We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice for an older hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 West 10th Street, Erie, PA 16501 (Formerly Hotel Pure Avalon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 35 hotels in Erie
Kennerdell, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice for an older hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I booked this through priceline, name your own price... After getting the Avalon and reading the reviews, we were afraid of what we got ourselves in to !!! We arrived to find the young man at the front desk very nice, parking was free right across the street. The underground parking garage was full. The room was updated, clean, nice smelling. good view of the city. There was a wedding reception in the one elegant ball room that looked very nice. There is a bar/restaurant on site. We did not go there, but looked busy. The lobby was very nice. There was a continental breakfast in the am including waffles, and fresh fruit, etc... For an older hotel in downtown Erie, it is worth staying at. No problem here!!! Nautilus room nice, no swimming pool.. The Erie Playhouse is directly across the street, The Warner Theater is right around the corner, the ballparks are a couple blocks away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    33
    31
    36
    68
See reviews for
52
39
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uniontown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Im sorry but I would never stay here again. The rooms were dirty and they were dated. The beds were full size and a little to small. The beds were uncomfortable. Read the reviews before you book a hotel. Friends of ours stayed here before and they like this place, so since we were meeting them I told them we would stay there. Big Mistake! I was appalled. I have a 12 year old son and didn't want him to even stand in the bath tub it was dirty. If its not dirt then you really need to update your bathrooms with new tubs. The lobby is pretty and they have a nice ballroom. Another nice thing was underground parking garage. Other them that not much else to brag about.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Unclear, Old hotel, really bad stuff. I'll never come again. Sleeping as a homeless on the street better than here.
Even that the reception impolite. They treats you badly. Should you classified (Workers & Customers)..

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Have been here twice for conferences. The property is a little dog eared but generally clean. There is parking under the hotel but it is limited and if the hotel is busy you might have to park at a nearby ramp. The staff has always been very courteous and helpful. On my most recent trip Norma at the front desk was great - always available to help with the little things that always pop up on trips. So far have always been able to control the heat in the rooms without it becoming a nuisance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I was at this hotel today for a business meeting when I learned that a colleague of mines mother had passed away and was struggling to make arrangements. Neither one of us are tech savy and were having a difficult time. Heather at the front desk became our hero. She went above and beyond to help us. A true asset to you establishment! Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We booked an office holiday party here for the sole reason that it was close to work. Never again. There was trash and food debris on the carpet throughout the room. Upon my request, the vaccumed the worst spots before the event began but there was no time to do the whole room. There was a Christmas tree in the room that looked as if ornaments and robbons had literally been thrown at it--not exactly festive decor. Chairs were randomly strewn about the room. They could not get the holiday music playing on the PA system without a loud buzzing noise that almost completely cancelled out the music. The buffets were missing utensils until I requested them, and many of the serving dishes were visibly dirty. The microphone was not set up (as requested) and was only done so after tracking down staff members. Plates were not cleared from tables until a staff member could be located and asked to do so. Don't waste your time and money having an event here. There are plenty of better options in downtown Erie.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Can I say enough nice things about this Hotel. I stayed at this hotel many times over the years and I'll keep coming back. The staff is very helpful and if you have any need it's only a question away. I attended a conference at the Avalon and stay for two nights . Very comfortable even with the remodeling they have been undergoing for almost a year now . I was in order room but also visited friends in some of the newer remodeled rooms and they're all just gorgeous. I wholeheartedly recommend staying at the Avalon when you need downtown Erie accommodations.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 16 West 10th Street, Erie, PA 16501 (Formerly Hotel Pure Avalon)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 35 hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel is, without exception, a luxurious conference quality hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Erie, our exquisite ballrooms & smaller private rooms will accommodate 20 to 1000 for showers, concerts, receptions, conventions, meetings & much more! Whether you are looking for a modern traditional wedding, daily meetings with custom menus or overnight accommodations the Avalon is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avalon Hotel Erie
Avalon Hotel Erie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.