We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Hotel But Nice Enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6101 Wattsburg Road, Erie, PA 16509 (Formerly Millcreek Town Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Uniontown, OH
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Older Hotel But Nice Enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in March 2013. We had a discounted room through, I believe, JB Dollar. The hotel is older but our room was clean and attractive. If you like to take a bath, the water is rusty -- but the water is nice and hot! You wouldn't notice the rusty water if you took a shower.

The hotel personnel were very friendly and helpful. When we told the girl at the front desk that we were going to the Presque Isle Casino, she gave us a coupon for $7 to use on the slot machines. We also asked her where we could find a catholic church, and she knew right away where one was located. When we ask that question at other hotels, normally it is something that is not known by the staff.

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel, and we decided to give it a try. Cindy is not only the waitress but also the cook and bartender. She was very friendly, and the food was excellent. We were the only ones in the restaurant, and it's too bad. The selection and quality of our meals were very good.

The breakfast was nice. There was cereal, the waffle machine to make your own waffles, oatmeal, bagels, fruit, orange juice, coffee and tea.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your positive feedback you provided us with. We were very glad to hear that you were pleased with the service and our hotel facilities during your stay with us. Regards, Manny P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    13
    13
    6
    13
See reviews for
13
14
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Royalton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

It was clean and front desk was very nice. The room was clean, a little worn, but CLEAN! Breakfast left something to be desired since the room it was in was a bar at night... however the overall experience was just fine! Would stay there again. Stayed here because they allow dogs. Noise level was low, even though it was close to the highway.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your stay was enjoyable, we hope to serve you again in future. regards, Manny P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Very dirty hotel, all ceiling tiles are water stained and bulging. Walls are dirty and full of holes, wall paper coming off. Bathroom is disgusting, chose not to shower, the water runs brown although I was reassured the ice and drinking water do not come from the same water source. Tub and grout are moldy. Tv didnt work, phone in room didnt work. Would not walk on the carpet without my shoes. Saw the house keeping staff cleaning rooms, but never did see anyone with a mop.On the upside Restaurant food is very good, as was the staff. Owners of this hotel were present, but were not helpful and unpleasant. Drive 2 more exits to peach st. you will find numerous to choose from.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for all inconveniences. Regards, Manny P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We could not stay here longer than an hour due to the mold; we walked out and went to a different hotel. The outside door in the hallway by the room was unlocked/unsecured. The room was quite beat up, with holes in the walls. Before leaving I spoke with the clerk about why we were leaving. He was courteous and settled the account without fuss. We will never set foot in this hotel again, not unless it is completely demolished and the debris hauled away to a remote location, and a new hotel is built in its place.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, I sincerely apologize for all your inconveniences. Regards, Manny P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

I checked prices around the area and this hotel had the only affordable price. The rooms are fairly clean. They aren't perfect though the ceilings looked like they had water damage, it was cracking and bubbling a bit. The beds looked and smelled clean. There was a workout room here and free breakfast!!! They even have waffle presses to make a fresh waffle. I enjoyed my stay over all.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, We would also thank your for bringing these important issues to our knowledge. Our sincerest apologies, Regards, Manny P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was a flea bag hotel which just got more disgusting by the minute. I am going to contact the health department. There were bodily fluids all over the room - mold and bugs everywhere - there was actually hair and dust in the ice bucket - we slept 1 night (had to -no other rooms in the area) and we kept our shoes on and did not touch anything we didn't have to! This place is beyond your worst nightmare.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manny P, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we apologize for all your inconveniences . This is very disappointing for us and please accept our sincerest apologies, Regards, Manny P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 6101 Wattsburg Road, Erie, PA 16509 (Formerly Millcreek Town Inn)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pet friendly hotel (pet fee applies). On site we have Free Wifi, Free Continental Breakfast, Business area for guests, on site self laundry service and a fitness room. We are one exit away from Presque isle downs & casino, two exit down from Peach Stree ( major Shopping area ) and ten min drive from Downtown Erie and Bayfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Erie Hotel Erie
Travel Lodge Erie
Erie Travelodge
Erie Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.