We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Not" America's Best Value Inn but Not Bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6101 Wattsburg Road, Erie, PA 16509 (Formerly Millcreek Town Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Erie
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“"Not" America's Best Value Inn but Not Bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Last night we stayed at the ABVI in Mentor, OH and I swore that I would never stay at another, BUT we found a hotel coupon and it they offered a great deal so we decided to at least look at it. I was surprised that it looked like a nice hotel from the outside and it even had a lobby. (The Mentor hotel looked like a dump but we had pre-paid). We were pleasantly surprised that it was an average hotel for a decent price. With the hotel coupon it was only $52 with either 2 queen or a king size bed AND they have a free breakfast with waffles. The breakfast is all cold nothing except the waffles but it is free. They have an ok fitness room and a large pool.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. I just might try another America's Best Value Inn again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We were glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to be of service again in future. regards, Manny P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    17
    16
    10
    18
See reviews for
19
20
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I found this place after refusing the other places in this town.There is probably 100 miles between exits that have lodging in this part of the world.I was greeted my Maria who found me a room and was exceptionally gracious.I wish the world had more Maria's in it as she had no idea what I had been through that day.Her kindness was followed by a wonderful nights sleep,then a breakfast spread that was well above average.Just what the doctor ordered.Keep up the good work folks and Thank You.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback you provided us with. we were very glad to hear that you were pleased with the service and our hotel facilities during your stay with us. Regards, Manny P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Staff was great and very friendly but hotel overall is in poor shape. Definitely not worth the $140 we paid but had no other choice. Would only stay if we had pets and were desperate again. The only great thing was that the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to be of your service again in future. Regards, many P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coraopolis, PA
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at several of the America's Best Value Inn and this property by far one of the most disappointing. Upon check in, they tried to give us a room with 2 full size beds instead of the king room that we reserved. My husband insisted on the room we booked. We got to the room and they had to bring a refrigerator since we had request one for my medicine. The room was clean but the set up was awkward that it was difficult to use our laptop as the desk was on the wall practically next to the bed. The pool was not fully filled but it was cold on the day we arrived. The best thing I can say was the sleep quality was excellent. The bed was very comfy and I got a good night's sleep. On Wednesday we left the room to enjoy being at the lake and all.. When we returned in the afternoon, we came back to the room to rest before going out to dinner.. Our room was never made up or cleaned. When we came back after dinner we had to stop at the desk to get clean towels and coffee. When we got back to the room.. My God it was like a sauna.. the air conditioner was not working!! We hadn't had to use it prior. We slept with the window open to cool the room down.. To see the beautiful lobby led to an expectation of a room just as nice. This would be a nice place to stay overnight but not much more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for all inconveniences. We will address these issues with our staff. Sincere apologies. Regards, Manny P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cisne, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here after finding no other place to stay. Every other hotel we checked at had no vacancy. It's a really run down property. I can't think of much good to say about it, other than the staff was friendly. The room was not clean, the water was brown (rust, maybe ?), and the breakfast was not very good. I would stay here again, only if desperate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, We welcome both negative and positive feedback in order to improve our facility and to serve our guest with the best level of service possible. Regards, Manny P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband found this hotel in a hotels coupon magazine I didn't expect much for the price but it was very clean with very nice staff! I was pleasantly surprised we ended up staying two nights instead of just one!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Thank You for your feedback, we are glad that your stay was enjoyable and we hope to serve you again in the future. Kind Regards, Manny P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel! Left the casino early and spent a fun night in the Legacy lounge. The food was delicious the service was an absolute pleasure. Our sleeping room was great we had no problems with the water. The hotel is older and has a fun 70s feel, especially the "lounge". We plan on staying here next time we stay in Erie. Excellent Value!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback, We look forward to serve you again in the future. Kind Regards, Manny P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Erie hotels
5.1 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#26 of 36 in Erie
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#25 of 36 in Erie
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Erie
Red Roof Inn Erie
#10 of 36 in Erie
4.0 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Erie
2.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Erie
2.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Erie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 6101 Wattsburg Road, Erie, PA 16509 (Formerly Millcreek Town Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pet friendly hotel (pet fee applies). On site we have Free Wifi, Free Continental Breakfast, Business area for guests, on site self laundry service and a fitness room. We are one exit away from Presque isle downs & casino, two exit down from Peach Stree ( major Shopping area ) and ten min drive from Downtown Erie and Bayfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Erie Hotel Erie
Travel Lodge Erie
Erie Travelodge
Erie Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.