tub, both when soaking in the tub and showering. The Red Roof Inn we stayed at in Maumee, OH on our return to Chicago had an identical bathroom to Erie's and the floor stayed dry, which means the problem can't be the overall design of the tub; it might be unique to that particular tub (rm. 140, mgmt.). We were prepared this time though and dried off in the tub first, then dropped our towels on the floor to soak up the water before stepping out. We didn't mind it, but only mention it as a courtesy to mgmt.: this is a serious liability hazard. Slipping in the bathroom poses a serious injury risk to a guest. Aside from that, however, everything else was excellent. I have read some comments that the bathrooms are too small. The space is compact, but we much prefer the economy of a compact design for a one-night stay than a more roomy bathroom at a considerably higher rate. We were so pleased, I just had to review again to recommend this Inn to anyone stopping overnight in the Erie, PA region.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and for writing another review of your stay experience! I am so glad that we were able to provide you with a clean, affordable room and that you enjoyed our RediSetGo breakfast! I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with your tub. I do appreciate the tip though and I will make sure to have my maintenance take a look to see if perhaps it is bad caulking or if a pipe needs tightened. I am glad that you would offer up such a gracious recommendation of our hotel and hope that we might be lucky enough to have a third in the future!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Let me start by saying we were four couples arriving early Friday for a weekend of guys golfing and girls shopping. We arrived at the hotel really early and just hoped to leave our bags (to make room for shopping) and the girl at the desk went above and beyond trying to accommodate us. She left the desk for a minute to see if our assigned rooms were vacated and came back to tell us she would let us put our bags and coolers in a room. She apologized it was not cleaned yet from the previous guests but if we did not mind we could store our stuff. What service! I really wish I could remember her name!! We returned to the hotel and we were happily in four rooms all beside and across from each other. The rooms are larger than some of the hotels I have stayed in however as in the previous rating the bathroom is small. The room was clean and the removal of the carpets made for a clean feeling room. Loved the renovations apparently done recently. The maid, the front desk staff were all friendly however I do not want to forget to mention the maintenance man. We had a issue with one of the door locks. The maid called for maintenance and he showed up just a few minutes later. He was hilarious and very much enjoying his job. He fixed the door and all was well. Everyone we came into contact with was friendly. This hotel is close to the shopping areas of Erie (one exit over) The only down side was the noise from the highway was a bit loud to the two couples on that side of the building however our side was quite...........however the view was of the parking lot. All in all would stay there again!

Room Tip: try and ask for the parking lot side and not the highway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Let me start by thanking you for writing such a wonderful review of our hotel! I could not be happier to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much! I believe that the Front Desk GSR that you spoke with was Joyce. And the GSR who fixed your lock was named Dane. We are very lucky to have such great employees here who make this job an easy and fun place. Thank you as well for complimenting the cleanliness of your rooms and the overall friendliness of my staff. We appreciate very much that you would keep us in mind for future travel plans as we hope to see you soon!
Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

A short history first.
We have stated at the Red Roof Inn in Jamestown, NY for the past 15 years with no trouble. Their staff was excellent as was their pricing. This year our club decided to fish Presque Isle in Erie. Our friends in Jamestown set us up with the 'Friends and Family' discount which was processed and confirmed twice, the second time with a printed rate sheet. Upon arrival, we were advised that they could not and would not honor the voucher. Very poor business practice in my opinion. Furthermore, we were awakened know the middle of the night by water pouring from our ceiling onto the bed. We contacted management and even though rooms were vacant next to us, our only option was to relocate to another building. Since we had a boat and several room items, that was very inconvenient. Parking isn't for boats so if you fish, don't stop. If you get a reduction in standard over priced room rate, don't bet on it. Bathrooms are extremely small, a cat would have trouble turning around. Pillows are nice. Highway is noisy. The general manager really needs to take a course on standing behind a printed quote.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jgdanetz, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Erie, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We appreciate all of our guest’s comments regardless if it be of a glowing response or an unpleasant experience. I am sorry that yours has fallen into the latter category and I offer my apologies. There are however a few things I would like to clarify. We do in fact honor all discount certificates, whether they be in the form of a loyalty certificate as a reward via our Redicard program, Employee Travel vouchers or the Friends and Family voucher. I can honestly say that we are one the better hotels that do accept these regardless of the season. However, in order to receive any of these a guest must present to the Front Desk at time of check in the original voucher/certificate and in the case of any voucher be signed by the GM of the issuing hotel. We were unable to honor the rate quoted at the time you made the reservation because you failed to bring in the actual voucher and the issuing Inn could not confirm that a pass had been issued.

Thank You, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Erie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Erie

Address: 7865 Perry Highway, Erie, PA 16509
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Erie
#8 Family Hotel in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Erie 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our property has motel and hotel style rooms. Our first floor rooms offer drive-up exterior access, while our second floor rooms are interior corridors only. We offer our guests with our RediSetGo breakfast bags available each morning. We are located 12 miles from Waldameer Park and the Presque Isle State Park; 2 miles from the Erie Zoo and less than a mile from the Presque Isle Downs Casino & Racetrack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn Erie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Erie Hotel Erie
Erie Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Erie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.