We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Avalon has made a miraculous comeback!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 West 10th Street, Erie, PA 16501 (Formerly Hotel Pure Avalon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Youngstown-Warren, OH
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“The Avalon has made a miraculous comeback!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

In the past four years, I have probably stayed at the Avalon a dozen times. And after the first stay here, I wrote a review that the Avalon was run-down and junky. Four years later, I can say that this place has made a huge improvement! It definitely looks updated and modern, and the stained, filthy carpets I complained about in my prior review were replaced with new ones. The tobacco smell is no longer there as well. The king suite was absolutely fabulous!! In fact, all the rooms my group ordered were great! In addition, the unhelpful and sometimes snippy staff has been replaced with a very friendly group of people. Overall, this place has made a huge comeback in four years, and while previously not recommending this hotel, I must say that now I do! If you are in Erie, pick the Avalon!

Room Tip: Pick the King Suite!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Guest Relations Manager at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank You so much for the review. Also, We Thank You for noticing how much effort the Owner, Management, and our Staff have put forth to into recreating this historical hotel. And we are not finished yet!
We appreciate that you would recommend our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again so you can see the rest of the improvements that we are making. Currently, we are working on renovating the 3rd floor and making our building smoke-free!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    42
    48
    54
    106
See reviews for
74
56
14
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have stayed at this place few times, it is getting better every time.Location in the middle of business district with free parking is unbeatable. Very courteous staff and clean place with walking distance to offices. Night out within steps. I noticed staff member are happier and enjoying working here. Weekday breakfast is better good. Clean and larger size rooms. I would not stay anywhere else when I am in Erie.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
We appreciate your review! Thank You for noticing that we are working hard to bring our Guests the best experience possible. Through new management we have improved our Team!
Please keep coming back to see us so we can keep showing you the changes we have made!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed in a room there this weekend, we were in a hurry to get to a wedding the first night and really didnt look around much. We came in late went to sleep in the bed by the window and it was sagging, so moved to the other, which was comfortable. We planned a two night stay, I got up early afternoon and started looking around, I had lost somthing and looked under the bed, the one that was by the window the box spring was broken, under the beds hadn't been cleaned in some time, i picked up the Top mattress to take a picture, there was candy and food crumbs covering the box spring. The floors were heavily stained in the room, coffee and other stains on the wall, and the wallpaper was peeling around the tub in the bathroom, i took pics but, i can't post them on here. We went to check out and were told that there was nobody that could issue a refund, they would call us today, never got the call. I'm just glad to get outta there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write this review. We are continuing to improve the condition of all rooms. We do have newly renovated ones in the hotel, and ownership continues working on all the rooms to be updated. Installing new wallpaper, carpet, and furniture. Our Housekeeping team works very hard to provide each Guest with a comfortable and clean room to suit our Guest's standards. Housekeeping was made aware of this.
There is a Manager on duty most of the weekend to handle any of the issues should they arise.
We apologize for any inconvenience and appreciate your feedback to help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york, pa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

i will start by saying we did not reseve one of higher floor updated rooms. we were in a lower floor where the age of this hotel showed itself. first the good news. every hotel employee treated us great service and a smile. the parking is free and the location is nice. resaurant/bars, sporting venues, theatres all in walking distance.

now for the problems. our room was about $150. for this we got dirty, stained carpet, mold in the bathtub tiles, wash rags/towels made of sandpaper(sic) and bedding that needed to go the landfill as it wasn't suitable for the goodwill store. (but no bed bugs!) we also had our night ruined by uncontrolled teenagers running the hallways from midnight til 3 am when my wife stepped into the hallway and told them to find there rooms and stay there. (i slept thru all of this). there is no security at this hotel save for the street entrance.

i don't know how many center city hotels there are in erie but if we were to return there one day i know i would look for a different one and hope things would be better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alliston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Avalon Hotel has such comfortable beds I nearly missed a great breakfast offered in their dining room!
I entered the hotel tired, dishevelled and frustrated that the nearest hotel was full, and had directed me to the Avalon. I quickly found nearest is not necessarily best. Not only did a very courteous clerk check me in without a problem, I was given the keys to an immaculate room.
I would say the only difficulty was the lack of a Styrofoam cup (plastic warms a little too much, guys) and a small refrigerator or ice machine would have improved matters.
The breakfast was economical, $7, rooms more costly than expected. (how about some singles mixed in with the king size version? Not bad, but balanced out by the comfort, coffee, and courtesy.

Room Tip: Book ahead for best size of room required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
The Avalon would like to say Thank You for the review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed here for two nights. I had read the reviews and didn't know what to expect. There were about 30 of us who came for a wedding. I can't speak for anybody else but it was okay. I have stayed in better and much worse. Some people in our party had problems but everything was cleared up. The location is nice - not far from the water. There are plenty of restaurants around. You can tell they have updated some things but it is clear they could do a lot more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank You for your review. The Avalon is working under new management to make your experience with us not just average, but Wonderful! Please come to stay with us again soon so we may show you the experience our staff strives to give to every Guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Room 517 infested with BED BUGS!!!! They could not give us another room because the hotel was sold out!! Very outdated hotel!!! Would not recommend this hotel! I hope they will check every room! Bed sheets had blood stains on the side! The room was like 100 degrees when we check in and put the thermostat at 40 and still was warm the entire night!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank You for the feedback. Your comments are taken very serious by us. I do apologize that we were unable to move you to another room due to maximum occupancy. We wish to respond, however, by acknowledging that we did address your concerns at the time of the complaint and provided compensation. This is not a regular issue at The Avalon. Our Maintenance staff works hard to take preventative measures to avoid this kind of problem.

We have recently renovated many of the rooms in the hotel. We have plans to do so on the ones that have not been updated yet. We are looking forward to doing so in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 16 West 10th Street, Erie, PA 16501 (Formerly Hotel Pure Avalon)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel is, without exception, a luxurious conference quality hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Erie, our exquisite ballrooms & smaller private rooms will accommodate 20 to 1000 for showers, concerts, receptions, conventions, meetings & much more! Whether you are looking for a modern traditional wedding, daily meetings with custom menus or overnight accommodations the Avalon is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avalon Hotel Erie
Avalon Hotel Erie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.