We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   16 West 10th Street, Erie, PA 16501 (Formerly Hotel Pure Avalon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 35 hotels in Erie
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Wanted to take the time to say we had another nice stay at the Avalon. Friendly staff (Norma, Erica, AJ) Hotel has newely remodeled rooms. Could re-install the cloths rods that were removed during remodeling. Excellent banquet facilities, food was well prepared, hotel bar/lounge was comfortable. We stayed for 5 days....again another nice time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    32
    31
    35
    67
See reviews for
52
39
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are clean, bed was very comfortable. Also get free parking! (Try to find that in most cities and you will have a hard time). Also paid half the price the chain hotels on upper Peach charged. All in all a great value, I would definitely stay here again

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erie
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

rooms are way to hot the only person that I liked that worked 3rd shift is now gone. the general manager is completely rude. windows are bolted shut, just to make sure you cant breath. My room smelled musty, even after someone told me it was a newly renovated room. The only plus side to this hotel is the location, you get there see how bad the hotel is then you can go out and get drunk right on state, which is probably why they dont care how their guests feel, been here a couple times and its the same thing every time. Ill be sure to not come here anymore. General Manager put me over the edge last time. way over priced for the quality of room to. would rather stay at the Knights Inn down the road.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach H, Zach Herrick, Drector of Operations at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Hi Mike,

I apologize if the room didn't live up to your expectations. We do care a lot about our guests and want to ensure that everyone has a terrific stay.

For clarification, our rooms have been recently renovated and it disappointed me to hear that you thought it was musty. Were you mostly let down with the smell, or was it also the decor? Also, we keep the windows closed for safety reasons. Regardless, we value your feedback, and if you have any specific advice about how the rooms could be better, please let me know.

I was surprised to hear that you thought our team was less than welcoming too. This doesn't sound in line with our goals and values, and I promise to share your feedback with them.

Do you have a phone number or e-mail address where I can contact you? I'd like the chance to clear the air, and hopefully start fresh. Thanks so much for sharing last fall, and take care!

Best regards,

Zach Herrick, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Too many issues to recount them all, but i will try. This place is way overpriced and is more like a motel. The beds are a disgrace. I've slept better in a tent and sleeping bag. The bar scene was so loud that from our sixth floor room it sounded like they were coming in! A mysterious loud beep (smoke detector?) went off every five minutes all night long. The tv belongs in a museum. The toilet refilled loudly every fifteen minutes. The shower leaked and sprayed everywhere and was so slow. The tub didn't drain properly. Eww. No breakfast included (really? At that price?) the windows were disgustingly dirty with who knows what. Wifi? more like lie-fi. Didnt exist. The only nice thing there was the two caged birds in the lobby. Their beds looked better than ours. We won't be back. Ever.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach H, Zach Herrick, Director of Operations at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi David,

I am sorry if you didn't enjoy your stay with us last year, and want you to know how disappointing it was to read your comments. We care a lot about our guests as well as the hotel, and want everyone to have the best stay possible.

Recently, we invested millions into renovating the hotel. We took into account feedback like yours as we sought to give the space a whole new look. I can assure you that if you came back, you wouldn't be disappointed.

If you have any further comments or concerns, don't hesitate to share them with us. We're constantly looking to improve, and take what you have to say seriously.

Eventually, I hope you'll give us a second chance to put our best foot forward! Thanks for sharing, and take care.

Best regards,

Zach Herrick, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, ON
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Having been to Erie several times now, we've always stayed here. It's not the most modern looking place, probably stuck in the 80s, but the issues have been few and far between.

Pros - great location, very appropriate prices, and the staff has been excellent.

Cons - doesn't matter what temp it is outside, they turn the heat on in the fall. If it's 75F in the room, open a window because you won't get any cool air into the room otherwise.

We had an issue with the room when we went this weekend - bad smell + no cold air (room was very warm). Management originally told us they had no rooms left, then found us a room which fit perfectly. Credit to them and the staff for helping us out.

I'm sure there are better places to stay in town, but there's little wrong with this hotel and it's downtown, so it's very convenient. We'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the Avalon for a wedding. The room was like a sauna. The air was shut off. When we complained at the front desk, they gave us a 6-in. fan to use. They told us to open the windows - which had NO SCREENS. After the wedding, my wife and I were asleep in our beds when a drunken man came into our room (we had forgotten to put the security chain on the door that night) and started arguing with us that we were in his room. He came back two more times and tried to break throuigh the chain. It turned out he was also a guest at the hotel who had lost his room key. He went to the desk and asked for a key to our room (he forgot his room #). Without asking for ID or checking, the clerk at the desk MADE HIM A KEY TO OUR ROOM! The next morning, I told the desk clerk I wanted a refund for the last night (our third night in the room). She said that since we had paid in advance as part of the wedding rate, the GM would have to arrange the refund. The GM called me later and said he would check the records and call me. Five days and numerous calls (by me) and he still hasn't called me. I've called the credit card company, and will file complaints with the Better Business Bureau and the Bureau for Consumer Protection. My advice - STAY AWAY!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach H, Zach Herrick, Director of Operations at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
I want to apologize if this was your experience staying with us last year, David. We care a lot about the hotel, but most importantly our guests, and want everyone to leave having had a relaxing and safe stay.

Your comments, as well as others, prompted us to invest a lot of time and energy into renovating the hotel. I can assure you that the issues you formerly experienced have been taken care of, or are in the process of being addressed.

I would like the chance to speak with you further, so please feel free to contact me at (814) 459-2220. I'd like to clear the air, as I hope you'll give us a second chance the next time your travels bring you to Erie. Thank you for sharing, and take care!

Best wishes,

Zach Herrick, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Sept.30th warm outside for this time of year.My wife and I are checking in.Front desk person is very nice and signs us in.We go to the room and upon entering it is very hot and dingy.Iproceed to turn on the air to cool off guess what no air they shut it off for the winter.Was not told a thing upon making reservation or checking in.got refund and went to Comfort Inn.BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid this Hotel.Cannot blame the workers there I have to blame the owners.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zach H, Zach Herrick, Director of Operations at The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
It disappointed me to read your review from last fall, and I apologize if you and your wife didn't have a more enjoyable stay. We take your comments seriously, and want you to know that we've taken steps in the past few months to renovate the hotel. I'm really proud with how far the hotel has come, and would encourage you to stop by the next time you're visiting.

If you have any comments or concerns, please don't hesitate to contact me at (814) 459-2220. I'd love to clear the air! Thanks for sharing, and take care.

Best wishes,

Zach Herrick, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 16 West 10th Street, Erie, PA 16501 (Formerly Hotel Pure Avalon)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 hotels in Erie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Avalon Hotel is, without exception, a luxurious conference quality hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Erie, our exquisite ballrooms & smaller private rooms will accommodate 20 to 1000 for showers, concerts, receptions, conventions, meetings & much more! Whether you are looking for a modern traditional wedding, daily meetings with custom menus or overnight accommodations the Avalon is the place to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Avalon Hotel Erie
Avalon Hotel Erie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Avalon Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.